Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


280 of 293 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than a Print Version of the Free Comic
The author admonishes you, in his foreword, that you must have some kind of poor economic judgement, to be buying this book when the comic is free online.

But that does more to illustrate the kind of wit he has, than represent the truth, because the book is NOT a print-out of the pics you can get online, but is apparently based on the original, pen/pencil...
Published on August 18, 2010 by KAZ Vorpal, aka Michael Karl

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many funny strips, but not the best selection of them.
Over the years, xkcd has released an enormous quantity of comics. Quite a few of these comics are simply hilarious were ingenious, and definitely deserve a five-star rating. I am not sure what the author did with this particular book. It did not seem to be any sort of "best of", but I did not get the impression that this was a chronological sampling of comics...
Published 5 months ago by John Mann


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

280 of 293 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than a Print Version of the Free Comic, August 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
The author admonishes you, in his foreword, that you must have some kind of poor economic judgement, to be buying this book when the comic is free online.

But that does more to illustrate the kind of wit he has, than represent the truth, because the book is NOT a print-out of the pics you can get online, but is apparently based on the original, pen/pencil drawings (at least in part), giving you a (faint) insight into the process of their creation, plus giving a feeling of something authentic, like buying a cell from some favorite animation.

If you have NOT read the comic online, the domain name is XKCD (as you can infer from the name), go read it. If you'd have liked the book anyway, you'll be back to buy it out of sheer joy for the sarcky satire you've experienced.

Who will like XKCD?

* Anyone who likes Big Bang Theory. This is the one source of "nerd/geek" humor superior to that one.
* All Wikipedians, except the anal-retentive ones who didn't even want us to redirect the word malamanteau to the XKCD article.
* Those who are disgusted with "SyFy" for being ashamed of science fiction. (google "syfy, we disown you")
* The kind of people who hear about MIT pranks and think "I could have done better".
* Problem-solvers who, upon realizing that the a-hole ops of #Linux answer every question with "RTFM", spoof another IP while running a hacked ID validator and give wrong answers to their own questions, baiting the experts into jumping in with corrections. And then go help run #linpeople to answer the questions right.
* People who, having studied linguistics, math/physics, logic, engineering, or some other intellectual discipline, determine that the greatest benefit is all the extra puns it allows them to notice.
* Sarcastic romantics
* Pseudointellectuals...OK, they won't, but they'll feel obligated to pretend.
* I will. Did. Do. And that's what counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for fans, August 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
This doesn't give you any new comics, but it does have a lulzy introduction that makes fun of you (the reader) for buying a printed version of a free webcomic. Still, if you're a fan of the series it's a must have just for the showcasing reasons alone. Also, whenever I want to introduce somebody to the GLORY that is XKCD, I can now say "here, browse through this!" instead of giving them a web address they'll likely never go to. Also, if you've never bought anything from the XKCD store but have been reading the comic for years (like me), this is your chance to give Randall some money finally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for XKCD Fans, December 22, 2010
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
I'll keep this short: If you enjoy the XKCD comics online enough to have gone back to re-read many of them more than once, you must get this. It's well made and there's enough cool little stuff everywhere to make it fun even if you know most of the strips by heart. You'll also be helping to support a worthy cause since 20% of the profits go to charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many funny strips, but not the best selection of them., July 26, 2014
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
Over the years, xkcd has released an enormous quantity of comics. Quite a few of these comics are simply hilarious were ingenious, and definitely deserve a five-star rating. I am not sure what the author did with this particular book. It did not seem to be any sort of "best of", but I did not get the impression that this was a chronological sampling of comics either (I could be mistaken though). Included in this book are several gems, but as a whole I did not feel that this selection of comics was worthy of very many stars when it came to rating the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great webcomic, decent collection, May 2, 2011
By 
PK Levine "PK" (North Atlanta Metro, GA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
XKCD is one of the funniest webcomics on the net, period . . . at least, if you're a geek who's into math, physics, and computer science. And this is a nice collection of some of XKCD's earliest strips. It's not a PERFECT collection -- I questioned a few of the choices made when deciding which comics to include -- but most of the funniest early strips are in here. And it's great to have a version of XKCD that you can read on the toilet. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars but I've had so much enjoyment out of XKCD that buying this book is an ..., May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
Doesn't really have anything the website doesn't already have, but I've had so much enjoyment out of XKCD that buying this book is an easy way to say "thanks." And it's a fun coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language" - very good except for the romance., April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
The author calls it "A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language."
The math and language are often very funny. (For example, the one about the heroes of open source.)
The sarcasm is often quite insightful. (I agree about Feynman.)
Sadly, the romance is rather repetitive and extremely depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave it on your desk, make friends., November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
The best way to waste part of your afternoon instead of doing actual value-added work. The whole thing's really well done, and if you have any idea what xkcd is, just buy the book and support the guy drawing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's XKCD, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
You pretty much get what you would expect from a XKCD book. Tnkfully it's not a strip by strip collection, rather the author's favorite picks, so most of the "way over our heads" jokes have been kept out.
I do wish there had been more writing, as shown in the opening words to the readers, but I guess we'll have to wait for his "What if" book coming out this year.
If you like XKCD, it's a no brainer. For those who don't know it, check the site first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's XKCD, in a book!, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xkcd: volume 0 (Paperback)
Well, if you haven't visited xkcd.com, do yourself and go there.
I love the webcomics from that website and that's why I bought this book. And I must say I wasn't disappointed!
The best thing about getting the book though is having it out when people come over and having it so accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

xkcd: volume 0
xkcd: volume 0 by Randall Munroe (Paperback - August 24, 2010)
$18.00 $14.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.