Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Literary Monument
I read somewhere that the admirers of "One Hundred Years of Solitude" (a novel that brought the Nobel Prize for Garcia in 1982) would be surprised to know that Gabriel Garcia Marquez has bettered it in the form of "Love in the Time of Cholera". Well, although I found the latter half of it a little cloggy, I was a great admirer of One Hundred Years of...
Published on January 5, 2001 by z_i_s@yahoo.com

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars damaged
The product arrived damaged. One half of page 76 was missing from the book. This is very disappointing considering the price of the book
Published 6 months ago by Paul Ferris


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Literary Monument, January 5, 2001
By 
z_i_s@yahoo.com (Islamabad, Pakistan) - See all my reviews
I read somewhere that the admirers of "One Hundred Years of Solitude" (a novel that brought the Nobel Prize for Garcia in 1982) would be surprised to know that Gabriel Garcia Marquez has bettered it in the form of "Love in the Time of Cholera". Well, although I found the latter half of it a little cloggy, I was a great admirer of One Hundred Years of Solitude. But after reading Love in the Time of Cholera, I think it's not fair to compare as different works of fiction as these two novels are, and it won't do any good to Garcia as well.
The only thing common to these two novels, however, is the prose of Garcia. He weaves, with the dexterity of a master craftsman, small characters and trifle incidents into the vast fabric of the novels. Effortlessly moving from character to character and incident to incident, he provides small pegs and footholds to the reader so that he could ascend, like a rock-climber, to his colossal literary monuments. This is especially true for Love in the Time of Cholera, where the reader is provided with a spectacular finale and one feels indeed like setting foot at the summit of Mount Everest after reading the novel. This is by far the best ending of a novel that I have read so far.
There are dozens of important characters in Love in the Time of Cholera but I think the two most important protagonists are Love and Time. And both of them are so intricately interwoven together that sometimes it becomes difficult to tell which is which -- like two shrubs that run up the length of a tall tropical tree. The love of Florentino Ariza, a thin and shy boy, for the beautiful but whimsical Fermina Daza is unlike any in the literature. And in order to have her, our hero must overcome time (half a century!), her aloofness and more than 400 love affairs! I guess even Hercules would have given up in face of these obstacles.
Unlike many other great writers, Garcia has little inhibitions. He is not ashamed of hiding emotions or sugarcoating his ideas; he simply does not believe in euphemisms. You can see everything in bare, harsh light: scars, warts, blemishes, all. Reminds one of ... Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mágico, genial, perfecto....etc. etc., October 14, 1999
By A Customer
Antes de comenzarlo sabía que me iba a gustar, porque ya había leído varias obras suyas, pero nunca imaginé que llegaría al extremo de no poder soltar el libro ni un minuto, porque una vez que comienzas a leerlo no puedes parar hasta terminarlo. Gabo narra sus historias con tanta magia, con tanto detalle y con tanto cuidado que logra ensimismarnos y meternos en lo más profundo del alma de los protagonistas, haciendo que vivamos la historia como si fuera la nuestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillante equilibrio entre un drama y una obra de humor, August 6, 2001
En una ciudad costera colombiana, entre los siglos XIX y XX, en une epoca en que el colera y las guerras civiles iban desangrando a Colombia de forma no muy diferente de como hoy en dia lo hacen las guerras de las drogas y la guerrilla, tiene lugar esta brillante pieza de literatura, obra del ganador del premio Nobel, Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
La persona simplista se atreveria a juzgar la novela apenas como una historia de amor, y ciertamente lo es. Pero tambien es mucho mas. Florentino Ariza y Fermina Daza viven separados durante cincuenta annos, a lo largo de los cuales transcurre la historia. Todo el tiempo, Florentino (un hombre extremadamente dramatico que ama la poesia y esta permanentemente vestido con atuendos casi funerarios sin prestar mayor atencion al calor del sol caribenno) se mantiene fiel al amor juvenil por Fermina que siente por dentro, a un mismo tiempo que vive una vida repleta de las mas descabelladas y comicas anecdotas de flirteo y pseudo-amor.

