Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
5 star
73%
4 star
27%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2009
Whether you're a seasoned Twitter user or a newcomer, this book will pump you up and lead you to new resources. Julio Ojeda-Zapata packs this little book with examples of why people and companies Tweet, and how they do it.

He documents dozens of corporate Twitter users including Zappos, Best Buy, Home Depot, Starbucks, Sprint Nextel, Comcast, JetBlue, and Whole Foods. H&R Block uses Twitter as a customer-support tool, a public-relations tool, and a product-development tool. Customers tweet about what they like and don't like about the company's online services and desktop software. A "Twitter lesson" follows each case study.

I found really helpful Ojeda-Zapata's descriptions of Twitter-related services, including Tweet Scan, Twellow, TwitScoop, The Social Brand Index, and Twitterati.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2009
If you have little experience with Twitter, then this book will help you understand the impact that social media is having on business. having real-world examples of businesses using Twitter is an excellent method for teaching the reader about Twitter. The book is conversational (a quick read) and not written like a novel. I was going to lend this book to a friend, but I decided to keep it as a reference tool next to my computer. Well done!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
****
This is a completely business-oriented book about Twitter, ideal for those companies and small business owners wondering, "Why" and "How can something so simple as a 140 character status update be useful to my business?" This book answers this question and provides many helpful examples of companies large and small who use Twitter, describing exactly how they have benefited. It gives you many ideas about how Twitter can be used to help you in business, no matter what type of work you do.

The book includes a nice resource section called "Twitter Tips, Tricks and Tools". The book is a quick read, and quite short (135 pages), but to the point and well worth the expense. I just read another Twitter book called "Twitter Revolution" and found that there was not a huge amount of overlap; both books helped me to understand what the Twitter phenomenon is all about and how to use it for myself. If you're serious about using Twitter for business, get both.

Recommended.
****
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2008
The name of the social media tool, Twitter, sounds like a complete waste of time from the first blush. It's not. Millions of people are using Twitter 24/7 for business.

With fascinating detail, Julio Ojeda-Zapata has created a page-turner with plenty of creative fodder to teach readers about the business uses of Twitter. As he explains on page 5, "Twitter means business. That is, a service initially meant for informal communication between individuals has recently become the darling of businesses, large and small. Such firms are finding the "Twitterverse" a fine place to keep an eye on their brands, and what is said about them."

If you wonder about the numbers, just look on page 9: "according to site-analytics service Compete, Twitter saw more than 2.5 million unique visitors as of August 2008, a 443 percent increase over the previous year."

Throughout the book, Ojeda-Zapata captures the various applications in "Twitter Lessons" which are scattered throughout the book. With little effort, the reader will easily be able to apply these Twitter uses to their own business.

I quickly highlighted and flagged my copy of TWITTER MEANS BUSINESS. I want to use it as a reference which I will use repeatedly until the lessons in this book become second nature to my own business use of this valuable tool.

The one missing piece in TWITTER MEANS BUSINESS is a thorough index but this lack can be filled in with a later edition of the title. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to open new opportunities for their business through Twitter. @terrywhalin
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2009
For anyone who twitters, Julio Ojeda-Zapata's book, Twitter means Business: How Microblogging can Help or Hurt your Company, is for you. For anyone who doesn't yet twitter, this book would be damned good for you.

I have been on Twitter myself for about a year or so and I really had not yet figured out the benefit, other than social. For instance, quite often when I would tweet some information here in Bangkok my aunt in Arkansas, quite literally halfway around the world, would receive the information on her phone. (A "tweet" is Twitter lingo for a short message on Twitter - all tweets are 140 characters or less). This benefit was very clear. But Julio Ojeda-Zapata really opened my eyes.

First of all, the author has shown the reader how companies can use Twitter to help repair their image service wise. The example he gives is how Comcast keeps an eye on what people tweet about them and then they would follow up on complaints. Other companies such as JetBlue, Zappos and Whole Foods use Twitter in different ways ranging from getting out information their businesses want their customers to know, to using Twitter as a way for employees to communicate with one another, down to promoting customer loyalty. There was one great example where Zappos promoted a cocktail reception for Twitterers with their CEO in San Francisco.

