Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy From harbor freight
I got one of these to charge up AA batteries. It did just that and more. With the clips you can power a walk-men radio with not problems. " for storms" Of course you can just as well charge up some AA to run it as well. Buy mine runs on three and the charger can only charge 2 at a time. I had a lot of trouble recharge 9 volt batters.

You really should...
Published on July 19, 2011 by Max

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little charger, litttle current
I bought one exactly like this a few years ago - $6 or so. As usual with solar panels, size determines everything. This charger provides very low current and therefore takes very long time to charge. It takes only a pair of AA at a time. When you set it to 3V (you want at least 3V to charge 1.5V AA), maximum current is 220 mA. Completely discharged AA takes about 1500 mA,...
Published on April 14, 2012 by Alm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy From harbor freight, July 19, 2011
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
I got one of these to charge up AA batteries. It did just that and more. With the clips you can power a walk-men radio with not problems. " for storms" Of course you can just as well charge up some AA to run it as well. Buy mine runs on three and the charger can only charge 2 at a time. I had a lot of trouble recharge 9 volt batters.

You really should read all instructions. You have to set it to 12 volt to charge a 9 volt. It's all in the instructions. After I re-read " OK read the first time " it was easy to charger a 9v up.

DON'T BUY FORM AMAZON. Harbor freight has them for $7.00. I went back and got one more so I could charge up 4 AA at a time. I've tried recharging my cell phone. Using a 5 voltage regulator, one panels just doesn't seem to have enough mA to cut it. Using two seams to work kind of. It's easier to use a 9 volt on the voltage regulator. It could be something about not having enough sun light I live on the east cost of the US.

It would be hard to find something for seven bucks that work this grate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing product!, May 9, 2010
By 
C. Nader "Punx93" (MOUNT STERLING, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
I bought 1 of these to charge 9 volt batteries for my mini guitar amp and it does a fantastic job in sunlight or in indoor light. I'm glad I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get it, March 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
awesome you can power a aaa mp3 player or a small radio or a 3v light basically anything that uses 1 or 2 AA or AAA batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little charger, litttle current, April 14, 2012
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
I bought one exactly like this a few years ago - $6 or so. As usual with solar panels, size determines everything. This charger provides very low current and therefore takes very long time to charge. It takes only a pair of AA at a time. When you set it to 3V (you want at least 3V to charge 1.5V AA), maximum current is 220 mA. Completely discharged AA takes about 1500 mA, i.e. 7 hours at 100 mA. Note that it will only provide 220 mA at noon in June under clear sky, so realistically it will take 12 hours or more, even in June. In other words, 2 days. Other months and less than perfect weather may increase that to 3 days or more - can't say because have given up after trying to charge it for half a day in autumn (clear sky), the batteries were still almost flat. I'm doing multiday kayaking trips and need to replace AA/AAA sometimes, and found that carrying a few spare charged batteries is so much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously the only worthy solar charger out there for $20, April 4, 2012
By 
WARezDOG (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
I've tried them all, or at least most of them and this one does what it says. The versatility of the unit is what sold me and it actually delivers on what it says it will do, unlike most solar chargers. Big enought to charge a pair of AA's quickly but small enough to tuck away in your bag. If you're going to buy one put this one on your short list, it's the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wont power Ur home! But.., December 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
Is what it says it is and does what it says it does. Great price for a small solar battery charger. On a meter the 12v setting puts out 13.8v. Very happy with this purchase. Great add-on for the Bug-out bag! Amazon fast free shipping always a plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome little solar charger., September 22, 2013
By 
cris "cris" (Silicon Valley, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
A simple concept that works. The newer solar chargers have a lithium glued inside. When the batteries eventually die, you left with nothing !

With this guy you can put in two rechargable batteries, charge them up on solar and then use it as a power source to recharge small electronic. When the batteries wear out,just insert new recharageable batteries. Or you can power your device directly.

In other words It's not just a disposable toy.
Read the instructions ! It can do many things.
Good quality solar cell and solid construction.

p.s. Bought this four years ago at HF for $7-.
So paying $20 to $26 is difficult to accept, but still worth it.
By the way, Sears is selling this for $70 !!!
So you could get soaked even worse than this.

The AA battery compartment is underneath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.6.9.12 Volt Solar Panel review, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
I got this primarily for charging 9-volt and also AA batteries. It charges two AAs rapidly but I have not yet tried the 9-volt. The device seems to be satisfactory to the extent that I have used it. I did not get a operator's manual but instructions are at Harbor Freight in their product "manuals" site. Also Harbor Freight does not have these at $7.00 or for any other price. It might prove helpful to print out the instructions and keep them in a safe place since the device is not self-explanatory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The score can't be accurate, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply

I received the "AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply" and soon returned it the same day. It didn't work. I first thought that I should allow the charger to charge for a day before using it; then, I found out after ended a chat with amazon.com that a wire was broken. Anyhow, amazon.com was very helpful, but there's no contact information with the device. I gave it 3 stars, but if the device works, it may be worth more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AA and 9 volt battery charger with 3, 6, 9, and 12 volt power supply (Camera)
Does not have charging adapters for cell phone and tablets. Also the picture showed a 2 cell AA battery charging holder that was not included. I really needed the AA holder and would increase the rating to excellent if it had been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.