Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 22, 2010
The package shows fresh berries so you might assmume these are made from dried berries and chocolate. The ingredients say something very different.... fruit juice concentrate boiled up w corn syrup and cane sugar, thickened and covered w choc. Sugar - sugar and more sugar. Buyer beware.
1313 comments173 of 197 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2010
The bag describes these as "Dark Chocolate Acai with Blueberry". So, I bought these thinking I was getting a dried acai berry or blueberry covered with dark chocolate. After a closer reading of the front of the bag as well as the ingredient list, the thing that is covered with chocolate is described as a "fruit juice piece". The ingredient list names several fruit juice concentrates in addition to acai and blueberry. I've heard of "dried fruit pieces" and I've heard of "fruit juice", but what is a "fruit juice piece"? I didn't know you could have a piece of juice! It seems like all of Brookside's products contain the mystery "fruit juice pieces". What exactly is covered with dark chocolate?
77 comments170 of 194 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
These are so delicious. I can't get enough of them. It's important to note it is not dried fruit covered in dark chocolate, but flavored gelatin. Basically, a blueberry jellybean covered in dark chocolate. The packaging makes them appear to be a healthy snack, but they are not. If you can get past that, definitely buy. I know I will be.
11 comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2010
Notice it doesnt say Acai BERRIES?

That's because the interior of the candies are actually just a berry flavored gelatin - like the inside of a jelly bean. So these are just chocolate covered jellybeans, not real chocolate covered berries. Ingredients are fruit juice and fructose. Frankly it tastes like the main flavoring ingredient is sugar and cheap grape/apple juice to me. You cant even taste Acai.

This product is intentionally trying to ride the healthy berries and chocolate bandwagon.
Yet it is full of unhealthy ingredients unlike what it label shows.
So this is NOT a healthy snack like they are trying to portray.

If chocolate jelly beans are what you want thats fine, just be aware that the label is very misleading IMHO.
77 comments136 of 163 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2012
I just bought these thinking they would be healthly like the ones from Trader Joe's. I was wrong. I am returning them to costco and going back and getting the healthy kind!!! Too bad I can;t give them O stars. They are tasty, but misleading!!!
0Comment38 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2010
Well, in all fareness, I've never tried crack. But since crack isn't covered in dark chocolate, and it's extremely unhealthy, I would argue that this stuff is better. Probably much cheaper too (if you buy it at costco.)
33 comments32 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2012
This company has managed to take several healthy ingredients and overwhelm all possible health and taste advantage by creating a confection that is essentially white sugar, corn syrup, fat and oil. The packaging is misleading, It is not whole fruit with dark chocolate. It is a hardened jelly of fruit juices and additives with a processed milk chocolate covering that is dark in appearance. Shameful actually.
0Comment27 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
This was a great snack item. It was a nice combination of healthy and sweet. You may want to take a good look at the nutrition label (carbs and sat fat), but I like that there are no fake flavors in it. Sodum Bicarbonate is the only chemical. A few (small handful) is plenty to meet those carb cravings, and the dark chocolate is a nice addition. Did not get the usual reactions my body makes to chocolate, which is a good thing.
22 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
This is a very misleading product. Made by Hershey's. First ingredient is semi-sweet chocolate (shouldn't that read "dark semi sweet?) The next ingredients, "SUGAR;CHOCOLATE'..I think I have covered it could go on and on, but in this day & age customers are actually looking at the food label! It tastes good but you have to wonder why they didn't use HERSHEYS on front?

16 pieces have 8 grams of fat, 5 of those are SATURATED fat, also with 23 Grams of SUGAR.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
Don't let the "acai with blueberry" fool you in to thinking this is a healthy snack (other than the anti oxidants you can get with any other good dark chocolate. This is essentially a chocolate covered fruit snack...but it IS delicious!!!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.