Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now Tikes

Price:$48.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

237 of 255 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2012
I bought them (not from amazon, but they're the same product, and yes I'm certain they aren't counterfeit), and they arrived fine, and were a lot of fun. Sadly, the very same day one of the ear motors broke - the left ear started making horrible clacking noises and refused to work properly. Shame.
I'm not saying that you WILL have the same experience, but do know that there is a chance. After some googling, I discovered that I'm not the only one with this problem.

So if you're not well-off and plan to save up money especially for this, do know that the possibility of them breaking without you doing much exists and maybe reconsider your purchase and wait a couple of years for neurowear to release an updated version to spare yourself sour feelings. And if you do buy them, be VERY careful with them and make sure to read the little leaflet with warnings BEFORE turning them on.

Besides fragility there are a couple of other things that may possibly bug you:
- The battery box doesn't have a counterweight, so they tend to shift to the left side of your head a little. Not a lot, just a little.
- It's made for small heads, so it may not fit you well if you are a tall person or just have a large head.
- If you don't want the headset to be very noticable, you'll need to have thick, voluminous hair and bangs, though even if you have all that, there's not much that can be done to conceal the battery box.
- Taking them outdoors is okay only if you live in a room-temperature area without excessive humidity.

Lastly, know that it isn't some kind of a miraculous future device and it won't read your emotions with bulletproof accuracy. It's a fun toy and you should treat it as such, else you will be disappointed.

If your necomimi do break, though, don't be shy and make sure to contact neurowear about it. Their customer service is very supportive and if possible they will send you a replacement in a timely fashion.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
158 of 171 people found the following review helpful
on November 26, 2012
I've done extensive testing (if you can call it that) of these ears. I've had them for a few months and I've worn them to: work, parties, conventions, nightclubs, and amusement parks, plus allowed curious friends to try them on. I love my $100 kitty ears, but they are not without their flaws.

They are adorable, and they work as advertised. The ears are interchangeable and customizable, and you can buy additional ear sets from various sellers off the internet if you don't want to make your own. (I have white cat, black cat, and fox ears. Expect to spend on average about $20 per new ear set if you don't make your own).

The headband part of the Necomimi unit is really small. I am a smaller adult who wears child sized hats and I can barely fit these on my head, so people with larger heads won't be able to wear these without discomfort. Also, the black headband will clearly show up on anyone who doesn't have black or dark brown hair. Bald men, short haired people, people with light hair color, the headband and battery pack will stick out like a sore thumb. (A big improvement would be for the headband parts to come in different, lighter colors so they would blend more easily into the user's hair.). You can't wear earrings while using this either, because the ear clip sensor will not be able to fit over them. The forehead sensor is attached to a bendable bar that takes a bit of adjusting to get it comfortably touch your forehead. The unit is also a bit heavy, so the weight gives some people headaches. When the ears move you will hear a little bit of noise from the motors in the unit.

They are extremely delicate. You can't take them outside and expose them to excessive heat (like the hot summer sun) or get them wet. If you wear thick rimmed eyeglasses you will not be able to wear the headband comfortably (if you can even get both on at the same time). Even though the unit has an additional strap to secure it to the back of the head, you still have to worry about them falling off during excessive movement--so no, you can't do martial arts, wear these on a roller coaster, etc. without them falling off. Also, you have to be careful not to clip the ears (like when going through a doorway, sitting down in a car) or they might get knocked off your head. For these reasons, I WOULD NOT recommend Necomimi units for children--they are just way too easy to damaged and are expensive to replace.

Necomimi units EAT BATTERIES. You will need to have a battery recharger around with a couple sets of batteries. The battery life on these varies (due to each individual user--people with high brain activity will have these things moving constantly, other people...err...not so much) but a good estimate is expect about 4 to 5 hours of use out of a set of batteries. So great for a party, but if you plan on wearing these all day (like at a con, work, etc) bring extra sets of batteries because you WILL need them. Also, bring an extra coin, because you will need to use it to unscrew the battery compartment to change the batteries. And REMOVE THE BATTERIES when you store the unit away...the power button is on the outside of the battery pack and is easy to bump while storing it, which means your ears will twitch and wiggle all by themselves in a box, draining the the batteries away.

