Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Kei
For all who know that there are two seasons of xxxHOLIC, this contains only season one. Which is a great season, lots of Watanuki and Yuko time. Doumeki and Himawari are there as well. I haven't listen to the english voices so I can't say how well the dub was done, but I do enjoy the subtitles.

For those who were hoping that the "complete series" would contain...
Published on August 3, 2009 by J. Taylor

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sad really
the story was ok, but the animation was seriously lacking. shapes of blank people and scenery and picture panning used way too much as animation short cuts. I found it very distracting. would have been better left on the pages of manga
Published 20 months ago by J


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Kei, August 3, 2009
By 
J. Taylor (Villa Rica, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For all who know that there are two seasons of xxxHOLIC, this contains only season one. Which is a great season, lots of Watanuki and Yuko time. Doumeki and Himawari are there as well. I haven't listen to the english voices so I can't say how well the dub was done, but I do enjoy the subtitles.

For those who were hoping that the "complete series" would contain the second season, xxxHOLIC Kei, it is not here. Hopefully Funimation will bring it out in a box set soon, as the other distributor discontinued before it was finished, or really even begun good.

I'll still rate it five stars because the price was really good, and the show is excellent. I'll just keep waiting for Kei.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful what you wish for, August 1, 2009
By 
Kellyannl (Bronx, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kimihiro Watanuki is an all-around nice guy who would give anyone the shirt off his back. Unfortunately for him, life often isn't fair; and in addition to being an orphan he's plagued by having an aura which attracts often malicious creatures from the spirit world but no ability to protect himself from them. One day, he finds himself in the shop of the mysterious, all-powerful witch Yuko, who tells him that if he basically becomes her indentured servant for a period of time she'll give him the solution to his problem - and Watanuki has reached the point where he's just become desperate enough to agree.

Yuko's solution for Watanuki is for him to seek out his schoolmate Domeki, the calm, collected star of his school's archery team who just so happens to be a natural exorcist - and incidentally the one person Watanuki can't stand due to insane jealousy largely stemming from Domeki being on friendly terms with Watanuki's crush, the lovely, sunny Himawari. Domeki, however, seems more focused on keeping Watanuki in one piece than hitting on Himawari...

So begins Watanuki's journey to end his problem and, because he's a very good person, try to help some of the other customers who come to Yuko's shop - if he doesn't get himself killed first.

The first thing that fans of the Holic manga will notice is that some of the events have been switched around in the anime, which might disorient them a bit but isn't really a huge problem at this point, as the story doesn't start to become too linear yet (it does beginning with the events presumably covered by the as yet unlicensed second season). They'll also notice that all references to what is concurrently happening to the Tsubasa gang have been cut (Tsubasa fans will recognize Watanuki from his brief cameo at the very beginning of Tsubasa), and the Warashi girls have been added to enough scenes to upgrade them to borderline recurring characters rather than guest stars. As with the Holic movie (A Midsummer Night's Dream), the English dub is particularly strong. Sometimes the stars align, and Todd Haberkorn pretty much nails how I heard Watanuki in my head while reading the manga: making us laugh when he goes into houseboy mode, want to slap him upside the head when he's horrid to Domeki, and breaking our hearts in the final stories of this season. His co-star Colleen Clinkenbeard equals him with a pitch-perfect, sultry Yuko; and J. Michael Tatum does fine as Domeki, who is arguably the most difficult character in the series to voice as a boy who's just as good and feels just as deeply as Watanuki but tends to show it in actions rather than words. Even minor characters are voiced extremely well.

All in all, I can heartily recommend this to Holic fans and anyone else who wants to try a supernatural tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, March 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xxxHOLiC: S.A.V.E. (DVD)
I went in blind on this one. I've seen many many anime and I loved the product description, so I bought xxxHolic. One word can describe it... AMAZING. It arrived super fast, and I was soon was drawn into the uniquely drawn world of inevitablility. I soon fell in love with Yuuko and Watanuki. It didn't fall into the realm of the same old boring anime. This series is like a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different - almost the "Tales from the Dark Side" of Anime, April 3, 2012
This review is from: xxxHOLiC: S.A.V.E. (DVD)
This is one of those series that starts out with you wondering "Huh. Not sure if I like this." The animation is unusual (according to the creators, it is based on wood block carving styles), the main character (Kimihiro Watanuki) has two volumes - normal and screaming. He is hands-down the most annoying male character I have seen in Anime today, but, good or bad, he grows on you.

