Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

10,000 Days
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 4, 2006
I absolutely loved Lateralus and Aenema. What this album is missing that those ones had was DYNAMICS. Atmospheric, brooding sections would build into propelling grooves, and explode into these bombastic, "in your face" sections that would rock you sideways. You really got a sense of development in the songs.

That's all here, but it's all been spoiled in the post-production. The entire thing is such a flat, boring sound. I'm listening to the first track, Vicarious, thinking, "Man, this section could rock my face off." The guitar is was too loud, the vocals are too soft. Somebody asks "Where are Danny Carry's balls?" If you listen really hard, his playing is just as great, you can just barely HEAR it! It could have been SO GOOD! I don't know who produced and/or mixed the album, but in an effort to go for a more "mainstream" sound in the production, they've spoiled all the peaks and valleys that make Tool such a good band. Whoever it was, shame on them!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2006
Better than Lateralus but not quite as good as Aenima. This album is unbelievable. Haters can go about their business, but this album can take you to new places...I can't stress enough how good it is...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2006
Lateralus B-sides. I mean, what the hell? During the first minute of this album I could have sworn I was listening to "The Patient". I had to pop out the disc and examine it to make sure I was really listening to the new album.

Not only does the music feel recycled, but it also highlights the band's weaknesses. Somehow Adam Jones making weird noises on his guitar doesn't seem so prog, cool or inspired anymore. The guitar work on this album carries with it the redundancy found in ambient music without the interesting soundscapes. What we end up with is plodding, boring tedium.

Disaster might have been averted, had Maynard James Keenan gotten a chance to flex his vocal muscles. Unfortunately, as per usual for a Tool album the vocals are often subdued and even garbled at times. The exception would be "The Pot" with MJK singing cleanly and clearly. But even this is a catastrophe. With MJK's vocal range and ability it's difficult to understand why he would have wanted to sound like a whining child.

Despite all of its shortcomings, the album does have a couple of good points to it. The songs are lyrically interesting and Danny Carey is phenomenal on drums.

The bottom line is that this album sounds like another take on Lateralus. Too bad for us it isn't half as good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2006
I wish i could simply echo what others have said. This album is worth more than hundreds out today. Very unique, yet very simplistic. ART!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2006
Ive listened to the album several times and it bores the hell out of me. I like instrumentals, but this album really only has a handful of actual songs.... the rest of the album is pretentious, self-indulgent garbage. I cant believe all the positive reviews the tool slaves gave this album. Its been how many years since Tool released their last boring CD ? What is it; 6 years or so.

And the packaging is a gimmick. Oooooh, its so trippy (sarcasm, DUH !). Give me a break. The CD "case" will no doubt show a lot of wear in a few years. Do they think about how the packaging will erode over time ? I guess not. They probably think the cool packaging will entice fans (sheep) to buy this; and they are probably right.

Sorry folks, but the members of this band arent anywhere close to "gods" that you make them out to be. They are just simple men making music. To call them or any indiviual member a "god" is downright pathetic.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2006
I don't know if you can say there is a best Tool album, but 10,000 days is as close as you'll find. This is the best new release I've heard this year. It reminds me of a cross between ...And Justice For All and Dark Side of the Moon (Tool style).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2009
I had high hopes for this album. After bathing in the single greatest work of art in the history of man, Lateralus, it seemed there was nowhere else for Tool to go but down, or maybe sideways. Unfortunately it was the former. The immense, spine-chilling power of Lateralus (and some of the better parts of Aenima) are completely absent. The lyrics that could bring tears to any eyes have vanished without a trace. The incredible musical depth that boggles our minds and inspired professional orchestral arrangements is totally gone.

What we're left with is:
- Instrumentation that is talented, but not inspired.
- Lyrics that are vague, forced, hard to identify with, and some just downright silly (and not in a good, Weird Al way).
- Filler that seemingly serves no purpose. This as opposed to previous albums, Lateralus in particular, where the brief instrumental tracks gave us time to reflect on the previous song, to put us in the right mental "place" to appreciate the next song, or just to manipulate the pacing.

This is easily Tool's worst album since Opiate, and that's coming from a die-hard Tool fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2007
I really enjoyed the 3d jewel case. I really enjoyed the first track. Period.

There were sparks of Tool past - but they were to few and to far inbetween - as in buried 5 mins into an 8 min long song that just about required a Red Bull to get there.

They either need to do more, more often to get back into their music or stop and do more damage to the tremendous offerings from the past. A Perfect Circle should be example enough for M.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2006
RIGHT IN TWO IS POSSIBLY ONE OF THE BEST TOOL SONGS EVER!

WHO CARES THAT EVERYBODY IS BASHING THIS ALBUM...THERES ONE REASON FOR IT...THE WAIT. WHEN YOU HAVE TO WAIT 5 YEARS AFTER 2 CLASSIC ALBUMS...THEN YOUR EXPECTATIONS BECOME TOO HIGH, AND YOU START IMAGINING WHAT THE NEXT TOOL ALBUM IS GOING TO SOUND LIKE. THEN WHEN IT DOESN'T FIT YOUR IMAGINATION, YOU'RE DISAPPOINTED! THATS THE CATCH 22. IF THIS WAS RELEASED 3 YEARS AGO PEOPLE WOULD BE HOLLARING CLASSIC! TRY TO LISTEN UNOBJECTIVELY AND YOU WILL FIND THIS IS DEFINATELY BETTER THAN 99% OF THE "MAJOR LABEL" MUSIC COMING OUT TODAY!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2006
I haven't heard the whole album yet, but I wanted to respond to Mr. Censored's complaint about the "generic" title. Per Rolling Stone magazine, the title refers to the time the singer's mother was on chemotherapy for cancer before she succumbed to the disease.

"Generic" title indeed.

JR
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here