Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Indie for the Holidays in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 22, 2012
I've owned the Bose Acoustic Wave Music System II for the past 5 years, and although I have no complaints about the way it performs, I believe that it's way overpriced. Prior to owning this unit, we owned the original Bose Acoustic Wave Machine. When we purchased the original version, it was priced similar to what this one is priced at. At the time, and even when I purchased this one, I felt that the price was justified for the high quality performance that the system delivered. My feeling is that the high price of the original unit, as well as this one when it was first released, was justified because of the years and years of research that Bose put into the design of such a marvelous device. Now, since it's been almost 30 years since the original version was first produced, Bose should realize that prices for electronics have come down. The Acoustic Wave music system ll is very similar to the original version. The way I look at it is this. If you purchase a High Definition TV today, you'll end up paying about 75% less than you paid for a similar TV just 6 years ago, yet the TV you buy today will be a lot better. The same applies to most consumer electronics. With the Bose Acoustic Wave music system ll, you're basically getting the same thing that you would have, had you purchased the device when it was first introduced back in the 1980's. Yes, there have been some improvements and additions, but none that would justify the price being kept so artificially high.

There is no question that the performance of the Bose Acoustic Wave Music System II is phenomenal. Compared with much larger systems with separate speakers, the Bose performs admirably. On this scale, it definitely deserves 5 stars. If you've never listened to it before, you'll be astounded that such a small music system could put out such incredible sound. Even in a very large room, the sound produced by this device is nothing short of phenomenal. It has rich bass, and crisp mid range and treble. It's truly astounding when you hear it for the first time. The problem is that there are other companies that are producing similar systems for a fraction of what Bose charges. They may not be quite as good, but at a price of less than half of what you pay for the Bose system, you could purchase one from a different manufacturer that would sound almost as magnificent as this one does.

The bottom line is that this device gets 5 stars for performance and 1 star for price. That's why I rate it an overall 3 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2011
I have had the Bose Acoustic Wave Music System 2 for about 2 years and find it amazingly versatile and with rich true sound and clarity. If you want sound that is true to life as in natural instrumentation and natural voice this system can't be beaten. If you are looking for the electronically "enhanced" bass that shakes your neighbors three doors "or cars" down this is not your boom box. If you like your music to sound as if the orchestra or vocalist is in the room or outdoors with you this system is perfect. Whether it is radio, CD, MP3, or your Ipod, your music will sound great. With the optional case and battery pack you will have a great system by the pool or to accompany your gardening, etc. The only improvement, in my opinion, would be a display in front as in the Wave Radio instead of on top.. but you are usually too far away from this system to be able to read it anyway. Put on an MP3 or a favorite playlist on your Ipod and enjoy the incredible sound.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
59 of 73 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2010
After a few years - say, five - it doesn't play some CDs - and Bose has a very casual view of my complaints. To send it to Bose and have it repaired, including S&H from here to there,is, as I recall, more than $250. So again and after three years - or so - it is choicy about what it wants to play. I was asked if I play copied disks - sure, sometimes. But it too often doesn't play the Real Stuff.

I have a boom box from Walmart,for cryin' out loud, that'll play anything. DO NOT BUY BOSE - and I did buy from Bose twice. Bose does not support its buyers except to argue with them - okay, me - and charges so much that there's no point in buying what they're offering.


33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on October 4, 2010
I bought a Bose Acoustic Wave ten years ago -- right after Bose upgraded the unit by replacing the old slider controls on top with electronic ones and included a remote. The single tray CD player on top was perfect for what I wanted it for -- a simple to operate, decent sounding stereo for my wife. She is not comfortable operating the main stereo in our house, so for when I'm not at home and she wants to play her swami-candle-chime-hippie CD's, she can easily do so. We use it as, basically, a kitchen radio. It excels at that. Easy to turn on and off, get the news and traffic while gulping down the morning coffee, play in the background when eating at the table etc.

As far as its sonic quality, you know what they say: "No highs, no lows -- it must be Bose."

