Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best WipEout experience available; wonderful new modes and features abound
NOTE: This was initially written from the 1.01 patch that was released very early, which addressed many issues reviewers are talking about, particularly the long load times, which have been drastically reduced to not be that big an issue anymore. I expect the next patch will further reduce load times, so that really isn't a concern for me at this time...
Published on March 5, 2012 by Christopher Engel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game
This game features beautiful animation and colorful levels and race tracks. There are several different futuristic vehicles you can choose from, each with its own unique abilities. I wish I could tell you it is easy to play, but truly only the most hardcore gamers will appreciate how extremely difficult it can be to beat certain races. Other than the difficulty, it's a...
Published 18 months ago by Wes


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best WipEout experience available; wonderful new modes and features abound, March 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
NOTE: This was initially written from the 1.01 patch that was released very early, which addressed many issues reviewers are talking about, particularly the long load times, which have been drastically reduced to not be that big an issue anymore. I expect the next patch will further reduce load times, so that really isn't a concern for me at this time.

**UPDATE: 6/23/2012**

Well, we knew we were getting DLC at some point, but they *really* handed it to us this time, potentially for free if you qualify. The most recent add-on for the game is the entire, complete version of WipEout HD Fury, which was initially solely a PSN title and then made cross-multiplayer possible on the Vita since launch. However, now you can do all of the single-player campaign and everything else, too. If you don't own Fury already, it's a $7.99 upgrade that also gives you the console version to play with. This is a great deal, especially considering that Fury was an expansion to WipEout HD and also If you already own Fury, though, it's a free add-on that adds every bit of the game on the Vita, along with all the Vita tweaks that take advantage of the hardware.

It took a long, long time, but the new DLC is potentially an entirely new experience for new players. Fury's campaign isn't a slouch, nor is the multiplayer or its own Fury-specific mechanics. It's different from the core game, sure, but it's still basically a totally different WipEout game.

Anyone looking for more content can't go wrong with Fury add-on pack for the core game. There's no reason not to get it, because, if you already own Fury, it's a free update so you can now play on the go, should you choose it. If you don't yet have Fury, then you've got a whole new campaign to play through, along with every Fury track, ship, and campaign to go with it. It's pretty much an entirely new game with the add-on pack.

**UPDATE: 5/28/2012**

1.02 has been out for quite some time now, with some talk of future DLC, the content of which has not been officially announced to my knowledge, if it happens at all. For anyone who still was frustrated by the load times even after 1.01 made them at least tolerable, 1.02 nearly halves them. The game now feels like it loads just as fast as any other given racer, console or portable. An initial load of a race is about 20-30 seconds maximum, with retries taking only a few seconds (this is not to be taken for granted, as many racers have the truly awful fault of reloading *everything* from scratch, with the same load times as if you were starting an entirely new race. Considering the unforgiving difficulty that WipEout is known for, this is definitely critical, as you will be restarting very often due to its punishing, yet still fair, difficulty.). Its initial load of the game before you can even pick a mode is also almost nonexistent now. Basically, load times aren't an issue anymore, so everyone can sleep easy on that point.

It should be noted, though, that if you have the digital version of the game instead of the cartridge, load times will have a few seconds added on, just like any other digital version of any game. It's a common myth that loading directly from a memory stick makes for better performance, but the opposite is actually true, due to mandatory data compression. While the idea of not using external media to load data and instead taking it directly from an internal memory would be faster in theory, the truth is that every digital game for consoles or handhelds is released with compressed data to conserve space--without the compression, the amount of space required would be astronomical, and unreasonable. Unlike cartridges, which have little to no compression, digital data has to be decompressed before it can even begin to load, which adds time, and takes away none.

Don't fall for the myth that digital downloads perform better, because the opposite is true. It was true with the PSP as well. If you want the best performance, you want to go with the physical copy. This is pretty much universal for all downloadable games and content.

Besides that, little else has changed besides a couple of minor bug fixes. As for the possible DLC, well, we'll see.