On top of the great examples of the many ways these companies are using Twitter near the end of the book Julio Ojeda-Zapata also gives us lots of information on Twitter applications that help us to greater integrate Twitter into our social media and also to make it a more effective means of getting the word out. I have been working on these since I finished the book.

Personally I have to say that I thought the chapter that concerned the author's coverage of the Republican National Convention in Minneapolis entirely by tweets (over 700 of them in the end) was not only fascinating but was also a clear sign of how Twitter is used to get the word out, not only for the news, but also on policy. Did you know that as of the writing of Julio Ojeda-Zapata's book that the number one account being followed on Twitter was Barack Obama? More than 100,000 people were following his tweets.

There was one issue that I do think that the author should have taken a bit more precaution with and that has to do with one chapter that he wrote with tweets from his Twitter connections... I don't know whether this was something that was overlooked or whether it was something that was considered but was decided best left alone but the chapter in question was a bit unintelligible, especially when people where responding to the tweets of others. What was the source of my confusion? Simple. Julio Ojeda-Zapata left the tweets in order that he received them rather than the order that one would normally read a book. So in this case I think it might not have been spelled out clearly enough that if the reader really wanted to get the most out of this chapter he should start from the beginning (bottom) and read the tweets backward. Then it makes more sequential sense.

Nevertheless, this was a wonderful book to read because it really opened my eyes about Twitter on a business and a personal level. It also was short enough I could read it in an afternoon. If you think that your company should be in the Twitterverse and you are considering a policy regarding Twitter then I highly recommend that you buy this book!
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2008
This slim volume was written by Julio Ojeda-Zapata and published by HappyAbout.info. It is designed to be a How-To and Why-To for those who have no idea what Twitter is, why Twitter is and how it can work for your company.

jojeda, as he's known on Twitter, uses a very natural, conversational style in his writing. He provides a variety of examples where companies such as Comcast, JetBlue, Zappos, and others have turned negative tweets into positive results. These simple, basic, one-on-one services have been re-Tweeted through the Twitterverse, giving a warm human touch to an otherwise cold corporate image.

"twitter means business" also offers some good, basic information on setting a Twitter account, searching for others to follow, and how to use this microblogging social networking platform successfully. It's not just a 140 character statement answering the question "What are you doing?" It's connecting with people and businesses across the globe, sharing industry news, your perspectives, networking with people in a manner you've never considered before.

I was able to sit down with this book and devour it in no time. It is an easy read with relevant content. "twitter means business" is a great resource for using the program and explaining why businesses are smart to join in the conversation. I will be able to use the information in this book to improve my Twitter performance, post quality, and better follow potential clients.

What are you doing?
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2008
With all the twitter about Twitter this book cuts through the jargon as the stand out book for this social media power tool

Shut Up! and Listen to Yourself
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2008
Does a find job of summarizing many of the current success stories in the Twitterverse. Could have had more information on the tools businesses use to manage those successes -- Had to wait until the last chapter for "So, how do I do this?" Nonetheless, a very worthwhile book for business-people trying to figure out this new phenomenon.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2008
Julio Ojeda-Zapata knows Twitter.

In fact, he might even be considered a Master of the "Twitterverse," the online space where Twitter users swap short messages, or "tweets" via the Web or cellphone text messaging.

As one of his early Twitter followers, I can attest firsthand that he has harnessed this emerging communications medium to become well-connected and better known by his peers and business contacts.

In "Twitter Means Business," Julio draws on his experience and knowledge as a Twitter pioneer -- and also taps some of the expert contacts he cultivated using Twitter -- to provide a solid, practical overview of the service and its applicability for professionals.

"Twitter Means Business" is a great starting point for newcomers to Twitter, especially business communicators who want to understand how to use this powerful, increasingly popular new platform to listen to and converse with their customers. In addition to explaining the basic "how-tos" of getting started with a Twitter account, it arms readers with case studies and evidence that can help convince skeptical managers that Twitter isn't just another fad, and that it can be a powerful tool for establishing and building customer relationships.

Befitting a service that limits users to short, punchy messages, "Twitter Means Business" is a quick read, but one that provides a thorough review of an important new addition to the business communications toolbox.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2009
TWITTER MEANS BUSINESS by Julio Ojeda is absolutely first rate. The writer's style makes it eminently readable and entertaining, even for those not totally familiar with the subject.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.