Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Keith Sweat
Keith Sweat has been in the game at least commercially for just about 25 years. When he took a break back in the early 2000's I thought Keith would never come back. As a follower of my favorite artists, I was pleasantly surprised when he came back with the album Just Me which I absolutely love. Fast forward to 2010 and Ridin Solo was released and I like many others,...
Published on November 17, 2011 by Ensaeshah

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but rather generic.
** and 1/2 stars.
Compared to 2010's Ridin' Solo, "Til the Morning" features considerably less use of Auto-Tune, but Keith Sweat links up with the device's greatest beneficiary, T-Pain. Ironically, T-Pain was in diapers when Sweat was using vocal effects, and on their collaboration here, the excessively garbled "In the Middle", the latter sounds like a featured...
Published on November 11, 2011 by apricots & jazz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Keith Sweat, November 17, 2011
By 
Ensaeshah "j73ce" (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
Keith Sweat has been in the game at least commercially for just about 25 years. When he took a break back in the early 2000's I thought Keith would never come back. As a follower of my favorite artists, I was pleasantly surprised when he came back with the album Just Me which I absolutely love. Fast forward to 2010 and Ridin Solo was released and I like many others, although happy for a new release, felt something was missing. Now in 2011 Keith comes back with Til The Morning a collection of songs that recaptures what Keith Sweat stands for which is grown and sexy R&B music. Keith readily acknowledges staying true to himself and only ventures into new territory musically occasionally which to us Keith Sweat fans that is just fine.

Til the Morning offers some vintage Keith Sweat sounding songs that in my opinion can rival his second album "I'll give all my love to you". As Keith has acknowledged nothing will ever compare to "Make it Last Forever" but this collection is just as good as some of Keith's best hits. Notable songs on this collection is "Knew it all along" with Johnny Gill and adlibs by Gerald Levert or Eddie Levert depending on how you hear the adlibs. A great song that truly shows the magic of LSG. "High as the sun" a sexy mood maker if there ever was one. "Make you say oooh" which is another vintage sounding Sweat song. One of my favorites that I can't get out of my head is "Open Invitation", there is something about the melody that takes me back to early Keith Sweat. "My Valentine" is another good song with Coko from SWV.

Unlike Ridin Solo, Keith stays away from the auto tune which is a good thing with the exception of the Tpain assisted to the middle. An ok track, but whatever this auto tune is of today it doesn't sound like auto tune of yesteryear. Keith needs T. Riley for that. Overall an excellent vintage Sweat album that reminds everyone that Keith isn't going anywhere anytime soon. And for us fans who grew up on Keith Sweat we are grateful for that. By the way, get the Best Buy version for 3 extra bonus track well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Awesome!!, May 7, 2012
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
Anyone who is a fan of Keith will not be disappointed. This CD was absolutely awesome!!! The music is new but the sound is classic for a time that had been in someways forgotten. I just received this cd last week and I am already a huge fan of "My Valentine". If you have never been a fan, just take a chance... it might get addictive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but rather generic., November 11, 2011
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
** and 1/2 stars.
Compared to 2010's Ridin' Solo, "Til the Morning" features considerably less use of Auto-Tune, but Keith Sweat links up with the device's greatest beneficiary, T-Pain. Ironically, T-Pain was in diapers when Sweat was using vocal effects, and on their collaboration here, the excessively garbled "In the Middle", the latter sounds like a featured guest, not the headliner.
"Knew It All Along", a drifting ballad featuring LSG mates Johnny Gill and the late Gerald Levert, and the fine Coko (SWV) duet "My Valentine" are the only other songs with featured vocal spots.
However, Sweat is once again assisted by so many (sometimes credited) background singers that one can drop into the album at various points, listen for a few seconds, and hear nothing but other voices. The occasionally pleasing album is mostly slow jam territory with functional and tasteful productions that are sometimes enhanced with low-key synthesizer work. A. Kellman

Ridin' Solo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The strongest Sweat album in a long while, November 8, 2011
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
I've been a Keith Sweat from his first album on, stuck with him through thick and thin, hit and miss. And lately, his albums have been more miss than hit. And while none of them were bad, they felt rather listless. That Sweat formula was largely still there, but not always. When he strayed away from the tried and true bass-heavy formula, he felt like an old, outdated guy trying to run with the young kids.

And not since the late 1990s has Sweat really put together a solid, listenable album that both entertains and impresses.

While his new album may not wow listeners, when compared to his last 10 years of recording, this is a standout album. It makes me forgive his rather inconsistent and soft output over this last several albums. I had found that his Christmas album was his strongest disc as of late, which is not a good thing for an artist.

It seems that here, on " 'Til the Morning," Sweat tapped back into what made his earlier music so magical. He kept it nice and simple, and it felt like the old days. Bass-heavy mix, drum machine and noodling keyboards with heavy doses of that yearning vocal style Sweat is known for.

There may be a sameness in tone, lyrics and melody throughout the album that may turn away any newcomers. And it may even have some longtime fans saying, "It sounds the same as just about everything else he's done." For a longtime fan like me, that suits me just fine.

Instead of chasing the trends, Sweat just goes back to the style he virtually patented. In doing so, he sounds more inspired and the music more airy and fresh than he's sounded in many years now.

While I'll stop short of saying that Sweat was growing stuffy and stale, it sounds like he opened the windows and got the fans running with this new album.

Unfortunately, the only misstep is the middling track "To the Middle." Sweat should have stayed away from the middle, because here, he uses the dreaded autotune. Unsurprisingly, that track features T-Pain, who's practically Mr. Autotune. And ironically, it sounds like T-Pain raps here without autotune. This song sticks out for the wrong reasons. Sweat never should have made such a concession because he never needed autotune, and he doesn't need it now or ever.

But the rest of the album (and the other songs with guest appearances: "Knew It All Along," featuring Johnny Gill and Gerald Levert, and "My Valentine," a duet with Coke of SWV) more than make up for that single presence of autotune.

Sweat fans, especially ones disappointed like me with his more recent output, should definitely add this to their collection. It's a strong return to form.

(Note: Best Buy is selling an exclusive version, with three bonus tracks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool CD, June 30, 2014
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
Keith Sweat has not lost his touch. I still a smooth R&B singer. You gotta get this CD. You'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love......, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
Awesome CD by the Sweat Doctor!!! LOVE me some Keith Sweat!!! This is old school Keith Sweat!!! LOVE!!!! I would buy from this Co. again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 'til The Morning (MP3 Music)
as always you can't find a bad track on a Keith Sweat cd. Johnny gill and Gerald Levert make this a special one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
Nice cd and Keith has some good artists on this cd as well. I would reccommend. thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Keith!, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 'til The Morning (MP3 Music)
This is some of the best work that Keith Sweat has done! The album is smooth from start finish. Excellent work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keith Sweat fan, October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Til The Morning (Audio CD)
I love Keith Sweat since 2006 trying to get all his albums I hope his new album comes out in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

'til The Morning
'til The Morning by Keith Sweat
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.