The story centers on Watanuki, his job at a special shop that exists in and out of this world, and the shop's owner, Yuko Ichihara, an enigmatic character with a love of good food and plenty of alcohol. Supporting characters include: Shizuka D'meki, a fellow student who lives in a temple, and has a passive power to ward off spirits. Himawari Kunogi, the girl Watanuki has a crush on. Maru & Moro, two girls without souls that are bound to the shop. Mokona, a rabbit-like critter with above average intelligence, who shares Yuko's taste for food and drink.

Most episodes center on different customer and their problems - all the customers were female. There are also some episodes centering on the main characters - vacations, activities, and the like. These are more light-hearted and humorous, as opposed to the darker, serious tone of the customer based ones. This really is a series worth looking at. Check out the pages on Wikipedia - there's OVA,tons of Manga and more than one season to keep you busy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series - Nice Packaging for a Budget Box Set, May 3, 2010
By 
Anime Fanatic (Bay City, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This is the second box set release by Funimation of the first season of xxxHolic. It's an excellent series and there are enough reviews of the previous box set that should give you a good introduction if you're not already familiar with it.

When multiple releases start appearing, I think it's good to know how one release differs from another. I got this set in advance from another web site (for $30) where it was titled as a Viridian Collection set from Funimation, which is how they designate their budget releases. However, this set does not actually say "Viridian Collection" anywhere on it. The seies is set on 4-DVD's with 6 episodes on each disc. The set takes up the same space as a normal DVD case. It has an outer cardboard slip-cover with the same artwork as in the case itself. The discs are set on two double-sided hub pages that hold the discs in place very well and there is additional artwork visable inside with a listing of all the episodes. There aren't any on disc extras beyond textless songs and trailers but the original single disc releases of the series were the same way.

If this truly is a Viridian Collection, then it seems like a nice improvement over prior packaging choices. The only thing missing from previous Funimation releases of the series would be the artwork on the cases, although this set still looks really good. If you've been waiting for a lower priced release of xxxHolic, then this one is a great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking Anime, November 6, 2011
This review is from: xxxHOLiC: S.A.V.E. (DVD)
This is one of those stories where I keep asking myself, "why do I like this?". There isn't a whole lot of action or any. The animation is wonderful and unique but not exceptional.

What draws me into it are the wonderful, thought-provoking tales. It is a anime for the amateur philosopher. The main male character is a young student that adventures out into the world and meets unsuspecting people with problems. He has a unique gift where he can see spirits. The main female character is a older sage that brings the story together and has a solution for any person that comes in with their troubles.

It is similar to Kino's Journey without the journey. Overall it is a good relaxing anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love love, August 14, 2012
This review is from: xxxHOLiC: S.A.V.E. (DVD)
Love love love this. You can watch in English or Japanese and have subtitles in either as well. This is a favorite of mine. Bummer that only season one is translated into English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, April 19, 2011
xXxHoLic is an anime series that branches off from another CLAMP anime called "Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle". The basic plot revolves around a high school student named Kimihiro Watanuki who possesses the ability to see spirits, an ability he detests. Upon meeting a witch named Yuuko at her "wish granting shop" he wishes said ability away...but for a price. Yuuko's shop revolves around granting wishes with the compensation of what you value most. As his compensation Watanuki becomes employed at Yuuko's shop where he witnesses the many visitors who come in need of having their wish granted.

The first season comes in a regular DVD size case with gorgeous artwork both inside and out. It features multiple discs with special features such as commercials and textless songs. The episodes are also featured in Japanese audio and have subtitles in multiple languages.

If you're looking to own the English dub of xXxHoLic: Completely First Season this is the version to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars xxxHolic Season 1 box set, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is only season 1, not the complete series. Just be aware if you were hoping on season 2 as well. Good series, especially if you are a fan of other CLAMP series. This one is more serious and dramatic than the other series, most notably the companion series "Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicles" which runs parallel to "xxxHolic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Very Good Series.., January 13, 2012
By 
C. Weaver (Rusk, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: xxxHOLiC: S.A.V.E. (DVD)
Remember Ghost Story? Well, try taking the male lead and turn him into a witch type character with two souless side-kick kids and a teddy bear like character and you begin to see what xxxHOLIC is about. The main character is a guy troubled my demons. The only problem is nobody sees them but him when the series begins and that's when he finds himself at the door of the witch and off we go. This series is full of things to look for and if you don't watch carefully you'll miss something. I found myself really liking the guy and the witch too. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.