Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, direct and supportive advice on weight loss
With obesity on the rise the way it is in this country, along with all of the fad diets and "get skinny fast" propaganda, it's truly refreshing to see a book on weight loss that is so honest, accurate, thoughtful and motivational - and not to mention funny all at the same time!

Kudos to Shannon Sorrels for telling it like it is, informing us and entertaining us...
Published on September 12, 2012 by Sandy Hawke

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont expect weight-loss advice or sympathetic words
If you are looking for weight loss advice, this is not the book for you. If you are however, looking for more of a (sometimes not-so-friendly) lecture about how our actions don't match our words when we 'say' we want to lose weight but make bad decisions toward that end, then this is a good read.
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, direct and supportive advice on weight loss, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
With obesity on the rise the way it is in this country, along with all of the fad diets and "get skinny fast" propaganda, it's truly refreshing to see a book on weight loss that is so honest, accurate, thoughtful and motivational - and not to mention funny all at the same time!

Kudos to Shannon Sorrels for telling it like it is, informing us and entertaining us at the same time. She explains the science of nutrition and fat-burning in a way that even us non-science geeks can understand, and remember. And her motivational, down-to-earth style make this such an interesting read... I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAUGH OUT LOUD AND IN YOUR FACE, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
This is a thoroughly entertaining and educational read.

Even people who do not need to lose weight or struggle with 5-10 lbs would benefit from this book.

The description of Erma Bombeck meets Dr Oz and Bob Green is perfect!

Love to laugh and learn at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY!!, September 22, 2012
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
.... a book that make me want to be healthy instead of a book that makes me dread dieting. Shannon speaks about real people thoughts on losing weight AND talks about how you can do it .... you REALLY CAN DO IT! Honest, funny, real, inspiring ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out with Complexity!, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
If I'm hawking a fad diet I'm worried about who might read this book. The simplicity and clarity with which Sorrels presents her research will surely lead to a positive impact to readers' wallets at the expense of fad diet pros' - likely with better, more sustainable benefits to readers as well. Her work is accessible, direct in its message and well-supported. Her colloquial, almost folksy style connects with readers on a personal level, like a conversation between friends. Such style may be necessary if you're to read the brutal truths presented throughout and *keep* reading!

The author cuts through years of hyper-marketed diet and exercise plans to bring you the truth: weight management really is simple in principle and is within reach of Everyman, but we manage to overcomplicate it to the point of making it very, very difficult. Sorrels zeroes in on core principles and helps readers to plan their own improvement with frank and honest intent. The content is well researched (and cited) and makes no effort to convince the reader that success will be easy. Instead she sets realistic expectations, outlines a simple plan and warns of common pitfalls and how to avoid or recover from them.

For anyone concerned with weight loss or even weight management, this book will be worth the cover price and much more. The only down side? Try recommending a book called "...Then Just Stay Fat" to someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Then Just Stay Fat, November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
There is nothing new in this book. You have heard it all before many times. However, the amusing way it is told, the truth and nothing but the truth, is very refreshing. I would have given it 5 stars, except at the very end, in the resources it gives you a link to a website that is trying to sell you something. The exact opposite of what the book states, you don't need to spend money to lose weight. I found that disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, simple, realistic advice, September 3, 2012
By 
Eric Miller (Tempe, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
A quick read that is sometimes harsh, sometimes funny, but always honest and useful. Everyone needs that friend that will tell them the truth, the truth they already know but don't want to hear. This book looks at the realities of weight gain and loss in our current society in a way that reminds me more of having coffee once a week with that honest and trusted friend then a miracle cure all book. Funny and refreshing, the points made are common sense or backed up by real facts.
I often thought the author was speaking directly to my situation because she gets what it is like to be overweight, to fight the battles, to look for magic fixes. With that understanding and some tough love, she outlines what it takes to change your priorities and habits to reduce your weight in a sustainable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling out loud what other people don't want to hear even as a whisper, April 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ...then just stay fat. (Paperback)
I'm not such of a reader but I went to Shannon's web site and watched her videos, they were very funny so I thought her book would be funny as well and it was.

There is nothing in this book which doesn't make common sense and it comes to the basic of eating less will bring your weight down, which is true. Add patience and persistence and you will be back to where you want to be.

Do you need to pay a fortune for that though? According to Shannon, probably not.

Advertisers are very clear of what they want: your money! And they will make you believe anything, even that the magic pill exists. They know for a fact that overweight people are an easy target and it is really easy to dupe them. I am not saying that they are stupid or anything but more likely they are sensitive to others' opinions and miracle solutions because dep down they don't want to be like this. Who wouldn't want to loose 50 pounds in a week or 2 after all?

Fortunately Shannon is here to open your eyes and do the math for you: eat less! To loose 50 pounds you need a 500 calorie / day deficit which will lead to a pound / week lost over time. It still will take you 50 weeks, not 2. Physics laws apply everyone, magic pills or not. Add to that some physical activities and you may be able to reduce the time it takes to shrink a bit.

Antoine Lavoisier (1743-1794) is often quoted for saying, "Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed." No miracles!

America is sick and has been for a while now costing billions of dollars every year to American citizens (thanks to fast food restaurants and easy access to everything either from home or cars).

Here are some facts:
*Early 20th century, leading causes of death were pneumonia/influenza, tuberculosis and gastritis. These 3 diseases accounted for more than 1/3rd of all deaths. Leading causes of death in the US in 2011 are heart disease, cancer, chronic respiratory, stroke and accidents due to smoking, high blood pressure, overweight, obesity, physical inactivity and high blood glucose.

*Today, 67% of US adults over age of 20 are overweight and 33% are obese. Prediction for 2030 is 1 adult out of 9 will be 100 pounds overweight.

*Obesity related medical care costs is estimated to $147 billion. The annual medical cost is $1,429 greater than normal BMI (<25).

The sad part is that people are still finding excuses for this trend. Would you rather have a nice iPhone 5 or use this money to get healthy? She is opening a can of worms that I hope will make people think twice.

Bottom line, if you need a wake up call, this is a book for you. If you still believe in miracles, then just stay fat!

Kudos Shannon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
This book was fun and helpful. Although I already know calories in/ calories out, the examples and helpful tools like the 4 Ps continue to pop up in my head. And that's what I need to help me remember my goals to be the healthiest person I can be. My journey (and maybe yours)has it's ups and downs but if I can stay on the positive road (most of the time)I can get to the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. It's all about the facts. If you want to be healthy/loss weight this book explains it in a brief and easy to understand style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, August 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
Hands down, the best book I have read on this subject. If you are tired of the gimmicks, read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, concise and to the point., September 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ... then just stay fat. (Kindle Edition)
Shannon's book is a relatively quick read and to the point. She has some of the latest research to back her and provides the information. It's nothing most people in the weight loss industry SHOULD know, but won't tell you because it's simple and not expensive. If you need an extra kick in the pants, I really reccomend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

... then just stay fat.
... then just stay fat. by Shannon Sorrels
$4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.