Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2013
This is the 4th Android TV box I have tried. It will not launch or run the current version of XBMC. If you intend on using it for XBMC to stream movies you can get much better results from a G-Box Midnight or G-Box Sav for about the same or less cost. At least they work out of the box. If you want the best bang for your money a MK808 beats this thing hands down in performance. It's also less than half the cost at this time. The little MK808 is not without flaw but replacing the stock firmware with the Finless 1.6 ROM makes it a real winner. I bought this one because I wanted to give it as a gift to a friend with an older TV who needed the component connectivity this thing offers. Since it wont run XBMC it's pretty much useless.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I got this since you can add your own apps the self loaded apps take to the webpage On mine the Netflix did not work you get audio but no video i tried some fixes but still does not work . it work good on youtube and any other apps that are compatible. If you are thinking of buying this one don't try another brand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
I was trying to do the update TVBox and I could never get it to work quite right, and the support they gave me feel it was only to delay the time to wish I could claim that they beat the option to do so.

In short I believe that TVBox still lacks development so it can be really a complete and without errors (bugs), that currently can not be installed directly from the market several applications within these Youtube, Skype and Flash player, which is assumed to be of the first to offer the Amazon site, but not fully met.

I would not suggest buying the TVBox up for some time, when they have corrected these flaws, I would say after June 2013, that is a utopia now what they offer.

I'm not comfortable with the TVBox, and besides that, they put excuses and conditions for return, so do not suggest buying TOMTOP provider to be more responsible with what they promise and the support is bad, and that the first person who answers does not give the right to monitor emails and do not know exactly what they sell.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
This is a complete Android PC. It comes with some popular websites, and Google Play store. You can install various Android apps. You can use this system easily like all other Android tablets and phones. Many Android apps were written for Android tablets and phones. You can still install and use them, without difference. Of course, you need to shuffle the screen left and right to mimic the touchscreen effect. When you open a website, most likely you enter the mobile version, as the website treats your system as Android tablet. Hard drive is sufficient to install many apps.

There are several disadvantages: 1) YouTube. The latest YouTube version does not work on this Android 4.0. But you can install an earlier version. 2) There is no upgrade on OS to 4.1, etc. There is a pre-installed Upgrade icon, but the connection to server does not work.

I recommend you buying a wireless Air Mouse. It works perfect with this system. In the end, this is an excellent product with good performance (response, stability, heat dissipation, ease to use). Inexpensive and complete Android PC.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
It will load all apps and run most apps. The problem is that the android box still thinks that is a tablet and keeps auto shutting off. I have went into the device setting and disabled the auto shut off, but it still shuts off. The streaming is very choppy and poor quality.The only way this product will function properly is if you root the device and void all warranty. Good luck if you still decide to buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2013
I Just Received My Box Last Week & I Heard That The TV Box Dosn't Work That Great Straight From The Box, That I Would Have To Upgrade The Firmware Before Anything But The Problem Is "I Can't Find The Firmware Upgrade Anywhere" Could Someone Please Heeeelp:(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
XBMC is not smooth. Very slow on live streams. Live channel lovers please wait for a better hardware acceleration. Especially crashes all the time. Remote with mouse is very irritating. You need a wireless mouse to have easy access to on screen key board and navigation.

Rgds,
Kalai
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
The product did not meet the expectations expected, because it is unstable, is desperate response speed, you need a scroll on the remote control, and worst of all, the video is not smooth because it looks like it skips frames, I wish I had a way to change this product thanks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
I was very disappointed with this item. I bought it specifically to use with my TV (Netflix) and it is not compatible at all. I am not even able to watch YouTube videos. Waste of time product... Buyer beware!!! I will not recommend this item for those of you seeking to use it for the same as I was....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
This device is NOT a replacement to an Apple TV, but if you are a little tech savvy, it CAN be much better. I've had my device since Sept of 2012 and after a few firmware revisions, I can now comfortably recommend it to others. Development and updates for the device is frequent and numerous. Out of the box, the performance is not good and the lockups are frequent, but the two latest firmware updates have nixed most of these problems. When you hook up the device, be sure to go to [...] and download the latest updates for best performance.

Remote sucks. To me, this is the greatest downside to the device. It looks as if it could be backlit, but there is no internal lighting within the remote (a real deal killer for home theaters). The arrow keys work within XMBC but everywhere else, I found the cursor too slow and limiting. Luckily, the device supports most usb based wireless keyboards out of the box. A cheap $20 wireless keyboard works wonders, and if you're savvy, you can actually hack a wii-mote to work on it. Multi-channel audio seems to work, and there are S/pdif ports, but only via COAX, or HDMI, no toslink.

Device runs hulu plus, netflix, and xbmc well. Most play store apps run as well. Their website offers both rooted and non-rooted versions of the firmware. Firmware updates are easy, but require an SDcard. Download, extract to SD card, pop into the device and click update. If you are tech savvy and do not want to become enveloped by the walled gardens of apple or feel limited by the roku, this may be the ticket for you.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.