Don't get me wrong -- it's the greatest portable radio ever built. If you ever have to listen to radio for a long time, you'll be a lot happier listening on this than any other self-contained radio on the market. Too bad Bose can't keep up with the world and put an HD radio in it -- the Acoustic Wave hasn't changed in 11 years. If you don't need the radio, you might be better off with the $600 Bose Sound Dock -- the one with the woofer built in. It'd be a lot cleaner looking sitting on your shelf than the not-so-small Acoustic Wave, and you wouldn't have to have a separate iPod dock sitting next to it. Besides the news and traffic, why would anybody listen to a radio anymore?

All in all, the Acoustic Wave is OK if you need to play music loud at a party. For a kitchen radio, it's overkill. For an audiophile, it's water torture.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2011
I bought one of these units several years ago and sent it back. It sounded pretty good but my $120 boombox ( I think it was a Magnavox ) sounded just about as good as this. I was really disappointed after all the hype in the Bose AD. I had a couple of friends listen to it before I sent it back just to make sure I was giving it a fair chance. Like me they thought it sounded slightly better than my old boom box but not worth the $1,064 I paid at that time. That was several years ago so maybe they have improved ( but so have the $120 systems ) I would say go listen to one of these in person before you spend this kind of money. I think the Wave radio sounds good as well but it should be about $100 to $150 not $500!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2012
I bought this 3 years ago, I like classical music. This has an exellent sound for its small body when you play it very loud. For our 1500 square foot condo, this is away too much. I regret I didn't buy the wave 1.....
Now, bose has many features to accomodate the trends, please check their HP to learn before you order at Amazon.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2010
If you want to fill a big room (or two or more) with great music without having equipment, speakers, wires, etc. scattered all over the house, than this is the system you want.

The clarity of the sound coming from this very attractive small(ish) system blew my mind. I never realized how "muddy" my other sound systems were until I bought this one. If you have never heard a Bose Wave Sound System II then I strongly suggest that you find a store and check it out. The stores are listed on the Bose website link below.

I bought an additional 5 cd attachment that gave me a total of 6 CD's, enough for lots of listening. There are also attachments for other devices. The Bose replace a much larger component system with large Yamaha speakers, etc. It sounds better than the more expensive system does.

The only negative I can think of is that if you want to shake the rafters with lots of bass and very loud volume you will have to get a different system with a bigger amp, speakers, and a woofer. The Bose gives good loud base-treble balance but it will never equal a heavy amped system's throbbing bass sound. However I don't think the average Bose buyer is looking for that much sound.

This system is expensive but as long a radios and CD's are around it will last a very long time. It is very well built and yet can be portable with an accessory case and power supply. I'll write another review about it in twenty years.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2012
I've had this system for a couple of years, and it has consistently been a nice addition to my home. CD's have a nice surround effect, which is great for a small, portable player. I can hear individual vocals and instruments distinctly.

One negative... I would love for it to have backup battery capability. I needed to bring it to an outdoor event, and I couldn't without first hooking it up to a generator. Other than that, this is a sound (ha ha) investment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 29, 2015
Love the unit, but was disappointed that I had to go to other suppliers for miscellaneous parts (power pack, rca plugs, wires and carrying case). Not a one stop shop!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2014
This Bose Acoustic Wave Music System II is still the best sounding, battery-powered speaker available, even in 2014. End of story. Nothing touches this older style Bose, not even the newer generation Bose products, that can also be taken outdoors and powered by battery. Nothing made by Beats (I also own the Pill XL and have reviewed it on Amazon), UE, Marshall, etc can touch the richness of the sound at low and high volumes. It's not even close and I have gone through great expense trying to find something more updated and portable that can incorporate Bluetooth or Airplay, but the sound coming out of this speaker makes it worth the cost and weight of travel. I am a photographer and use this speaker on location photo shoots all over the country. It lives in a Pelican case. It's heavy and expensive to ship, but the sound quality is worth the trade off to me. It lets my subjects know I mean business when I want the energy up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.