Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Étude Philharmonique: Music for Solo Violin Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 15, 2000
"Please retry"

Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping.
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Major works for solo violin by leading modern composers, a tour de force of skilful and virtuosic musicianship.


Skærved has more than risen to the challenge, and no inadequacies are exposed by his recording of Etude Philharmonique and other works by Henze, Naji Hakim, David Matthews, and Dmitri Smirnov. He demonstrates that, in the right hands, the solo violin can evoke a remarkable range of moods and colors. --Strings Magazine

Few current violinists can claim as wide a repertoire and as active a policy of commissioning as Sheppard Skærved, and the present disc offers an excellent and often surprising overview of his solo repertoire. A varied and stimulating collection then, recorded with due appreciation of Sheppard Skærved's incisive clarity - a trait equally apparent in his informative booklet note. --International Record Review

..this is a fascinating collection, the spaciousness of the recroding serving to underline Sheppard Skærved's luminous clarity of tone --BBC Music Magazine

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Precipitato (Hakim)
  2. Andante quasi recitativo (Hakim)
  3. Allegro con spirito (Hakim)
  4. Largo (Matthews)
  5. Andante appassionato (Matthews)
  6. Vivo e fantastico (Matthews)
  7. Lento (Matthews)
  8. Andante (Smirnov)
  9. Moderato (Smirnov)
  10. Etude Philharmonieuq (Henza)
  11. Andante cantabile (Henze)
  12. Tirsi allegretto (Henze)
  13. Mopso (Henze)
  14. Aristeo (Henze)

Product details

  • Performer: Peter Sheppard Skaerved
  • Conductor: .
  • Composer: Naji Hakim, Hans Werner Henze, David Matthews, Dmitri [composer] Smirnov
  • Audio CD (March 15, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Metier
  • ASIN: B00004S91Z
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,318,329 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on August 21, 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: earplugs for kids for noise, cheap air diffusers, wave sound, essential oil mixes, sleep oil, sounds for sleeping