Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, beautiful, and funny
I've read a few of these celeb memoirs and this ranks up there with the best of them. With the tragedy of Mackenzie Phillips' recent memoir combined with the readability of Tori Spelling's sToritelling, Jodie's humor and frank self awareness grab you from the very first page. Indeed, I picked this up at the bookstore yesterday and opening it up in the afternoon found...
Published on November 4, 2009 by Bookbin

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little bit lacking...
First I want to say that I am a big fan of Jodie Sweetin's. I hope for and pray that she's able to stay clean both for herself and for her baby. And I applaud her for the progress she's made. Not having walked in her footsteps I can't even begin to fathom what she's gone through in her life. I also enjoyed her Full House stories and photos - it's clear she's not bitter...
Published on November 25, 2009 by Jodee


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, beautiful, and funny, November 4, 2009
By 
Bookbin (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unsweetined (Hardcover)
I've read a few of these celeb memoirs and this ranks up there with the best of them. With the tragedy of Mackenzie Phillips' recent memoir combined with the readability of Tori Spelling's sToritelling, Jodie's humor and frank self awareness grab you from the very first page. Indeed, I picked this up at the bookstore yesterday and opening it up in the afternoon found myself so swept away that by the time I looked up I found myself a third of the way through the book. It's easy to forget how big Full House was (and still is in syndication) and what it could mean to a young girl growing up on set. How that family becomes just as important as the one at home - especially when in Jodie's case, you're adopted. Drugs so often fill the void, but shocking is just how well she hid it from all her loved ones - especially her cop husband. Salvation so often comes in the promise of the future and Jodie was no exception; her daughter became her saving grace. I recommend this book for fans of the show certainly (no other book has gone behind the scenes of Full House that I can recall), but also for mothers wondering about the inner lives of their daughters, young women who may feel awkward around others but also those young women whose popularity has become a burden, wondering where to draw the line. Finally, this is just for people looking for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the unsweetened jodie sweetin, November 6, 2009
This review is from: Unsweetined (Hardcover)
Jodie Sweetin's memoir "UnSweetined" chronicles her life as Stephanie Tanner on the late eighties early nineties hit show Full House, her troublesome adolescence, and her adult foray into a destructive lifestyle involving frequent partying, drinks, and drugs. Unlike popular perception, as Sweetin shares, her long run on a hit TV show didn't guarantee her an acting future--if anything, being associated with Stephanie only hampered her efforts, as showbiz refused to recognize her as anything but her TV persona. One of the tales Sweetin shares is going to audition for a new role and being asked to reprise her Stephanie Tanner catchphrase from the show, "how rude!" Jodie complies, but still doesn't get the role she auditioned for. Disappointed, she tries to live a regular teenage life and attend high school--only to feel she doesn't fit in. Ultimately, Sweetin craves the stability she had on Full House but fails to achieve it in her real life.

While attending her former castmate Candace Cameron's wedding, a year after the show has gone off the air, Sweetin gets drunk and savors the temporary confidence alcohol gives her. Even though Jodie was only fourteen years old at the time, this surprise affection for alcohol eventually leads her down the wrong path--involving heavy drug use, constant partying, and frequent running away from her past. Sweetin barely makes it through college, graduating with a degree in elementary education, before her life spins out of control. Even getting married at twenty to a police officer and attempting the life of a homemaker doesn't help. Sweetin hides her drug use from Shaun, and eventually winds up in rehab. Her second husband Cody and the birth of their daughter Zoie only complicate matters.

I found this book entertaining and ultimately heartbreaking. Jodie doesn't run away from her mistakes, and gradually has to pay for them. My favorite part of the book was the first half, when she describes her years on Full House working with her famous co-stars (Bob Saget, John Stamos, and the Olsen twins to name a few), meeting celebrities, and experiencing all the perks that come from starring on a hit TV show. The book also has color photos from Jodie's life, and, in the end, a cute letter to her daughter. Overall, Jodie's raw honesty provides an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little bit lacking..., November 25, 2009
By 
Jodee (Des Moines, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unsweetined (Hardcover)
First I want to say that I am a big fan of Jodie Sweetin's. I hope for and pray that she's able to stay clean both for herself and for her baby. And I applaud her for the progress she's made. Not having walked in her footsteps I can't even begin to fathom what she's gone through in her life. I also enjoyed her Full House stories and photos - it's clear she's not bitter about the show that made her famous, as other child stars have been known to be.

It definitely was interesting, and I read the book in 3 days. That said, I wasn't too impressed with her memoir. It's clear she's had a lot of ups and downs (way downs) and her story itself is impressive. But the writing seemed rushed at times. I also question the reasoning behind writing her story now when so many things are still up in the air. As she said, she relapsed while she was writing the book, and her divorce from her second husband is still ongoing (and she definitely pulled her punches when describing how their marriage fell apart.)

