Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 26, 2012
As stated in my title, I used to wear the Valerie Stevens cashmere sweaters offered at Robinsons May, until they closed down. I had eight sweaters but have gone up a size over the last few years. So bummed because, you know, cashmere sweaters are expensive AND always too thin. I have been on the search for replacements to my 10+ year old sweaters and I finally found them- in the SOFIE sweater. This is a double ply (that doesn't sound right...double knit?), with seams JUST like the Valerie Stevens. The color is vibrant and the sweater is super soft; I'm sure my yorkie can't wait till I lay it out on my bed so he can cuddle up inside of it.

UPDATE: I can't believe the price went up so much on this item. When I bought my two sweaters, I think they were $89 each- now they are listed as $170??? I would not but this sweater for that price. I have shoved my face in cashmere sweaters that cost that much, so I feel comfortable telling you that this sweater IS NOT WORTH $170. $89, yes- it's totally worth $89.
0Comment51 of 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
I'll start with the positives. The sweater is a pretty camel color. It is soft and is priced reasonably. However, it does not have any shape to it. The buttons are cheap. The cashmere is thin and the stitching is weak. A gross grain ribbon behind the buttons and button holes would have made this sweater so much nicer.
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
I wanted a soft, basic, cashmere cardigan to replace an old favorite. Style and size were perfect, but the cashmere not good quality- I sent it back.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
The first time I put it on it felt coarser that my cashmere from Macy's, BUT this one hasn't begun to pill at all.
The ruby color is a brilliant pure red.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
The cashmere feels week quality small plastic buttons, seened to be a lot of money for the the quality not great
0Comment13 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
This classically cut sweater fits true to size and feels so luxurious when you have it on. I searched high and low for a camel sweater on line and in stores. So glad I came across my Sofie!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
The sweater was disappointing in that it neither looked nor felt like cashmere. It appeared more like a thin, somewhat rough synthetic.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
I have purchased two of these cashmere sweaters and while the sweater runs a bit small I disagree with many of the other reviews and say that for the price this is a good sweater. I have this sweater in the gray and purple. I also own two cashmere cardigan sweaters from Land's End so I am using those for compare and contrast.

Reasons why it's a good buy: It is a nice lighter weight sweater that I can wear fall and spring and because it is a little lighter weight I can also layer this sweater over t-shirts, shells, and turtlenecks and not feel like it adds unnecessary bulk. I feel that the shape of the sweater is exactly what is expected...a cardigan. Most importantly and my main reason for why this sweater is a good purchase, this sweater is half the price of the LE cashmere sweaters!

Possible cons: While these sweaters are not chenille soft when they first arrive, I found that they are just as soft or slightly softer than my pricier LE cashmere cardigans. Yes, the material in the LE sweaters is thicker and feels more substantial, but I also find that the LE cardigans look bulkier on me and during the fall and spring they are a little to warm for me. The LE cardigans have better quality buttons and grosgrain ribbon reinforcement behind those buttons, but for me the lack of those features are not as important when taking into consideration the price difference. Over time these cardigans do peel, but nothing a good sweater shaver can't fix.

MORE IMPORTANTLY for me, since these sweaters were not nearly as expensive I dared WASHING my Sofie cardigans at home. I've washed my cardigans many times now and with each wash they got SOFTER and SOFTER! I haven't experienced any shrinking issues washing them the way I do. I would never have dared to try washing this cashmere cardigan if the price hadn't been what it is. So another pro in my book: I feel like I am saving a good chunk of change in not having to dry clean these sweaters especially considering how often I wear them. A quick con concerning washing: while the cashmere is wet it has an odd smell to it, but I found that this goes away as soon as it is dries. Note: I am not suggesting that others try washing these, I just found that for me this was a big pro in my book.

In short, I feel that these cardigans are an excellent buy and my gray Sofie cardigan has become the one that I reach for over and over. I very rarely wear my two LE cashmere cardigans.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
it is soft, light, it seems good, but when i pick up a thread and burn it. residue is caking as chemical fiber‘s residue of combustion not as powder which is combustion residue of cashmere.
there is no double it is not 100% cashmere, there are a certain fiber in it. I don't know the percents.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
Bought this for my daughter for Christmas. It is a beautiful sweater and very, very soft. I was concerned about the sizing, but was very pleased when the package arrived. The color was almost a perfect match to picture online. The workmanship is very nice and should be a lovely addition to my daughter's professional investment piece wardrobe. Amazon did its usual terrific job of delivering the package before the promised date so that I could wrap and send it early.
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.