The wrong message This whole toy just sends completely the wrong message that sharks are man-eating monsters. It's quite the opposite, where man is destroying shark populations throughout every ocean on the planet. While toys should be fun and educational, this is just irresponsible toy-making by Mattel.

As a marine biologist, I relish the increasingly rare opportunity of seeing sharks in the water.

What next, the oil tanker with the fake oil spill?
asked by Frazer McGilvray on November 16, 2007
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 answers
A
votes
Thank you for your comments!

I'm putting together several boycotts on children's toys - maybe we should team up!

1) Monopoly - teaches a capitalist ownership concept of stopping free passage.

2) Candyland - Candyland? With all the obese kids running around? We DEMAND the game be changed to Vegetable Land!

3) Chess - The King sits back while the pawns are attacked! How militaristic!

Sure, one might suggest that this toy encourages an interest in sharks and that should spur the child on to learn about them. But, can you REALLY be sure?

We all know that every kid growing up who played Battleship wants to sink ships for a living and that Hungry Hungry Hippo creates a negative perception that in fact all Hippos are Hungry!
Ryan Alexander answered on December 3, 2007

A
votes
And Emma, at first I thought you were serious, ha ha. Well, let's not forget ""Barrel of Monkeys", gosh what that might imply! After growing up playing the game Battleship, my husband was stationed on a nuclear guided missile cruiser ship, and was responsible for the missile launchers on that ship for nine years. Never once did he overthrow the Captain to "fire" on another battleship or a shark! Can you believe it? He must be a minority.You guys need to lighten up......
1960's baby of 5 answered on December 10, 2007

A
votes
get over yourself. it's a toy.
NotoriousSEG answered on December 17, 2007

A
votes