Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

  • 11:11
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 159 reviews
on July 1, 2016
This music is very creative, well executed and very well produced. One thing that stands out is how well-timed the two guitars are throughout. There are many complex derivations to simple progressions especially rhythmically and they really never miss-time anything. The music and transitions are well-constructed and even innovative. The Rhythm Guitar (Gabriela) covers both rhythm and bass, creating a complete environment for the intricate leads (Rodrigo). There are also simultaneous lead melodies intertwined. My favorite cut is Buster Voodoo which is the second cut, which is highly progressive and more towards progressive Rock than most of the other cuts. That is personal taste and I think most listeners will pick their own favorites as there is not much to dislike in this collection.

The belief that the time 11:11 has mystical powers has been adopted by believers in New Age philosophies.[4] However, skeptics say that Uri Geller's examples of 11:11 phenomena in world events are examples of post-hoc reasoning[5] and confirmation bias.[6] (Wikipedia)

I'm not a believer but this CD has me wondering ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2009
Simply amazing, this album continues the ascent of Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero to the heights of Guitar Heroes!

This album is an astonishing display of virtuosity. After a tremendous debut album, the pair follow up with original works that are homages to the rock musicians who inspired them. Foremost cuts include Hanuman, an homage to Carlos Santana, Buster Voodoo, an homage to Hendrix, and 11:11, an homage to Pink Floyd.

These three are the cuts getting extensive radio play, but the whole album is a marvelous body of work. Ignore the fact that the Grammys ignore this power guitar duo. They are the most original group in rock today!

One last comment - if you love rock guitar - you simply have to see these two live. They can totally energize the room with their skill and bravado. They are awesome in concert, they can jam with anyone, and they play with energy and style that no one else can match. I've seen them live three times, and I'd happily pay double to see them again.

Background:

Rodrigo is a classic "finger picking" thrash metal guitarist, never mind that he's playing an acoustic guitar. He shreds with the best of them.

But Gabriela - well, she is unmatched in the history of rock guitar. If experts consider Steve Cropper the greatest rhythm guitarist of all time, well Steve, you finally have competition. Gabriela manages to be a full drum kit, bass, and rhythm guitar simultaneously. Her hands are faster than hummingbird wings, and when you wonder if anyone can actually produce three musical lines at once - just listen. She is stunning, awe inspiring - the greatest I've ever heard.

If you love acoustic or classical guitar - buy this. If you love metal - buy this. If you love technical achievement on any instrument - buy this.

You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
Great music, but was missing the bonus DVD. This is the second time I've ordered this CD and both times the bonus DVD had not been included. The description lists "Bonus DVD with tutorials, exclusive interviews, & live concert footage !"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
Rodrigo y Gabriela have outdone themselves. Their 2006 self-titled release is one of my favorite cds of all time, but it just went down a small notch because they've raised the bar again. I've often wished the same musicians who write catchy hooks, riffs, and lines could be the ones who have extreme technical prowess on their instruments. In Rodrigo y Gabriela, however, this rare combination of musical talents shines from every bar; somehow, even more complexity and interplay between Rodrigo's scintillating melodic play and Gabriela's unwavering rhythms comes through on 11:11 than on the self-titled album.

Highlights for me: Hanuman, beginning an album that drives just as hard as what R y G fans have come to expect, the lyrical Logos (track 4), Savitri (track 7, good luck getting this riff out of your head all day!), Hora Zero (track 8, where Rodrigo shows what he's really capable of...simply astonishing) and Atman (track 10, where the band's metal roots come out in full force without offending acoustic listeners. My only gripe with the album is this should have been the last track; read on.) The title track shows up at the end, and unlike 2006's closer "PPA," brings the album down a notch in intensity rather than driving straight through to the end. I like this artistic decision, but prefer PPA as a closer, being somewhat truer to their unusual, brilliant goal of producing metal on acoustic guitars. (On 11:11, R y G's distance from flamenco gets smaller and smaller, but I'm inclined to think anyone in the upper echelons of acoustic guitar playing will start to sound like some type of flamenco [as huge a genre as "jazz," truthfully] at some point.)

WELL DONE Rodrigo y Gabriela, I was worried about a followup to the phenomenon that was the self-titled album, but they have proven their staying power and expanded on their already impressive musicality, all while broadening their base of ravenous, addicted listeners! Though I don't have "Re-Foc," an early 2000s release, this album and 2006's "Rodrigo y Gabriela" are absolute essentials in the collections of fans of acoustic guitar, metal, folk, international, eclectic, flamenco, Latin...well, you get the idea!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
I didn't know much about Rodrigo Y Gabriela a Mexican couple playing Classical guitar duets till heard them on Jaco CD soundtrack and now building up my collection with 11:11 one of their better Albums playing great catchy acoustic guitar on 11 tracks and 45 minutes long of different styles from what I read are Nuevo Flamenco - Rock and Heavy Metal different to what I usually listen to yet Awesome Five Stars .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
Fast delivery; CD as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
I love all their music. So much talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2009
This is my third CD of this phenomenal pairing of two amazing guitarists. The DVD included with this CD is such a great idea because watching them play takes you to a whole new level of appreciation..you really have to see them to understand what they are really doing. I love guitar music and this album continues their blended style of Jazz/Flamenco/Rock in an incredibly unique way. We are a family of musicians with lots of friends that are musicians (yes, real musicians) and Rodrigo y Gabriela is on everyone's iPod. They write their own material and also include some Rock Legend cover pieces like Stairway to Heaven, an arrangement that will blow you right out of your seat. This one cover alone is worth the price of the album. Stairway to Heaven has been covered by so many artists, including several that never should have attempted it, but Rodrigo y Gabriela have managed to make it fresh and their own, definitely one you will remember for all the right reasons. One last thing... I won't tell you where the 11:11 title came from, but it's really interesting as is the last cut of the same name....get the CD and see for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2012
This album is a delight from start to finish.

The amazing rhythms these two produce on most of the tunes are guaranteed to get your blood pumping and your feet tapping.

Liked the tasteful addition of electronic elements (wah, vinyl static, doors opening and closing) and other instuments on some of the tracks - never overwhelms the beauty of what this duo is laying down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
Having seen Rodrigo y Gabriella on Audience Network's "Guitar Center Sessions,"
I was impressed by their music and intrigued by their story. After watching several youtube
videos (here is my favorite: -[...] ,
I ordered "11:11."

This is an awesome CD! Do you like acoustic guitar music? Do you like heavy metal music? Are you
on the lookout for something new and unusual in your listening experience?

If you answered yes to any of these, order this CD and prepare to be blown away! I have always been
a fan (I play as well) of all genres of rock and roll, and this is the freshest, most exciting thing
I have heard in many a long year.

Oh yeah, a bonus dvd is included, so you can watch(and be amazed by Rodri's speed and Gabi's indescribable right-
hand technique. There is also a demo of one of the tracks that's sure to "discourage a lot of up and comin'
boys."

Buy it now! You can thank me later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse