Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: American Tourister Luggage Ilite Supreme 25 Inch Spinner Suitcase (Indigo Purple)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2012
This is a really nice suitcase. The 4 wheels roll smoothly and don't strain my shoulder and arm like the type of case that you tilt to roll. It also has lots of space and the handle is sturdy. Lastly, it is very light in weight, which is important these days with the airline fees. The only thing that was disappointing was the color. The photo leads you to believe it's red or maroon. It's pink-Barbie pink. Don't order the Honeysuckle color if you don't like pink. I decided to keep it because I don't have time to send it back, plus I figure it will stand out coming down the conveyer belt at the airport. Could even be a conversation piece!
0Comment| 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
I purchased this luggage because I need to take a longer vacation than normal and well, wasn't going to play the game of shoving everything into a carry on. I carefully read through many reviews before choosing and I'm really glad I picked this one.

First of all - the color is nothing like the seller image which was mentioned in reviews. In bright light or flash, yes - but in reality it's darker and I love it more than the shown color. I wanted something that stood out and I got it - within a reasonable price.

Another concern in the reviews was with the zippers. I played with every one of them over and over again and have no idea what the problem is so it's either fixed or it's misunderstood that you can't run a zipper over fabric. :)

The spinner wheels are so smooth! I put my carryon bag on top of this one and I could probably take down a family of 5 like bowling pins at an alley this thing rolls so well. Look out folks, here I come!

Last, bag has so much room it's not even funny and it has a zipper to allow additional space if needed. There is no doubt that I will be able to pack a week's worth of clothing, shoes and toiletries and have plenty of room for souvenirs for the trip back. Since its total size is 53 inches it's well within my airline's limitations of 62 inches (total length+width+height), how could I not love it? Now if I can just keep it under 50 pounds.

If it falls apart on the first trip like it did for others and I didn't cause the problem to happen, I'll be sure to let you know. For now - I would highly recommend this as a great alternative to an overpriced bag. Now if I can just keep it under 50 pounds.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
I have been on several trips, including a cruise, since I have purchased this bag and have been thrilled with it's performance! I love the spaciousness on the inside. I could almost fit the kitchen sink if I had too! I am so pleased with the handles, especially the extra one on the bottom which makes lifting it so much easier. I am so delighted with the multi-directional wheels. I can just walk normally while moving the suitcase to the side of me, while holding onto the handle, with practically no effect. I am so happy I chose this bag over the many options to be had.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Just the right size for long distance travel given the 50-lbs weight restriction. I had a bigger one from Samsonite but if that one is fully packed, it will be over the weight limit. However, the 4 wheels on this American Tourister luggage do not move as smoothly as the Samsonite. Everything else meets my expectation. If I purchase suitcase again, I will go for Samsonite even if I have to pay more.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I've had cheap-ish American tourister microlite luggage for 14 years now- the same rolly suitcase and carryon, not multiple- and they are still fantastic with only a single inner zipper on the rolling suitcase breaking and a flat back edge starting to show serious wear recently and it's been to the other side of the world and back twice and numerous other trips. Thus, I thought this was a great brand to go with.

The quality on the newer ones (this green suitcase) is not anything like the old.
So far, I've taken this one on 6 car rides and 1 domestic round trip flight- loaded to 40 pounds each time.

First- it's heavier than the old microlite even though this is smaller. The fabric is thicker. No big deal, but it was a little disappointing since you'd think things would have gotten better.

