Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

007 Legends - Playstation 3
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$14.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 22, 2014
When 007 Legends was first released, I checked some of the reviews, and decided to hold off on picking it up. Now that the price has dropped quite a bit, I went ahead and ordered it through Amazon. I’m glad I did, because I’m having fun playing through the campaign. Granted, the game plays a lot like a Call of Duty game, but there’s something about assuming the role of Bond, especially in the segments that are inspired by the actual movies. The graphics are not as polished as the Call of Duty series, but 007 Legends has a sharp, crisp frame rate that works great while running through stages in massive shoot outs. There are weapon attachments and character upgrades you can use experience points to unlock, which again, the feature seems to mimic Call of Duty, but it certainly adds to the gameplay as you try to unlock certain weapon and character upgrades while playing through the levels. The gadget mini-games are an interesting diversion to the run-and-gun sections, but can seem a little clunky at times. Some portions of the campaign levels can prove to be challenging, like the skiing section of On Her Majesty's Secret Service (where you have to race down a hill, shooting enemies while dodging trees, all while trying to catch up with Teresa before she gets too far ahead). There’s also missions where you can only use stealth to get through (being spotted will result in a failed mission), which can prove tricky, since it seems you can get spotted pretty quickly. Fortunately, these sections are pretty sporadic – most of the storyline is run-and-gun. Occasionally, you’ll have to duke it out with an enemy hand-to-hand, which sets up a boxing-style mini-game (like Punch-Out!!). Though they aren’t necessarily a challenge to get through (at least for me), it breaks up the shoot-outs, and it gives you a great sense of accomplishment when you knock out the main villain of a level. If you are a Bond fan, you’ll probably want to give this title a try. If you enjoy FPS games, this might be a great affordable title to add to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
007 Legends is an ok game. I got it for less than $20 so I wasn't too disappointed in what I got. The stories tie in with the Bond Films fairly well - I thought the Goldfinger one was pretty well melded, but then you also have Licence to Kill where you're wandering about a temple for no real reason other than to do some stealthy stuff - or in my case get bored and then just run and gun everything in sight.

There is a rudimentary role playing aspect to the game where you earn exp to buy perks, but it's not very well implemented and to be honest you probably won't notice much difference anyway. Many of the gun mods don't work on every gun, which is realistic, but it's very annoying saving up your exp to get a laser sight only to find you can't equip it on your favourite gun.

The biggest disappointment is the loading times if you lose a life. I literally got up, went to the fridge, put some ice cubes in my glass, poured a drink of orange juice put the drink down, went back and got a handful of peanuts, ate them, washed my hand and went back to the PS3 and the thing still hadn't loaded. So if you are prepared to put up with that sort of loading time, then fair play to you. I had an Atari 2600 back in the 70's and a Commodore Amiga in the 90's and both of them loaded stuff quicker. There really is no excuse for it.

I remember back to the PS2 Bond game where you started running down the side of a building - it was the gold standard of James Bond Games in terms of longevity, action and depth - showing that licensed games could be good games and not shallow drudgery. Many years later 007 has been released and it falls short in so many ways of a game that was made ten years earlier. It seems Activision thinks they can turn out any old rubbish with a Bond license and people will buy it. They'll be disappointed, but probably still buy the next game hoping it will be better than the previous one, be disappointed and the cycle will continue once again.

I would not recommend this game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
As a Bond enthusiast who has seen all the films and played 90% of the available games (even the ones for Sega Genesis), this game was not as well done as the "From Russia With Love", "Quantum of Solace", or "Blood Stone" games. Sure, you get to relive some classic moments from Bond movies, but many of the levels barely resemble what you're playing. The closest thing to nostalgia is the "Goldfinger" levels. The game is frustrating, sometimes the logic of what to do next is cryptic. Compared to other Bond games, this one barely is enjoyable. One positive thing about it is that even though it completely strays from the movies, it still has some interesting action sequences. Not as cool as the nightclub shootout in "Goldeneye: Reloaded", however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
2 stars for cool graphics, good audio, choice of movies, gadgets and weapons as well as weapon mods.

1 star for the dialogue and comedic moments that make 007 films so entertaining (this is a compliment)

Minus 2 stars for lack of intrigue, plot development, repetitive levels and only using the 3rd act of the movies they did. They missed out on a great opportunity to do like they did with From Russia With Love which was a fun and cool game.

And lastly, why the hell do they feel they need to compete with Halo and Call of Duty? Its 007. Its about the story and locals, the girls the gadgets and the adventure not shooting at enemies you can't even see. Its a 51 inch Plasma and I cant see what Im supposed to be aiming at. Anyone else still think there hasnt been a great spy game since No One Lives Forever?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
I have been a James Bond Fan ever since i can remember and i have owned all the videogames they have ever made this franchise.this i one i have liked the least..once agin the controls for driving simply do not work..the creators of these games are idiots to think anyone can drive with these controls...If a real vehicle had thse same situations when driving,there would be a wreck every 7 seconds.

Other than the driving however.i love the shooting aspect of the game..Graphics are not what you would expect for James Bond....kind of cartoonish...but that is something i was expecting anyhow.

This game is not worth the 59 dollars they wanted for it.but if you can get it on sale for 20.00 or under.i would say grab it then.It isnt that bad but it isnt that good either.but i guarantee ou will enjoy it once you get past the driving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
This is a fun shooter. Graphics are passable. Playing Bond is great. The stories are a little short, but then the actual movies are only about 90 minutes each. I liked being able to play this game. It is sad the game did not do well, there is nothing wrong with this game. I would like to see another Bond game similar to this but that will probably not happen. This is not call of duty. In CoD, enemies always spawn until you move forward. That does not happen in 007 Legends except in one easy to avoid place. Nice game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
Classic Bond multiplayer game. I bought it for my kids to play, it's a hit with them. No longer anywhere near great graphics, but the gameplay is solid and they have gotten hours and hours of play out of it (they haven't played the single player, only the local, multiplayer). There is a paintball mode in case you do not want blood in the game. I chose this game because I don't want my kids playing the Halo's and Call of Duty's because they're still young. Even without paintball mode, the screen turns red (like blood running down and covering the screen) when they die. It's not graphic at all like more modern shooters. As I mentioned, they have not played the single player mode, so I cannot speak for the rating for that part of the game. They can play up to 4 player split screen. We haven't tried online multiplayer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
I only bought this because I have every other previous Bond game and needed it to complete my current collection. It's really not very good. Unless you're a die-die-die-hard Bond fan, I'd avoid it. Hopefully they can make a new one now that Activision is no longer in control of bleeding the franchise with mediocre games. Play Bloodstone instead, that one is actually fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2017
Delivered fast and a great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
Great game, the missions are awesome and well thought out, love how it puts all the movies together and creates missions for each one, using great detail about each movie, definitely one of my favorite bond games
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here