Apple iPod nano 8 GB Black (4th Generation)  (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Used & New from: $59.00
Is it true that iPod's will only sinc to one computer? HELP? I am totally new to iPods/mp3 players and am afraid I didn't do enough research before asking for one for Christmas. I am a music lover and find myself constantly changing radio stations. And I hate buying CD's for just one song. I live in the country and only am able to get REALLY slow dial up internet so downloading has been out of the question. I have wanted the portability of an iPod for a long time but never took the plunge because of my internet situation until now.

I am planning on getting a laptop with a wireless connection in the future (probably not until around Oct.09 though) but thought in the meantime that I could use my work computer for downloading to my iPod. I just read somewhere this morning that I can only sinc it to one computer though. So here are my questions now...

1. Is it true that it can only sinc to one computer or have I misunderstood?
2. What happens when you "upgrade" your computer or heaven forbid it were to crash...What then...Is your iPod no good?
3. If it is true that it can only sinc to one computer is there any way around that?
4. And what if you were to sell it or buy a used one? How does that work if it will only sinc to one computer.

Please any help is greatly appreciated. I was soooo excited to have my first iPod and am now totally bummed and thinking I should return it.
asked by S. Voorhees on December 29, 2008
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 answers
A
votes
1. Yes, its true you can only sync it to one computer.
2. If your computer crashes, your iPod can still be good, only if you brought all your songs off iTunes.
3. There's no way around that.
4. It syncs to whatever computer, with those songs.
ex: you have 100 songs