(end of update)

Really, this is *the* WipEout experience, absolutely loaded with content, and a multiplayer component including a "multiplayer campaign" which are all excellent. The multiplayer campaign, gorgeous graphics, thumping soundtrack, ship selection, weapon variety, balance, and general feel are all worth noting as exceeding my expectations.

The use of the camera is also a fun little feature, in which it will take an optional photograph of you before every race, and the top three players are shown with their photographs. If you're camera-shy, you don't have to do this, but I find it very fun.

Also worth noting is the multiplayer campaign aspect of this, which is essentially an extension of the single-player campaign that includes real people instead of AI ships. This is really a beautiful thing, as it is for the most part the single-player experience that you are playing with everyone at the same time. It isn't just a race or a battle--it's a campaign that everyone can participate in, and drop in or out of at any time. The experience system which has become so popular these days is there, so the more you play, the more you get. It's really just a lot of fun to do the campaign with other people instead of the AI.

Also note that cross-platform play is possible with the PS3's WipEout HD Fury, meaning you will never have any shortage of people to enjoy the game with. Further, if someone you know has Fury, but not a Vita and this game, you can play with them without a hitch. Cross-platform multiplayer is always a welcome addition to anything, so this may be very important for people with friends who don't own a Vita, or you simply want to play Fury-specific style.

I have little to complain about, but one thing I dislike is the controls have three schemes only, and aren't fully customizable. At the same time, none feels *quite* right, the closest I can get being the "Racer" scheme. It takes some getting used to. One other complaint I have is that you can't add your own soundtrack a la WipEout Pulse for the PSP, which is a real shame. Pulse, if you don't know already, let you add up to 30 tracks from your memory card to the game, and then let you create your own soundtrack for the game. At the moment, this is not a feature, and you have the in-game soundtrack, which, while still very good, could benefit from more selection that you, yourself, should be able to add like Pulse did.

At the end of the day, though, this is WipEout at its finest, bar none. Its added Vita-specific features are just beautifully done, and a happy surprise for me, since they actually work. The multiplayer in particular stands out as excellent and far beyond my expectations, and the added multiplayer campaign is a joy. There's little to complain about now that the load times have become bearable with the patch, and we can expect them to lessen further in the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing PS3 like graphics on the go, February 13, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
I had no doubts that Wipeout for the Vita would have incredible graphics, tracks are very diverse and the ambient soundtrack very engaging. Speaking of tracks, they're as diverse and detailed as they are on the PS3.
Controls are smooth but responsive and the rear touchpad is supported as well as the six-axis motion control.
I'm only a couple of races into the game and I love it, it's also one of the cheapest games you can get for the Vita so you can't go wrong here.
I haven't experimented this feature yet but it seems like the game supports cross-play with the PS3 and most likely also remote play which doesn't work for any other PS3 game I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WipEout 2048 Is A Fun And Intense Racing Experience Worth Checking Out, February 14, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
WipEout 2048 is a racing game. Instead of the the racing cars you're familiar with we get futuristic hover-racers that blaze across futuristic cities in an effort to come out on top. Couple this with the techno soundtrack and detailed graphics and you get one heck of a ride. As someone who doesn't normally play racing games, I was surprised to find myself enjoying this as much as I did.
WipEout 2048 introduces you to a futuristic world full of fantastic skyscrapers, intense vehicular battle, techno-style music, and high octane races that leave you with a sense of accomplishment after completing them. The gameplay starts of easy, you a few races that teach you the mechanics of gameplay, including racing and combat. The controls work well, with only a few times I found them to be a bit clunky. The level of difficulty increases dramatically a third of the way through the game. I found this to be a bit jarring, as did other reviewers, but it didn't detract from the fun for too long. Vehicular combat is fun, it gets more difficult as you progress. A few times it took me a few tries to finish a level, but this wasn't a frustrating experience at all.
The graphics are good, on par with some console games. They are detailed and I experienced very little slowdown while playing it. The soundtrack is very well done as well. Heavy techno beats and electronica help set the futuristic tone of the game and help get your pulse pounding while you're trying to come in first place.
There are a few flaws to this game. The load times are very long. 50 seconds to a minute for each track. The developer are working to fix this with an upcoming update and I will update my review once they do. Another flaw is the difficulty spike a third of the way through. While this isn't exactly a flaw, it is a bit jarring to the player.
Overall this is a fun and excellent launch title for the Vita. Anyone who has ever been interested in trying a racing game should give this a shot. WipEout 2048 shows what the Vita can do, and I'm looking forward to the next WipEout title for it. Four stars out of five and a recommended title for Vita players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and fun racing, amazing Vita release game, February 24, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
I'm not a huge racing game fan, I especially dislike the realistic ones because I'm just really bad at driving with a stick shift. Wipeout 2048 is the first racing game I've bought since Mario Kart Wii, and man is it awesome! You get to ride a huge selection of different futuristic racing 'cars' on beautifully crafted and exciting courses. The graphics are amazing and really made me feel like I was getting a taste of the future of hand-held gaming. There is no frame rate lag and beside the slow load screens there are not technical flaws that I've found so far. The racing is intense and gets increasingly difficult, I love how challenging the game is without being overly unfair like some racing games. The great techno music really gets you pumped and the combat missions especially get really crazy.
If you've just bought a Vita you cannot go wrong with this title. It supports online multiplayer as well as ad-hoc play so try it with your friends. One warning if you're buying this used, it does require an online pass to use multiplayer and I'm not entirely sure if it's a one-use thing or not, so you may want to check before you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs a longer single-player and racebox, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
The gameplay itself along with the graphics is amazing. The online play will definately take a while if you want to beat it, but the single-player campaign is just too short. Also, there is no racebox, or any other way to mix and match your favorite track with event type, leaving you just replaying events from the campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wipeout 2048 is nice but the HD and Fury DLC they just released is a lot better!!!, June 22, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
Wipeout 2048 is a nice game and all but they just released Wipeout HD and fury as DLC for this game and it is exactly the same as the PS3 version(Except the frame rate being 30fps). If you want Wipeout HD or Fury get this game so you can play it on the go or while taking a dump. Whatever. This is the first time where i received DLC that i thought was better then the actual game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fun game, February 24, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
This is my first Playstation Vita game, and first time playing wipeout, seriously (ive played it, but never really tried, it was just with friends). The graphics are pretty good, and game play is very addicting. Some moments are actually heart pounding which I found was weird for a racing game (im more into FPS games).