Wheels- the spinny wheels are OK. They aren't annoying like the cheap kind and they are heavenly like the samsonite that looks almost the same as this model. They are pretty good and rolled well with 40+ pounds in the suitcase. I'm a fan of spinny wheels in general but after having one break off on a cheap suitcase, I only wanted them on a trusted brand. Let's hope these stay on. So far they've made it longer than the cheap suitcase ;)

color- the green is nothing like the pretty fun green on the green. It's multitone with different colors on different sections and is pretty neon with a very yellowy ugly color that lacks the smooth appearance in the picture. it's not what I expected or wanted at all, but hey, you can find it on the belt!

dirty- I've had plenty of suitcases in sizes and colors- black, navy, red. I found black gets somewhat dirty and red and blue don't. However, the grainy weird fabric and light color of this suitcase made is look abysmal after the first flight. It came down the belt and we thought immediately it must be ours but as it got closer it looked so dirty and old we second guessed it. One flight and it will look ancient, dirty and worn like it has traveled the world.

Front pockets- be warned, the front pockets are flat files. The way that they open makes it so only something really flat like paper can go in them. I'd max out that bottom pocket at maybe 2 calendars MAX.

Zippers- they aren't the greatest and I"d hoped for more. They work ok. Well most of them worked OK. However, after returning after the roundtrip flight, the zipper on the front large pocket broke- you know the zipping but the zipper doesn't actually close. :/ you'd expect that only with extremely low quality luggage. I've gotten no name brands from target for 20 bucks that had zippers that lasted longer. I'm hoping we can fix this somehow. I've got to look into this warrantee since that was certainly a pull in buying this over something less expensive.

size- this is within the guidelines for checked baggage without going over. This is really important. I bought this one after having to return another suitcase whose listed dimensions calculated out to be under the required size but in actuality were over the max baggage (hundred in oversize baggage fees? no thank you!- always check reviews and with tape measure for real outer dimensions). This one, again, is perfectly fine for checking. Obviously, don't try to bring it as a carry on. It's actually a bit smaller than was expected and the bottom (wheel side) is a little deeper than the top.

durability- beyond what's written, we'll have to see. I was expecting this to be another investment piece and last at least another 15 years but it's not looking good.

Overall- it's not a bad suitcase. it's a little ugly but easy to see. It wheels around pretty well even when packed with 40 pounds. However, those expecting the quality that used to come with American tourister or a lightweight bag may be disappointed.
Here's hoping the zippers and wheels hold up at least.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
This suitcase did not hold up under world travel conditions. I actually went through two suitcases in two trips. The first one broke when the aluminum internal frame was damaged during normal airline handling, bending the retracted handle such that it would no longer deploy. Since it was within 30 days, Amazon provided a replacement (great policy!).

The second suitcase went to Europe with me, where I walked from train stations to hotels. When you roll the packed suitcase on the sidewalk for long distances (1km), the rubber wheels heat up. When the wheels heat, they expand. When the wheels expand, they jam up in the caster. When a wheel jams up in the caster, it no longer free wheels, and you end up dragging the suitcase with a frozen wheel for many blocks. No fun.

I liked the styling of the suitcase, but it is not durable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
I just returned from 6 weeks in Europe and purchased this suitcase for my trip. Although it did well holding a lot, there were 2 very important faults. The handle which you pull up would often collapse down, almost making me fall as I, 68 years old, with a cane, and traveling alone and pulling another bag also, struggled to make my way through airports and train stations.. Also, with the front pockets loaded well, it would tend to fall forward, also being a hazard for me. Because of these problems, I regret buying this bag for my trip. I will write the company and see if they will offer me any compensation and hopefully remember to post an update.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Plenty of room, rolls easily, carry on loops over handle. After 7 flights in 10 days this luggage still looks like brand new. I love the plastic zippered compartment and shoe compartments. It holds a lot!
44 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
Bought for my mom to take on a cruise. Very roomy and extremely light weight. Easy to spot a purple suitcase in a sea of black and navy!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
I was looking at a competitive brand, many of the same features but 1" smaller and about $35+ more. The thing that sold me was the high number of excellent ratings so I bought the American Tourister product. I just completed a 16 day cruise with 5 air flights...it held up well. In addition, I packed a suit and sport coat, ties, six pair of slacks, 8 golf shirts and 4 dress shirts. All came out of the suitcase requiring no ironing or steaming. Needless to say, I was very pleased.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.