Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$30.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2000
as a big fan of ray gillan, i highly recommend this cd, this isn't about money, i would usually agree with the other reviewer, but this is a cd that needs to be heard, it is great rock n roll, not unlike badlands, one of the best bands ever in my humble opinion, the previous reviewer doesn't even state if he's heard the record, i have and love it
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
If your a fan of Rays this is a cool album. Mike Starr of Alice in Chains also played on this. Ray never got his due.I've said it before and I'll say it again; Ray was one of the great singers of his time but that was the problem, his time was to short. R.I.P and God Bless you Ray, you and your voice are sadly missed.........
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
This could " Stump the Trunk ". Nobody knows about this band. Really cool licks and choppy riffs. Ray Gillen doesn't sing on all of the songs, but all of the songs rock. Drawbacks ? Only 8 songs, I wish there were more. Really a super group, Al Romano, Bill Cross, Adam Jacobs, Ray Gillen, Mike Starr, Bobby Rondinelli, Chris Cafferty, John Monte, Mike Sciotto, John McCoy and John West, were all in the band at on time or another. From 7-31-91 to 1-31-94 they recorded these 8 songs. Really good tunes. Not Metallica, but it has the chop and stop riffs on the guitars, the vocals wail, the leads shred, and the bass and drums all work together for some of the best early 90"s metal you've never heard. The Sun Red Sun - Sun Set triple C.D. is what I bought originally. This has 3 C.D.'s with all 8 of the same songs on all 3 discs, some just have the same song with 3 alternate versions. Not worth the money for my taste. I went back and bought the regular album. This is an unknown and under rated band and album. Buy it now.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Bought this for one reason and his name is Ray. Thought it would have more from Ray but its still cool to hear the songs he is on. Dont think its a full release with him becasue it is not.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Who you see on the cover is who put this album together. Al B Romano . He's from yonkers,NY. He was taught by the greats of our past Leslie West of Mountain & Ace Frehley of Ki77, heck the sun burst les paul in the fold out is the 1 he bought from ace after his living kiss in 1980. Anyway, it's a hard rock, metal droppen record from start to finish. If ur lucky you might ger the one with al & some of the guys at a ny radio station doing interviews. Mike Starrr, rest his soul played on here to. But this is listed as an import because the 1 player from england screwed al around & al gave him some rt.'s to use there, not here in america. I got every media site including media [player back in 05 to stop selling illegal down loads of this cd, so look up al on fb to find out if he has given the rt.'s for this to be sold. because he paid every one hundreds of thousands of $'s to play on his album !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I never heard of Ray Gillen until years after his death.Now I can't stop listening to him.His voice was up there with all the rest of best. If you grew up as a teen in the 80's metal scene you will wish you made it as a rock star with Ray's talent yourself,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
This is a rare recording that features a couple of amazing musicians. Mike Starr who was the bass player for Alice in Chains and then later appeared on Celebrity Rehab on Vh1 and Ray Gillen. Gillen was best known for his group Badlands that featured Jake E Lee of Ozzy Osbourne fame. Gillan later went on to perform with Black Sabbath he recorded a album with them that until recently was unreleased. This recording is a great moment that captures him at his best with powerful soul drenched vocals. If you are a fan of hard rock or a fan of Ray's this is a great piece to have.If not a fan but looking for some straight forward in your face rock this one is for you.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 1999
It's truly sad to see Al Romano try to ca$h in on the tragic death of Ray Gillen. Please don't give this man your money.
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.