Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Feline Urinary SO Canned Cat Food 5.8 oz Cans (Pack of 24) by Royal Canin USA, Inc. [Pet Supplies]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2010
Two of my cats developed urinary crystals and/or blockages at different times, and had repeat episodes, until one of my vets recommended this food. Since I started feeding it there have been ZERO relapses. I use both canned and dry; the company's research shows the canned to be more effective, but the dry is very palatable and all my cats really like it. My understanding is that it works by prompting the cat to drink more water. One side effect you will notice is that the cats will have a significantly larger output of urine, but this is a small downside compared to the cat suffering chronic urinary troubles, not to mention the vet bills. Now that my cats have been symptom-free for several years, I alternate this food with over-the-counter varieties, but I always keep it on hand and feed at least one meal per day. Royal Canin seems to be an excellent company; their website supplies copious information about the products.
1717 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2010
I have been advised to feed this to my younger cat. He ended up needing PU surgery because he could not empty his bladder. Even though my vet charges a lot (so it seemed) for this food, it costs MORE on Amazon! Too bad...I was looking for a cheaper source.
44 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2011
One of my two cats, a male American Shorthair orange tabby began going in and out of his litter box frequently(blood stained urine) on one Saturday early morning and I knew something was wrong with his urinary tract system. Although my regular vet's office does open on Saturdays but close at 2pm so she suggested that I should take him to a nearby emergency pet hospital.

Arrived at the emergency hospital, right away they gave him antibotics and pain killers, took x-rays and found several few mm sized stones in the bladder, no crystals in his urine, ultra sound was done to check for urethra blockage and it was confirmed none. Culture was obtained and found no bacteria(3 days later). All these testings cost over $1200. The cat went in at 11am and I didn't pick him up until 8pm. The emergency hospital's vet suggesting surgery to remove the bladder stones as soon as possible to avoid further bladder irritation. But he also gave me another option by feeding the cat Science Diet SD to see if that would dissove the stones in two months' time.

The following Monday morning, I dropped off the x-ray and ultra sound CDs at my regualr vet's for review. She called me right back and told me to start giving the cat Royal Canin SO canned food,
since my cat isn't a water drinker so canned food works better for him. She also mentioned that there was a study done by UC Davis in California that proves Royal Canin SO prescription diet does dissolve struvite(magnesium) stones successfully.

After 10 weeks of Royal Canin SO canned food, today I took my cat in for x-ray and it shows no more stones in his bladder. I was overjoyed, am so glad that I didn't have to put my cat through surgery. And fortunately his bladder stones weren't the oxalate(calcium)stones. Thank GOD for that!!

I will continue feed him Royal Canin SO diet for life!
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
My cat is on a speciality food to prevent urinary track crystals from forming. Royal Canin SO has proven to be the solution to the problem but the food is expensive and hard to find. This company filled the order quickly, at a good price, and the product arrived in perfect condition. I will order this product from them again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
Our cat has urinary tract blockage issues and our vet recommended this special food that's high in sodium. By buying from Amazon and being a Prime member, I had been saving a ton getting the canned food from Amazon rather than from our local specialty pet store (the only store that carries this brand and food type in my area) because it had free shipping.

However, last month Amazon stopped providing this particular canned food with Prime free shipping so now the shipping costs from private sellers through Amazon now makes getting this from Amazon more expensive than buying it from my local pet store. Disappointed, but that's how it goes sometimes. Great cat food, just too expensive to purchase it online through Amazon any longer - that's why I gave this four stars rather than five.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
My cat hasn't had to go in for any $2500 life-saving two day catheter visits since using the SO product... it is expensive, and not needed at EVERY meal. There's also some expert concern that it is somewhat lacking in OTHER necessary nutrients, so you will not want to rely on it solely... but if you can get your cat off ALL dry food, you've already solved 90% of the modern epidemic of urinary tract problems among cats already, so you may not HAVE to rely on this very often.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
Ok, so my cats haven't had a recurrence in their urinary crystals since starting this food about 2 months ago. Like the vet said, they are quite a bit thirstier and they're peeing more. One cat's pee balls are the size of softballs, and this cat has become constipated - I'm thinking because of dehydration. So, I'm switching them to the canned version of Feline SO.

Has anyone else had their cats become constipated or dehydrated after being on dry Feline SO for a while? I'm curious.
55 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Vet prescribed this food after my cat Steve got a blockage at a young age. I put extra water in the food too and he always gobbles it right up. I tried some though and its not very good.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
The product is fine, but more than half of the cans in the case are dented; in fact 3 of them are smashed so badly that liquid is leaking out, I had to them throw away. The outside box looks perfectly fine, so I believed the cans are that way before they are shipped. For almost $70 a case of 24, I am really disappointed that they are shipping damaged products.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
My cat Ike, who is a female, has had UTI's on and off for the past 9 years. She has been to the vet every year at least one time a year for the same issue. She has peed outside the box to let me know she was having issues and she had blood in her urine. I witnessed her trying to pee and she was in and out of the of box because she had that feeling she had to go but hardly anything came out. Sometimes it was so bad that it was all blood.
Ike has been on this product for two months and she pees inside the litter box and it's a steady stream of urine and she lost two pounds.
I like this product and I recommend it to those who have fur ever felines to use it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.