These things are a huge attention getter. Be ready to answer alot of questions about them, and be prepared to deal with stupid people who have no sense of personal boundaries or space, and think that it is okay to grab, pet, and manhandle your twitching kitty ears. And they are way more fun if you go out with a group of people wearing them, because you can't watch your own ears twitch when you are wearing them, but you can see your friends' ears wiggling.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on November 6, 2014
So, to start off I had my eye on Necomimi's for a good two years or so debating whether I wanted to buy them or not due to alot of the reviews that I have read, until I saw them in person..

I finally made the decision to buy these babies and ever since I do not regret it. Although they do come with their flaws. It's a toy after all. I'll start off saying that the packaging came from the actual company, scared that it would be a counterfeit product.

They are extremely delicate and require extra care, if you want them to last you awhile. Meaning, DONT leave the motors running for four hours a day for a week straight. The motors will kick out on you. As cute as they are and fun to wear you shouldnt over use them. Always remove the batteries when storing them back in the back in the box, keep in room like temps.
These ears should run for atleast an hour or so then shut off to conserve motors. NEVER MAN HANDLE THE MOTORS. Manhandling them will cause them to break too. And if you're going to wear them into the car make sure the ears are off, so bumping and such wont damage the actual motors.
I've read that people had theirs for less than a week and their one ear is burned out. I've took this into constant consideration by taking much care of them and they still work perfectly.

The headband does run small, causing some pain after awhile. I had mine on(with batteries off) for six hours on Halloween and the top headband does push down causing some headaches, including the sides with the battery pack push into your temples causing some more pain. The best you could do is take them off for about a half hour or so then re-apply.

I'm not saying you should follow what I said, but take it into consideration if you want them to last awhile. Longer than most.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
on April 19, 2013
I have purchased these ears for my wife to wear at work (we own a game store). At first, they worked well (went through batteries fast, but that was ok) and our customers loved them. We then contacted Nicomimi to stock them and began working that process.

Shortly after that, one ear failed (about 4 days of use, motor stopped working). I figured this was the perfect opportunity to see how well their RMA process worked. The customer service was quick, personable, and effective. I had to pay shipping, which seemed fair for an uncommon issue... but this seems to be a frequent problem. I shipped out the ears, and shortly after I received a replacement; all things were in good order.

5 Days after receiving the second pair the same ear failed. This time the motor failed slowly, but the end result was the same. Because of this we will not be stocking the ears nor will we promote the product as we do not was association with a defective product line. I am currently attempting to receive a refund, and I will report on Amazon how that process goes. We were both very upset at this situation because the ears are a lot of fun, and I think the idea behind them is amazing/brilliant. It just seems that Nicomimi went with an inferior manufacturer and their product is suffering for it.

Sounds like some people are having good experiences with the ears; so I may have just been unlucky, but there have been other reviews with the same problem. We were careful (especially with the second set) not to manually move the ears or abuse them in any way.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2015
I really love these ears even though the box was already opened and batteries dead inside but they still work wish they where new and not used but I'm still happy with them
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2015
So, the ears look great, and they move. That's it. I got them on a really good sale, or I would be very unhappy. As it is, I'm still pretty disappointed. My ears are always "in the zone." They don't show any other emotion. I tried them on my kids and a friend, and they continued behaving the same way. I feel ripped off. I read many, many reviews from skeptics to enthusiasts saying that these definitely changed with their thoughts. My pair appears to be defective. They're too expensive for me to be able to afford to return, and I don't know how to contact the seller outside of this.

For the design: The ear clamp becomes painful after about 20 minutes of wear. The headset fits me fine. It can be hard to get it to sit the way the instructions describe. They are adorable and eye catching. I would love them if they just worked correctly.
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on June 11, 2012
I can't tell you enough about how much I love Necomimi! I bought a pair at Anime Next this year and I wore them for every Panel I worked. I recommend them to anyone whom enjoys Anime Conventions! They are a great conversation starter!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on December 13, 2012
This is a great gift option for girls who love cute things. It's really interesting but you need to buy AAA batteries because you don't get any when you order.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2012
I bought these things on impulse and wore them to work around Halloween as an experiment. First, to see what kind of reaction I would get from my colleagues, and second to see how the ears respond while I go about my business during a standard work day. I do have to say, I had a lot of fun wearing them.