I think this had a lot of potential and with a little more time, could have been much better. As it is, it is good and I would recommend it, but I hope to see and hear more in the future from Jodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick beach read. Was hoping for more depth, but it's another standard memoir., April 18, 2010
By 
cinemagirl (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unsweetined (Hardcover)
Don't buy this book for juicy "Full House" tidbits; it's a small portion of this book. The only interesting parts involving the show's cast: Jodie getting drunk with one of the Olsens at John Stamos' rented pad; the "full circle" moment filming her very last scene of the show; and Mary-Kate Olsen ignoring her at a restaurant opening in L.A., which Jodie attributes to their similarities (rehab). It's a very fast and easy read that's perfect for a plane ride or a day at the beach. The writing is repetitive and full of trite statements ("I had hit rock bottom"; "you could cut the tension with a knife"), and one can't help but think that the speedy publication of this book is due to her current financial troubles (custody battles cost money). There are excellent memoirs out there that detail addiction with great self-awareness, allowing readers to understand what drug issues really entail beyond the stereotype, beyond the Lifetime Movie set. Unfortunately, Jodie's memoir is pedestrian and like many that end up in the sales bin. It's your average, fill-in-the-blanks fare that offers nothing new.

Her story is frustrating, inducing many eye-rolls. She tells of her turbulent relationships with druggie friends, boyfriends, her two ex-husbands, and her parents. The book goes like this: she parties in L.A., Las Vegas, New York, and North Carolina, drinking lots of alcohol and doing weed, cocaine, Ecstacy, and meth. She blows her "Full House" residuals and speaking engagement paychecks by paying for drugs, hotels, and table service at clubs, amassing leeching friends along the way. She hits rock bottom. She realizes she has to change her life. She enters programs. Then, at either a dinner or a party, she tells herself that just one drink won't hurt, that one hit is just what she needs to take the edge off. Of course, she can't stop at just one, and she plunges back into the hole. She then tells the reader she realized she was wrong and that she really needed to get her act together. Then, at another dinner or party, she tells herself it's okay for one drink or one hit. The book goes on ad nauseum like that, as if she needs to repeat these episodes just to fill pages: party, sober, just one can't hurt, repeat. Of course, this happens with addiction, the constant cycle, but the repetition in this book is lazy and comes with no real reflection or true moments of clarity. Meanwhile, she dates loser after loser. While she resented the Susie Homemaker life with her homebody first husband, a police officer, with her second husband, Cody Herpin, Jodie writes that she wanted to just stay home with him and cook and have a normal family life. This shift is a good opportunity for Jodie to expound on what prompted this change; instead, she quickly moves on to the saga of her surprise pregnancy. Suddenly, baby Zoie changed her life, and she determined to be sober because there was a new life growing inside her. It is banal and a complete cop-out (not that it cannot be true, but instead of making this story her own, she goes the generic Lifetime route). The last part of her book reads like a template for other memoirs. Her most successful sobriety attempt thus far (114 days sober on the day that she turned in the manuscript) deserves more space and reflection in the book. Instead, the last part of the book is extremely rushed, attempting to end the book neatly and pat like a "Full House" episode: baby Zoie was born, changed her life, and though she slipped temporarily, she's sober now. She doesn't truly delve into her own light bulb moment. In a few lines, she simply states that her baby forced her to sober up.

