Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2014
I live in a relatively quiet community, but that doesn't mean I am immune to crime because of it. After being here for a little over a year (purchased a home) and having a few odd things happen around the house, I think it's time to setup the surveillance system I have always wanted. As an IT engineer, I already had an idea of what I wanted. The plan is to have 2 indoor cameras, one on each floor, and 5 outside cameras that cover the front entrance, the garage and yard, the sides of the house, and the backyard/pool area. With all these cameras in-place, everything will be covered. It's especially important that I do this because I am about to start a business out of my home and if something happens, I have the most honest and accurate witness around. The setup will consist of a switch, PoE injectors, an 8 CH NVR, 7 cameras, and everything on fail-over power. This camera will be an indoor camera and will run off of the power supply included in the box. The camera has been running for over 48 hours now and works consistently. No jumps, bumps, jitters, or other issues in the transmission back to my laptop. The motion recorded is not skipping or jumping, and the software is just fantastic. You can adjust many settings on the fly including the image quality, frame rate, time stamp format, and even the motion detection sensitivity. I have it setup over wireless and it's just as impressive as it is over Ethernet. I am using it with a high performance wireless N router. Anyone who purchases this camera will find it very easy to setup and will enjoy the logical layout of the software and the many features including the app so you can remotely view your cameras away from home. I plan to buy another one from this seller.

NOTE: There seems to be conflicting information about the IR range of the camera. The box that it came in says (in 2 different places) that it has 24 LEDs and offering a range up to 65' in total darkness. This ad and ZMODOs web site lists this model (ZP-IBH13-W) as 80' as well. The web site says up to 25 meters (82 feet and 1/4 inches). So by all accounts, it appears I received the right model number of the product, but the box and the manufacturers web site has different information about the IR distance. So please note that this is not the sellers fault. The manufacturer has it listed as both 80' and 25M (82' 1/4") on their site and 65' in 2 places on the box. It could be a printing mistake on the material. I did not call their customer service to question it. From all my testing, the range is definitely more than 70' in near total darkness. I hope that info at least helps with your buying decision.

NOTE 2: The paperwork does show that the web interface should only work in IE 7 or higher, and with testing in both the browsers I use, it is definitely not working in Google Chrome. No big deal . . . just use IE.

Thanks!
55 comments29 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
This is another one of those things that mystifies me - all the negative reviews of software/firmware/setup problems. Literally 3 minutes out of the box and reading the quick start chart I was getting an image on my smartphone. Played with it for 10 minutes to figure out the wifi range (plenty even in a concrete block home) and where to place it for best view of the area I wanted monitored.

Installed it on the side of the house up about 12 feet - it illuminates over the fence to the sidewalk beyond so I can tell if anyone walks. No I can't recognize them but I can know they are there, how many, etc.

Another hour or two playing with the PC viewer software, setting up email alerts, setting the motion detection zones, and the sensitivity. The ONLY hiccup I had was when I was walking around at first, plugging and unplugging the camera from power outlet to power outlet. It took me a minute or two to realize the smartphone app just needed to be closed and reopened to re-establish the feed.

I bought this to try before committing to a full 5 camera system and have ordered the other 4 just like this one because it is working as great as I had hoped. Also picked up some 60' power cord extenders and power cord splitters to make wiring a little easier and vandal-proof. The PC software works great as well - you can choose different layouts for all the cameras to fit on your screen best, the motion detection setup is a breeze - just very, very satisfied with this unit.
review image review image
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
If you are in the market for a WIFI security camera, this is the one. I have been working with security systems for over 5 years and for the price this is a very reliable camera. Picture quality is very good. If you are wanting to run very high frame rate video make sure you have good signal strength for the camera. I am running 8 of these with 2 WiFI extenders to make sure I have the maximum coverage area.
11 comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
The Zmodo company that makes the camera SUCKS. Their customer service is horrible. I asked a simple question and needed help setting up the software. I got an off the wall answer that was as if they didn't even read my question. You cannot chat online as it just logs you out and says unavailable when they were available. The software does not work properly as described by this seller or the Zmodo web site. If a reviewer could help me that would work with me. I cannot capture motion recording under alarm settings. It does not work and like I said, Zmodo support sucks as well. I will most likely take this back within the next week for another camera.

Update: after three attemps with chat and my second tech support person emailing me, zmodo stated to me their own software will not motion capture as described. Buyers will have to have a third party software to fully perform the functions that are in the description.
44 comments26 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an amazing wireless video camera. It is WIFI based in technology and you can use an Apple IOS app or an Android App to connect to the camera with your smart phone or a smart tablet.