First, reactions. There were so many, and they were each positive in some way, shape, or form; from "what are you wearing" with a chuckle to "oh my God, are they moving? That's so cool!".

And second, naturally, the ears remained down for the majority of the day, though they wiggled up and down periodically suggesting some focus. I'm not sure if this had anything to do with preserving battery life or not, but I was able to get 6+ hours on 4 rechargeable AAA batteries.

The left hand side of the headband is a bit heavy because the battery box is there, so you might find the box resting on your ear every few minutes. This tends to put a lot of stress on your left ear and causes it to hurt after two hours of wearing it. I've found that the headband stays center if you properly tighten the strap that encircles the back of your head. It does takes a few minutes to get the headband straightened and the strap tightened, but it'll be a lot more comfortable if you plan to wear it for lengthy periods of time. The ear lobe clip still stings after a few hours, though.

Also, be constantly careful of the ear cups. The ears are huge, and while doing something simple like getting in your car might not seem like a chore, the ears add an extra couple inches to your head that may clip the top of your vehicle. The ear cups are really only held on by friction, and can fall off rather easily if accidentally hit. A replacement set currently costs $20, but you can also make your own if you feel so inclined to do so.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on October 25, 2012
These ears are awesome! And they are not a toy, I would not recommend buying these for kids unless you want to be out a hundred bucks real fast.
I bought a pair at NYCC. A friend of mine had gone the day before and let me know that there were dealers selling the ears, so the next day I was on a mission. I was lucky, Neurowear had a bunch of sexy booth babes walking around the convention floor in skintight dresses and the ears themselves. They stuck out like a sore thumb and directed me to Neurowear's booth. I went to their booth and tried on a pair. After about 20 minutes, I was completely satisfied and decided I wanted my own pair, but the official booth didn't sell the ears or anything else. The official booth was not particularly helpful and just sort of pointed me in the direction of random booths. I bought them for MSRP, and put them on at around lunchtime. I never wore the white ears that come standard, I immediately purchased a pair of black replacement ears from someone in the dealer room at the con (they turned out to be cheap knock-offs, more on that later.) The batteries lasted from noon until 9PM at least, including a very emotional Walking Dead panel (about 40 minutes of non-stop movement and twitching). I've had them for two weeks and they function as advertised, they wiggle when I'm excited and stand up when I'm focused, etc. The EEG sensors function properly. I've had no issues with overheating. They are noisy, particularly if you are nervous or excited (they can't tell the difference). The sound isn't overbearing. They are battery hogs, but not nearly as bad as some reviews lead me to think. In terms of durability I wouldn't exactly toss these things on the ground. They come with pretty general instructions for care, they don't have any severe limitations although I would not recommend them for hot or humid climates.
You can easily hide the forehead sensor with bangs, the ear sensor is much more difficult to conceal, and the battery back is impossible (at least for me, I have very short hair though). If you are wearing this with a wig or something, you should be able to conceal everything but the battery pack with ease. I guess cosplay as a cat that needs a Bluetooth headset or something.
And now to the replacement ears:
The white ear covers that come standard are adorable, but boring. Currently, there are only a few "official" Necomimi replacement styles, and a bunch commissioned by 3rd party developers. I made the mistake of buying a pair of those ears. They didn't come with the foam lining that was included with the standard ear coverings, requiring me to take the white ones apart just so I could have ears that matched my hair. The fakes were about ten bucks cheaper than the official replacement ears but the extra money is worth it. I ordered the black pair of the official ears and they were perfect, just as nice as the default white ones (although a bit plain).Necomimi Black Ears
If you want bells and whistles you'll have to go for the 3rd party ears, which can be hit or miss.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
Necomimi by NeuroSky


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.