Fermina... bueno, eso es parte de la historia, y no lo voy a echar a perder, pero les puedo decir que le da mucho trabajo al pobre Florentino a lo largo de esos cincuenta annos, en unas ocasiones a sabiendas, en otras sin siquiera sospecharlo.
En todo momento, con el ir y venir de los personajes que me atrevo a llamar 'secundarios', tales como el doctor Juvenal Urbino, el tio Leon XII o Leona Cassiani, hay un personaje omnipresente, como lo es el medio ambiente que rodea a Florentino o Fermina. Hay incontables y exquisitos momentos a lo largo de la novela en que se solidariza con el estado de animo de Florentino, empezando a llover, por ejemplo, si el se siente triste. La sutileza con la cual Garcia Marquez logra esto es definitivamente un acto de genialidad literaria.
La novela resulta una obra que todo lector esta destinado a disfrutar plenamente: una de esas obras que sin duda alguna aguantaran el pasar del tiempo. No en vano es considerado uno de los mejores libros del siglo XX. Y pueden creerme: si no se rien a carcajadas al menos una docena de veces en el transcurso del libro, les va a costar trabajo conseguir ALGO en la vida que los haga reir.
Con los ojos cerrados: comprenlo, y disfrutenlo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stroke of genius......, October 27, 2004
By 
One Hundred Years of Solitude is definitely my favorite book of all times. Since I considered I had read Gabo's masterpiece, I never got to reading Love in the Times of Cholera, until now.

A few days ago, I read Memoria de mis Putas Tristes, which came out about a week ago, and when writing a review, I thought too bad the book is not 900 pages long. Then, hungry for more divine prose and magic realism, I remembered Love in the Times of Cholera. I suddenly had 500 more pages of Gabo.

The book turns out to be a 50+ year long love story, superbly written as most of what Gabo has written. The prose grabs you and does not let you go until the very last line.

Every now and then, one reads a sentence in a book and wonders how much feeling, effort, expeience and luck it takes to word something so beautifully. This does not happen too often, and sometimes you go through numerous books without finding one of these, regardless of who the author is. Well, let me just say that there is one of theses magical sentences in just about every single page of Love in the Times of Cholera. The novel is like a bottle of excellent wine....each sip tastes better than the last one. This book will leave you with a sensation od deep, pleasant intoxication.

How does it compare to One Hundred Years? It's simply different. Even though time is probably the main character in both novels, while there's more magic in One Hundred Years, there's more love and passion in Love in the Times of Cholera.

I am left with the exact same feeling after reading every one of Gabo's boks: how the hell does he do it every time?

Don't miss out on the pleasure produced by this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un libro maravilloso que revive la fuerza del amor, August 7, 2002
By 
oriana morales (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
He leido dos veces este libro y sin duda que la emocion y sentimientos que aflora en mi son indescriptibles. Por medio de la excelente narracion de Gabriel Garcia Marquez uno se va envolviendo en el mundo de Fermina Daza y Florentino Ariza, uno sufre el dolor del amor no correspondido y disfruta del reencuentro despues de tantos años. Es una historia maravillosa de paciencia y generosidad, es una historia que nos lleva por los caminos del verdadero amor aquel que espera, aquel que en silencio se va fortaleciendo, aquel que se alimenta de pequeños detalles. Si todos tuviesemos esa capacidad de amar!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best love stories ever told, November 19, 2007
This review is from: El amor en los tiempos del cólera (Oprah #59) (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
This is my second favorite book of all time (the first is One Hundred Years of Solitude (Cien Años de Soledad Spanish Version) by the same author). It tells the story of lovesick Florentino, who has waited for the love of his life, Fermina, for 50 years. Fermina was married to Dr. Juvenal Urbino and therefore unavailable. Their love story began through letters. But then Fermina rejects Florentino because she feels their relationship was naive. She is forced to marry Dr. Urbino by her father. When Dr. Urbino dies, Florentino comes back into Fermina's life and tells her he has waited for her all these years. Then, their correspondence continues and their love grows again.

Garcia Marquez has written an amazing love story that employs elements of magical realism. This only make the story better and even more amazing. This love story is as no other, and only Garcia Marquez could have written such an amzing book. The characters are so well written that they come alive in the pages of this book.