I quickly wired up the camera using the quick start guide and I installed the Apple app (Zsight) onto my phones and tablets. I then scanned the QR code on the bottom of the camera using the app Zsight and the app recognized my camera. I went to the WIFI set up in the app and set the camera to my SSID that I wanted to use and entered in the password. Please note that the camera and your smart devices must be on the same WIFI network in order to communicate during this first process step.

After you are connected you can then unplug the Ethernet cable and the camera works wirelessly. In my case I struggled and I discovered that when I pressed the reset button on the back of the camera the wireless connection worked. After this point you can connect to the camera from any WIFI or even using your smart phone's wireless data plan to monitor your camera in your home. I show this in the video.

The camera has a beautiful color picture in the light and it can even see in black and white video 65 feet in the dark or at night! It has 24 infrared LEDs to see in the dark. It can be set up to push alerts to your smart device when the camera detects motion and you can record video or photos on your smart device from live video. You can even select low definition, medium definition or high definition video with the camera. HD is very good picture quality!

There is even a way to install Zviewer on your computer to record video. I have not reached that step yet but I will test that possibility out.

I love this product. Now anyplace in your home, office or garage where you have an AC wall plug you can set up a wireless security camera. You can monitor it from your smart devices from anywhere you have a wireless telephone signal or you are in a WIFI area anywhere in the world. This is powerful stuff and the video quality is great. I rated this product at five stars and I will be looking into getting more of these cameras and setting up a security camera system in my home.

What's in the box?

* The camera itself
* The AC power supply that operates on 100 to 240 VAC at 50/60 Hz. It outputs 12 VDC at 1 Amp and it is UL approved. The cable is 64 inches long.
* An Ethernet cable that is 39 inches long.
* A brief quick starter guide
* A metal camera base stand
* I do suggest that you go to the ZMODO website and download the complete user's manual and software.

I was supplied a sample for test and evaluation. A review was not promised to the supplier in exchange for the sample but I stated that if I provided a review that it would be fair and honest.
11 comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
Great camera! The 720P resolution is very clear and this camera also has good night vision (about 50 feet). The setup process was easy using the Zmodo app and the QR code scan it made connecting the device very simple. After getting the camera connected to my phone and router, I took the camera outside (still in Wi-Fi range of my router) where I mounted the camera. The camera so far has proven to be weather proof as advertised. I would highly recommend for someone looking for a simple wireless camera.
44 comments6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
Received today, time will tell how reliable it is.

Pros:
1. 720p Good Day/Night picture - much better than the foscams,+ 300k cameras for around the same price.
2. Small only 1/3 size to most similar outdoor cameras.
3. wi-fi seems to work at good range.
4. includes multiple camera software, (need to download from website)
5. Easy setup for smart phones with apps. ( I have only tried Android)
6. Works with Blue Iris, software.

Cons:
1. No software disc included in packaging. Need to go to website to download.
2. No sound.
3. Does not work well with Internet explorer, chrome, fox, web browsers. (need to use their software to setup)

I would recommend to a friend.
33 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
The picture is great and I wish I could keep this camera but the software is bad.

I set up wireless, gave it a static IP address and the same to the ethernet port. When I plug in the ethernet, I can get a feed on both the wireless and ethernet but as soon as I remove the ethernet cable, the wireless stop working.

I searched for hours online for a fix and I found, in the company's support forum, similar issues but no fix.

Don't waste your time if you need the wireless function.
33 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
Pretty decent camera but whoever authorized the release of the software that comes with it should be taken out back and shot. Then they should be dragged back in, berated, admonished, thoroughly scolded, slapped twice, given an atomic wedgie, and then finally taken out back and shot again, several times over the course of a day, until dead. That's how bad the software is and I'm not even kidding in the slightest bit.

If you have a DVR this camera has an excellent picture both in daylight and in complete darkness. Buy it. If on the other hand you're planning on recording to a PC OR a Mac and I *thoroughly* explored both options then take my advice and just run like hell ...and don't look back

...or whatever...look back. It's not like the damn thing is recording anyway. Or if it's recording the motion detection isn't working, or if the MD is working, no one is getting an email alert. So don't wear yourself out. I mean you could jog. You'll be long gone before security notices anyway. Just keep going.
33 comments9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
Have three of these set up outside. Pictured is clear and night vision is good at close range. Wireless is a huge help as these are mounted in isolated spots. Rated a 4 as the setup process is a bit tricky but followed the instructions and all are working well. Use the iPhone app to view cameras from work or where ever. An old PC runs the software and acts as a dvr. Would recommend and will buy more.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.