sylvania CFL bulb burned out after a few months!! What is up with this CFL bulb? It burned out after a few MONTHS in a bathroom fixture where the previous regular bulb had lasted several YEARS because we hardly ever use that light. The CFLs are expensive, but I thought I was doing the right thing to conserve electricity. Now I have this burned-out bulb that I can't even throw away because of the mercury. This is nuts!!! I won't be buying any more of these.
asked by 13 Is the New 18 author on November 30, 2007
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 25 answers
A
I'm a retired electricsal engineer and senior member of the IEEE. Before retirement I worked in the electric power industry (specificsally hydropower).

Why don't GREEN advocates tell people the true total costs rather than just a small part of the costs of "saving the planet" when they try to convince (and if necessary force) everyone to save energy? It costs time, money, and energy (yours or the postal service's) to collect on a warranty. I have replaced all my incandescent bulbs with CFL bulbs, and am sorry I did. Despite the claim of 6,000-12,000 hour "typical" lifetimes (depending on manufacturer and bulb power rating), my experience is that CFL failure rates are atrocious, and not just in high on-off switching locations. I doubt if I will ever recover in lower energy costs what I spent perforing the changeout. And the planet won't be saved either. How much additional polution is created by the CFL manufacturing process over that of incandescents? If you don't recycle CFLs, you are adding to the mercury problem. If you do, you are adding to the transportation-generated polution (burning gasoline, diesel, or coal/fuel oil to recharge your electric vehicle). High failure rates mean the wasted bulbs in landfills will more than make up for lowered polution elsewhere.