Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: RCA Wi-fi Streaming Media Player DSB772E with 1080p HDMI output by RCA
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 2012
OK.. I purchased mine in Walmart, it was easy to get it up and running worked good from the start.
However.. I noticed right away it gets HOT.
I left the RCA player on by accident leaving for work. My airconditioner was off so the room it was in was warm.. about 78F degrees. When I got home.. My $50.oo RCA Media player was D.O.A. (Dead On Arrival)
I went to Target, Found that the Sony Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi (SMP-N200) was on sale for the same price as the RCA Player ($50.oo).
Being I got burnt by the RCA "hotplate" and potential fire hazard... I went with the on sale Sony.
The Sony worked better, More features, and runs cool as a cucumber.
The Sony unlike the RCA, allows you to surf the internet.
I do not work for Sony nor do I get any gratuities from them. I do hate seeing people waste money on a poor product.
Another thing I disliked about the RCA was the Membrane Remote control.. You have to push the buttons hard and more than once
to get it to respond...
Id say if this RCA Media Player was $20.00.. go out and get it... But for the $50 asking price.. Go out and get the Sony SMP-N200 when it's on sale.

RCA PROS/CONS...
CONS
It gets dangerously hot when it's running.
The remote control is cheap.. easy to loose, hard to use in the dark.. limited finger feeling button protrusions.
It doesn't have 3 color component out (analog high definition Video) just HDMI

PROS
It is compacted
It sets up to the wi-fi router easy
It has an independent volume control for those who have external sound systems.
22 comments| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
People on here are rating this item for wrong reasons, and trying to compare it too much to other items that cost 3 times as much. I have seen some people say that it is cheaply made, But i can tell you this... When i got home and took it out of the box, I set it on top of my 55" TV and it dropped about 6 feet from the ground, and smacked the tile floor. I plugged it back in, and it works perfectly!I bought this item at Walmart for $38. The next cheapest streaming device was $50. All of these streaming devices are still in their early stages, regardless of brand, And for this price, it does exactly what it should do. I enjoy this product very much.
66 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
I purchased this RCA box a few months ago and I am very disappointed. It constantly overheats causing the unit to shut down and restart. The box has difficulty sensing the remote and when it does there is significant delay causing multiple advances when selecting enter.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I'm a guy. A nerdy one too. I want Netflix, Vudu, Pandora, Slacker radio and the option to add adult programming. This is NOT the box for that. This box sucks. I'm a mechanical engineer and I usually like to do my own programming on technology because I'm cheap, but this thing is way too complex to reprogram because it's a true piece of crap. Just buy a Roku, which is exactly what I did. Sometimes brand names are better...
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
This is a good player for particular setups. For instance, I have mine setup with a 720 HDTV across from my weight bench, and I use it while I'm working out. I pretty much only use it for Netflix during these couple hours and shut it off afterward.

It does get warm, but if you use it in a limited fashion, such as I do, it's a solid player. Even if you have it hooked up to your main television, as long as you turn it off after using it you should be alright. Although, honestly, if you have even a quasi-decent setup in your living room, you're better off getting a Blu-Ray player with built in Wi-Fi streaming.

At the same time, if you have a secondary room that you'd like some streaming services for, and you'll use it for certain periods of time, this is a good buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
The cheapest Netflix HD streamer that I could find, and it does that very well. The menu appears a little crude but it is a bargain at ~$30.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
I do not have cable and decided to get this device so that I could watch movies right from my TV. All I had to do was hook it up to my TV with an HDMI cable, and then add my wireless router login info once I turned on the device. After it connected to my wireless network, which was in just a few minutes, all I had to do was press the Netflix button and I was able to watch movies and TV shows without the need for a SmartTV. I love using this device. I do wish the remote was a little sturdier (makes me think it won't last too long). For now, I watch Netflix all the time, as that's the only movie streaming account I have. But I'm thinking about signing up with Huluplus also, so then I can watch more current episodes of my favorite TV shows. It's still sooo much cheaper than cable, plus I don't have to worry about what program the cable network decides to show, since I can watch exactly what I want to watch, when I want to watch. To address the device heating up issue, I placed part of the device on the base of the tv, so that there's always space underneath. I haven't had any trouble so far. Definitely a product that has a quick return on investment, that's for sure. If you are on a budget and just want to cut out that large cable bill, get this device and sign up for one of the movie streaming accounts. You will be soooo happy you did.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
Complete crap. Buy a Roku instead. I had this RCA for about 3 years. It NEVER worked right. The remote control was hard to use and never responded on the first or second or third press of any button. I usually had to get up and stand right next to the box to get the remote to work, and even then it was iffy. Also there is no way to update the player, and it DOES NOT stream Amazon videos, only specific brands like Netflix and Pandora. I finally got fed up after replacing the battery on the remote for the 4th time, and bit the bullet and bought a Roku HD. It was only $14 more than the RCA. I bought both at Walmart the RCA was $25 the Roku was $39 (both on sale). Wow what a difference the Roku was! I can't believe I suffered with that stinking RCA for 3 years. The Roku is simple and easy to use, you can add a TON of channels (including Amazon). It is overall 10 times better. It loads faster, the remote works and is more user friendly. Spend the extra money and get a Roku. Also I hate to say it but if you still are set on this RCA, go to Walmart instead where it is literally half the price of Amazon (the Roku was also cheaper at Walmart).
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2016
I just purchased this a couple weeks ago and everything has been fine until today when switching to Hulu from Netflix I received a message saying that the RCA player no longer supports Hulu. I thought maybe my account with Hulu had lapsed but it had not, so why all of a sudden they remove the Hulu app? That certainly cuts down on the variety of things to watch while using this device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
It gets the job done, but now that the chromecast has been released with its $35 price tag there is no reason to buy this when the chromecast destroys this in almost every way. But this has one thing the chromecast doesn't offer. RCA outputs for older televisions. But I would still recommend a Roku over this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.