Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Price:$10.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2012
The Cake Pop Maker is a cool idea but a little difficult in execution.

The set is easy to set up--you attach the sides to the base and the plunger to the sides and you are set. The difficulty comes in filling the spheres. The batter came out easily, which is great, but we learned after the first pop to stop the crank a second or 2 before the sphere is full--the batter continues to spurt even after you stop cranking. Also, it is hard to fill the spheres evenly--ours tended to come out in a swirl like soft serve ice cream which meant that it wasn't really a sphere--the sides weren't filled out.

By the end we thought were out of cake batter and had one sphere half full. I opened up the container and saw a lot of batter had built up on top of the plunger. We scraped it down and had more than enough to finish the last pop. It was a pain and kind of messy to scrape it out though.

After the pops were set we made the icing. We couldn't get the consistency right to complete coat the pop. First it was too thick and we lost a pop. We made it thinner but it didn't matter--if you stick the pop all the way in the icing it will crumble and fall off. We settled for coating half--it still looked pretty. The sprinkles were.....sprinkles. They coated fine and stayed on.

Finally, I only saw 2 places to stand completed, decorated pops to dry but you can make 4 pops at a time. This wasn't a problem for us as we lost 2 in the decorating process but it didn't really make sense.
Cleaning the pieces was quick and easy. The pops tasted as you'd expect something made from powder and water to taste. My kids loved them and I pretended to ;)

Overall, the Cake Pop Maker was fine-I think my 6 year old could do it on her own next time but this was her first lesson in learning that what you see on TV may not turn out in real life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
We called Spin Master to complain about the taste of the vanilla cake pop mix and they sent us a free sample of the Chocolate refill! Anyone who had a bad experience with the taste should call them!

Anyways, the chocolate cake pops turned out delicious and we've now mastered the dipping of the pops.. we figured out to ROLL them gently in the icing, while tipping the small icing bowl on an angle... it worked beautifully!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
daughter begged me to get this with HER money...I was against it..because I didn't want her to waste her $....after reading very minimal and misinformed reviews...I went ahead...thinking you get two packets of cake batter...you only get one...which only makes 4.....it comes with more icing and glitter than you can use..for the four pops.....I do believe they are cheaper at Starbucks...I wish the company would either lower the price...or definitely give you more "bang for your buck"....after all ....it is a child's bake kit...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Sell them this. First the "cake" is awful. It's a no-bake that you put into the fridge to set. My daughter described it as "monster booger". It's mushy, and doesn't stay on the cake pop sticks that come with the set. When you try to frost them, they fall apart. I'm glad I only purchased one refill set, as I will not be re-filling it anymore. The maker will be used on for decorating at this point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
this thing is horrible i cant believe we wasted our time just to she my little girl get upset and disappointed dont waste your time or money on this junk easy to put together but dispenser dont line up to the cake pop holder correctly and it takes way longer than 15 min for batter to harden and also taste and smells bad my dog wouldnt eat it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
My 5 year old granddaughter loves this cake pop maker kit-she says she doesn't have to ask Mom or Dad to take her to
Starbuck's now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
Thie cake pop maker works fine and the cake pops taste decent. As for the review attacking other people criticizing the quantity of cake pop mix and relating this to their social status and income, that was completely ridiculous and judgemental. Of course it is relevant if people feel the product is not worth their money, and this is a beneficial subject to include in a review. No matter what a person's social or financial status is, most people want to know the value of a product which includes the quantity they receive for their money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
Product is way overpriced and not a good value at all. Could have bought the very same thing at the local store for a whole lot less. Because of the price, thought this would include a much larger quantity than what I could get locally. Really disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
These cake pop refills work very good, although sometimes it is a little hard to shape them and keep them on the sticks. They taste very good and my children really enjoy making, and eating, them. I wish they came in larger sizes so I didn't have to buy so many of the smaller refills. Even though they are expensive, I still think they are a good value considering the joy they bring to my children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
After my granddaughter made them with adult supervision as everyone took a bite they all said yuk! Everyone said it tasted terrible. I will be returning the Pop Maker to where I bought it. It was a waste of money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.