Overall, im very satisfied with this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, February 16, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
This are one of the best launch games for PS Vita.
The graphics and controls are just great.

I recomend it 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first Vita game and taste of next gen handheld gaming, February 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
I bought a few games for the Vita, but this was the first I put in to play. I haven't played wipeout since its early days so to me the game has a lot of appeal as I feel it controls a lot better than the first game. If you're coming from some of the later in the series you might be less appeased by what the game has to offer.

Either way if you're new to the series, a long time fan, or just a casual wipeout player there is something to be said about really actually being able to play wipeout in a form that looks like it should be on your TV, but is in your hands instead.

Wipeout 2048 really sold the Vita to me in terms of it providing an experience I would expect from an Xbox 360 or PS3. It doesn't utilize all of the Vita's new control schemes and features over the PSP, but it does really show you what kind of games we can expect from the Vita in the future.

I don't want just pretty games on the Vita... I want fun, fast paced games that look great too. Wipeout does that and playing it on the Vita makes me a little sad I've missed out on all the previous games up until now.

Another plus for me was Amazon had it priced below even what the PSN discount was at launch. At full price it might become less of a deal if you've already got a next gen Wipeout. If you don't or really want a portable version then definitely pick it up as it's every bit of a game as its bigger brother is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent version of the sci-fi racer game, February 21, 2012
By 
Mark (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: wipEout 2048 (Video Game)
I got this from Amazon for $30. I see its up to $40 (so is hot shots golf), which i don't know why the price jumped up $10. The game is excellent and very fun to play once you master the controls. The graphics are PS3 quality on the vita. The controls seem to be better than the psp and its easier to control using the new joysticks on the vita. Lot's a fun for a little bit of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

wipEout 2048
wipEout 2048 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation Vita)
$19.99 $12.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.