One comes away from the book with the feeling that Jodie really hasn't hit that light bulb moment. Intellectually, she knows that drugs, alcohol, and certain people are destructive (she parrots this tirelessly in the book), but nothing in the book indicates that she "gets it" yet. There are too many pat statements, too many aphorisms. The book has the same vibe as "Behind the Bell" by Dustin Diamond--a former child star fallen upon hard times needs a quick buck and decides to write a quick memoir without any real self-reflection behind it. No doubt that Jodie has had a tough but interesting life. Everyone knows about the stereotype of the former child star: growing up and no longer being cute; casting directors and audiences unable to see past your catch phrase; drinking and drugs; rehab; financial trouble. There are dozens of stories out there. Jodie could have written a unique and contemplative memoir; after all, we all know the stereotype. How about a real look beyond that from someone who has had so many ups and downs? How interesting her story could have been given the squeaky-clean sitcom that defined many people's childhoods. But Jodie offers nothing more than a sanitized and cliched account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miracle, July 20, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: unSweetined: A Memoir (Paperback)
The things that impress me the most about Jodie's story is, 1) she survived, 2) she never had a run-in with the law, and 3) she was never the victim of a violent crime. If she suffers any physical or mental after-effects of her abuses she doesn't mention it. It's not a long story; she's not very old, after all, and her bad times didn't last a very long time. She didn't have the type of traumatic early childhood that, say, Drew Barrymore had. But nevertheless it's a jaw-dropping story. The money spent is unreal. At least once she listed a recipe of all the drugs she had in her body at any given time and that, too, is eye-popping. How this girl managed not to overdose, not to wrap her car around a tree, not to do any jail-time, not to be raped or worse is miraculous. If the story seems vague or hurried at times, those times when she was on multi-week benders, it's probably because she doesn't remember most of it. She focuses a good deal on her many recovery attempts, and I got the impression that she spent nearly as much time trying to recover as she did high. My heart went out to her much beleaguered parents, though she really hardly ever mentions them. (I admit, I would like to see her parents write their own, brief story about what they went through and how they handled their ordeal, watching their grown daughter destroy herself.) Fortunately, her solid, loving upbringing comes back to her just at the right time and for the moment, seems to be on the right path. It's written in a very informal, conversational tone. It's a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beloved Full House star recounts her journey from being one of America's sweethearts to a life of drug abuse and recovery, September 22, 2010
This review is from: unSweetined (Kindle Edition)
One day, in a fit of curiosity, I did a search for Jodie Sweetin's name on Google. While I was typing it, Google suggested a few autocomplete options, amongst which was something like "Jodie Sweetin meth addict". Enter "UnSweetined". UnSweetined, like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, begins in the middle of the action. Jodie Sweetin, once a seven year-old crush of mine, had grown into a full-fledged meth addict; a far cry from her co-star on the show, Candice Cameron, who married a wonderful hockey player. Jodie Sweetin, the beloved Stephanie Tanner, immediately uses the "F-word" and regales us with a story riddled with illicit drug use, drunk driving, and house music, all of which occurred mere hours before a speech she would give at a university about overcoming drug addiction. I was hooked. Where would these adventures take our Stephanie? Not very far, it turns out. I expected a wild ride through Jodie's life, but what I received instead was a poorly written list of braggadocios about how smart she thinks she is, how awesomely deceitful she was (she uses the word "slick", but it's really just deceit), and how fancy her rehab facilities were. When I finally finished reading it, I felt terrible. Not because of the hardships that she went through in order to recover from her addiction, but because the sheer amount of money that was spent on her attempts at recovery could bring dozens of addicts out of their rut if the money had been properly allocated to them. At its heart, UnSweetined is an honest autobiography, but I don't think that we should praise it for the sake of being honest, since that, to me, seems to be the bare minimum when writing an autobiography. There's not much else going on here though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More like a jumbled diary than detailed memoir, January 22, 2012
By 
Lindsey Di Napoli (Monticello, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: unSweetined (Kindle Edition)
First, I want to say I enjoyed this book for what it was - a quick recount of Jodie Sweentin's rise to fame, struggle to remain normal and fall into the world of drugs.

The book was a fast read for me, and while it contained many interesting memories, I found it hard at a lot of points to connect with the story and the pain Jodie was going through. If you are expecting a well executed memoir, than this is not the book for you. There was an extreme lack of details.

I wanted to so badly to love this book and get lost into her world, but while Jodie provided us with a basic outline of things that happened I was unable to picture half of what she spoke about. She talks about different friends from her drug abuse days, rehab and relapse but she never describes these friends. I have no idea what most of these people looked like - even her two husbands! She talk about smoking meth for the first time with some people from Long Beach, but I have no clue what these people looked like, how they lived or honestly even her feelings.

The only thing I did gain from the book was the extreme obsession and longing she had for drugs - any type really.

This is a book that people who enjoy celebrity magazines and blogs would definitely like. It's short, it only gives the most basic of facts and doesn't go too in depth.

I feel she wrote this as a way to give the public an explanation of the whys and hows of what she did- controlling the information about her slide down into drugs. I wouldn't call this inspirational or heart-warming because of the extreme disconnect that is created by the lack of details, but if you ever wondered what ever happened to that girl that played Stephanie Taylor this is a good summary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, August 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: unSweetined (Kindle Edition)
Starts out strong, ends a little slow and bogged down. All in all, a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but paperback copy DOESN'T HAVE PICTURES!, August 12, 2010
By 
Stephanie (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: unSweetined: A Memoir (Paperback)
Very down to earth, excellent read, but how can they produce a paperback copy and not include the middle pictures???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unsweetined, June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: unSweetined: A Memoir (Paperback)
Poorly written..too jumpy..especially didn't care for her letter to her daughter at the end...what is her daughter going to think when she reads something so private..Sweetin should have written that and given it to her daughter when she was old enough to understand. I wish Jodie the best and hopes she stay's on the band-wagon...best of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

unSweetined: A Memoir
unSweetined: A Memoir by Jodie Sweetin (Paperback - July 6, 2010)
Used & New from: $4.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.