Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 20, 2012
Ok, so I have a tiny 1950's kitchen and have had to use these portable type dishwashers for years. They are great little units--but need a little reasonable care to work at their best--here's what I've learned to make them last a good long time:

When you load the dishes, reach under and spin the aerator arm to make sure it rotates freely and nothing hangs down to block it.

Rapid Eco setting is the shortest and does a fine job.

Only needs about 1 Tablespoon of detergent, gel works best.

Does a good job, but doesn't handle too much loose or caked on food on dishes. I trap the previous load's water in one side of the sink and use it to presoak anything that is extra tough--lazy but effective.

Sweep food off trap screen after every load.

After about 3 or 4 years, if your unit (& this can happen to ANY dishwasher!) suddenly pours water out the door when filling, don't despair! Don't throw it in the landfill, don't waste time replacing the door gasket. Just shut it off, shut off the water, turn on the unit so it will pump out the water and UNPLUG it so you can't shock yourself working on it. Then look up online how to clean out the FLOAT MECHANISM. It gets gunked up after awhile and just a little vinegar and a toothbrush and you're good to go for another 3 or 4 years.

Take off the front lower panel and lift the side panel closest to the hoses. Look for a little box with a removable lid and a lever coming out of it (this shuts off the water when it reaches the correct level). CAREFULLY open it and gently clean out the gunk so the float can freely move up and down. Fill it halfway with vinegar once clean and replace the lid. Tightly close the box with a ziptie so it is airtight. Done!

Hope this helps!
66 comments| 404 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2012
Two of my friends think I'm ridiculous for having this dishwasher, but they A. enjoy hand washing dishes and B. aren't running a business. I figure that this little guy saves 4-6 hours of time a month and it REALLY helps that I no longer have dishes in the sink since I don't have to wait until there are enough dishes to make hand washing worth the effort.

I like that the manual lists the time and water and energy consumption for each cycle. Based on my very rough calculations (I'm a science guy), it uses about as much water as hand washing, but more electricity. One thing I can't find anywhere in the manual is what the light on the left side is for.

One gripe: every so often, if the dishwasher is running and I pause it to put a dish in, when I close the door it will drain a fair amount of the water out, even though it's in the middle of the cycle. It doesn't happen every time and when it does I just pour some hot water back in but it is annoying. I figure it's a programming error.

It's got lots of cycles but it cleans really well on the lightest two. One of those has a drying cycle and the other doesn't. I can't imagine needing to use the Heavy or even Normal cycles.

Make sure nothing is blocking the door on the detergent dispenser! I've loaded it with plates in front of that before and it had trouble opening. Also, while I don't need to use a rinse aid, apparently white vinegar does just as good of a job as Jet-Dri and it's basically free and not full of scary chemicals.

All in all, I'm quite happy with the dishwasher and I'm very glad I bought it. If your friends make fun of you for having it, have them hand wash your dishes!
44 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
I use this in a guest unit but if my current full-sized dishwasher unit ever breaks I think I will replace it with this. It works really well but I have never tried it on anything difficult to clean.

I spent about eight hours at various plumbing and home-improvement stores - trying every single possible connection and asking for help from knowledgeable plumbers - but ultimately it involved picking up every single piece of pipe and tubing in the store and trying to match them together.

Here are the labels on the packets:
One Brass Pipe Tee T Connector 1/2" FIP
Three Brass Pipe Hex Nipples 1/2" MIP
One Dishwasher Elbow 3/8" OD x 3/4" GH
NPT= national pipe thread = MIP= male iron pipe = FIP=female iron pipe. All use the same threads, at least here in the USA.
GH = garden hose
OD = outside diameter, seems to be what is used on faucet supply lines.

Attach the nipples to the T connector as shown in the picture (I used plumbers thread-seal tape.)

Then you need the connecting faucet supply lines. The two lines going into the T connect to your hot and cold water lines. Just buy lines where one end is is 1/2 in MIP/FIP/NPT and the other end attaches to a system that will branch water from your wall outlet (sorry I didn't keep those packets - let me know if you need more details on this and I can check to see what I used.) The line going into the dishwasher has one end 1/2 in MIP/FIP/NPT and the other end attaches to the dishwasher elbow 3/8in OD. The other end of the dishwasher elbow attaches to the dishwasher. (Too much detail probably!)
Then I cut a hole in the drain pipe above the trap and the dishwasher drains directly into the drain.
(sorry that the picture shows the metric version of the sizes - 1 cm is 3/8 in and 1.27 cm is 1/2 in.)

What I have learned since doing this:
Now I also see there is something called a "Y Washing Machine Mixer Hose" which may be useful, since the attachment going into the dishwasher is the same size as washing machine connections. (I think.)
Also, since the dishwasher has an internal water heater, you could just connect this to the cold water if you just wanted to deal with one supply line.
review image
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
This product is great for anyone who lives in a small apartment and is looking to have the dishes done without taking the time to do them. It took less than 10 minutes to setup and it is easy to operate and its basically self efficient. I couldn't ask for a better product than what I got to do the job outside of having an actual dishwasher in the house. Great product and def a great buy.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2012
It takes up exactly the space the former dishrack did. Even better now that the dishrack washes the dishes. It doesn't dry all the way and it takes up the sink while working but I am fine with these little things because the dishes get done regularly now. For city apt dwellers who don't have the space or the $$ some places want to install a full size this is the best solution. Had ours 5 months now and love it.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
We've had it for about six weeks now and have not had any problems at all. It holds more than I expected. It will work best if you rinse the dishes first, since it seems to have a tough time with dried-on food. The regular cycle is kind of long (1 hour and 25 minutes), but it's not a problem for us. We love it!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
works perfect! I live in a travel trailer and over my dead body was I gonna do dishes! Quiet as it can be and no water leaks.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
I purchased this item for my elderly mother who cant stand at the sink and wash dishes any more. She has been very happy with using the dish washer says its a wondeful appliance. Thank you.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
I HATE hand washing dishes. HATE HATE HATE. This dishwasher works perfectly, and it's pretty much the size of one rack of a regular dishwasher. I run a couple of times a week and have no problems. I've noticed that even with heavy pots and pans, the large dispenser is way too much detergent, it leaves residue everywhere. I always use the small detergent dispenser and everything gets squeaky clean! It's a good idea to pre-rinse all dishes before putting them in, and regularly clean the filter. This doesn't work for all faucets. Mine works better on my bathroom sink than the kitchen. I just put this on a cart and sit it in the hall outside of the bathroom and cart it back into the pantry when I'm done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2013
I am quite displeased with this product. It's rack is difficult to load and it leaks water from the underneath and I've only had it for 2 1/2 weeks. Everything is hooked up properly. Can't figure out why it's leaking or where from. Not happy at all. I wish I would have chosen the floor model portable.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 39 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.