I read the book in Spanish and I reccommend that if you understand Spanish, to read this book in its original language. Although the English translation is good, I feel the Garcia Marquez touch, the "it" that makes this story what it is may get lost in the translation.

This is a book that everyone should read and I cannot reccommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Una de las imperdibles, September 10, 2004
Al terminar de leer este libro, me quedé con la impresión de seguir leyéndolo, de querer más de esta historia. Quizás la esencia de la misma, una promesa de amor que perdura en el tiempo, suene algo cursi para muchos. Pero a veces esas cosas tan simples de imaginar y tan difíciles de encontrar en la vida real son las que nos llevan a soñar en que los amores imposibles muchas veces llegan a ser posibles.

Después de más de cincuenta años después de haberle jurado su incondicional amor, Florentino Ariza logra estar junto a Fermina Daza, a raiz de la muerte de su esposo, un doctor de una familia rica y de alto nivel social. Aunque Florentino no le guardó fidelidad absoluta durante esa espera -era de esperar, ya que de otro modo hubiese sido demasiado inverosímil que permaneciera tantos años solo- este personaje siempre se las ingeniaba para estar cerca de su amor.

Una grandiosa combinación de humor sarcástico -realmente fascinante y magistralmente conjurado por García Márquez-, momentos y frases -llamémosles cursis por no decir románticos- y una historia que mágicamente me llegó a transportar al lugar de los hechos, imaginando cada detalle del entorno de la pareja, desde la comodidad de la casa de Fermina, hasta esa embarcación en la que la pareja de ya ancianos, terminan la historia.

Lo que recuerdo más claramente de este libro es la frase "lo único que no me dolería de morir, sería morir de amor" propia de Florentino, con la cual se puede describir por completo el contexto de la historia.

Uno de los libros que llevaría conmigo a todas partes, y por supuesto, muy recomendable para aquellas personas que se inician en la lectura.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A love could survive all the life., March 6, 1997
By A Customer
Una historia marcada por el amor que se sueña y que
motiva a cualquiera a salir viviendo...seguir respirando.
Materializar un amor, un verdadero amor, es una tarea
complicada y que puede durar toda la vida. Atarse a
una ilusión es destructivo, una muerte silenciosa del
espíritu, pero que es el alimento para despertar cada
mañana.
Gabo fluye en cada palabra, su pasión es desmedida
y la esperanza jamás desfallece.

Ricardo F. Jasso Viver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El Mejor Libro de Garcia Marquez, January 13, 2001
By 
Johnny Borjas S (Tegucigalpa,D.C, Francisco Morazan Honduras) - See all my reviews
Encontrar este libro en mi pais me llevo un año ya que estaba agotado cuando al fin lo logre obtener me di cuenta porque en una entrevista que le hicieron recientemente para un documental de television a Garcia Marquez afirmo que era el mejor libro que habia escrito,no cien años de soledad como la gente piensa sino este libro,la verdad que he leido la mayoria de ellos y estoy de acuerdo que este es el mejor que ha escrito hasta el dia de hoy.EXCELENTE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amor complejo, August 4, 2001
By 
Perspicaz (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Una profunda historia de amor. Un escenario exotico, antiguo, de anticuadas costumbres y superticiones, donde sentimientos y valores son todavia muy contemporaneos. Dos personajes distintos, Fermina Daza, la mas plantada en la realidad. Florentino Ariza, el eterno so~nador, un poco pervertido y amante del sexo. Garcia-Marquez se vale de una historia de amor para explorar temas complejos, y tabues en el mundo latinoamericano, tales como el abuso infantil y la violacion. Este es una historia de amor atipica, nace en un amante cincuenta a~nos despues que en el otro. Esta es una de esas joyas literarias que uno atesora y de vez en cuando saca del cofre de la memoria para admirarla. Leela.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

El amor en los tiempos del cólera (Oprah #59) (Spanish Edition)
El amor en los tiempos del cólera (Oprah #59) (Spanish Edition) by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - October 9, 2007)
$15.95 $13.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.