Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by secondspin
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Used discs may not include digital content.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

110 in the Shade 1999 Studio Cast

Cast Recording

3.9 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Cast Recording, March 9, 1999
$23.99 $5.98

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

While 110 in the Shade isn't as familiar to audiences as Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones's The Fantasticks (but then what is?), the original Broadway production was a modest success in 1963 and this 1999 studio recording makes a compelling case for its evocative and beautiful music. Based on N. Richard Nash's play The Rainmaker, it's set in a western state in the middle of a devastating drought. Enter a stranger (Ron Raines) who promises to bring rain, but first must convince the town spinster (Karen Ziemba, 2000 Tony winner for Contact) of his powers--and of course romance ensues. (Music Man, anyone?) This excellent studio cast (also including Richard Muenz and Walter Charles, plus Kristin Chenoweth in a cameo) features a number of principals from the 1992 New York City Opera revival, and the two-disc set incorporates new songs from that production as well as transitional music and underscoring to create a complete recording that is a near-theatrical experience. The choral and orchestral work is outstanding, and the beautiful booklet includes a detailed synopsis, an essay on Schmidt and Jones as well as new notes by both, and photographs, but no lyrics. As an extra treat, though, the booklet also has Schmidt's striking paintings, which he used to help him visualize certain scenes as he was composing. This is very simply one of JAY's best releases ever. --David Horiuchi

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ov - NSO/John Owen Edwards
  2. Gonna Be Another Hot Day - Richard Muenz/Tom Jones/Janet Watson/Harvey Schmidt/Mark Slama...
  3. Train Whistle/Lizzie's Comin' Home - Sam Samuelson/Walter Charles/George Lee Andrews
  4. Love, Don't Turn Away - Sam Samuelson/Walter Charles/George Lee Andrews/Karen Ziemba
  5. Opening Scene Two/Poker Polka - Richard Muenz/Sam Samuelson/Walter Charles/George Lee Andrews
  6. The Hungry Men - Karen Ziemba/Marcus Allen Cooper/Bill Tatum/Hilary Western/Liza Hobbs/Art Ostrin
  7. Starbuck's Entrance/Rain Song - Sam Samuelson/Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  8. You're Not Foolin' Me - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  9. Cinderella - Karen Ziemba/Scott Charles/Thomas Connor/Sapphire Elia/Camilla Hunsley/Rory Muir/Fiona Taylor
  10. Raunchy - George Lee Andrews/Karen Ziemba
  11. A Man And A Woman - Richard Muenz/Karen Ziemba
  12. Finale Act One/Old Maid - George Lee Andrews/Karen Ziemba

Disc: 2

  1. Entr'acte - NSO/John Owen Edwards
  2. Everything Beautiful Happens At Night/Dance (Reprise) - Company/Dancers
  3. End Of Scene - NSO/John Owen Edwards
  4. Melisande - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  5. Simple Little Things - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  6. Scene/Incidental Music - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  7. Little Red Hat - Sam Samuelson/Kristin Chenoweth
  8. Is It Really Me? - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  9. End Of Scene Four - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  10. Wonderful Music - Richard Muenz/Sam Samuelson/George Lee Andrews/Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  11. Finale Act Two/Rain Song - Ron Raines
  12. Curtain Music - NSO/John Owen Edwards
  13. Exit Music - NSO/John Owen Edwards
  14. Everything Beautiful Happens At Night/ Shooting Star - Ron Raines/Company
  15. You're Not Fooling Me - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  16. Raunchy - George Lee Andrews/Karen Ziemba
  17. Is It Really Me? - Karen Ziemba/Ron Raines
  18. Why Can't They Leave Me Alone? - Richard Muenz

Product details

  • Performer: Harvey Schmidt, Rod Raines, Karen Ziémba, Tom Jones, George Lee Andrews, et al.
  • Orchestra: Hershy Kay, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: John Owen Edwards
  • Composer: Harvey Schmidt
  • Audio CD (March 9, 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Cast Recording
  • Label: Jay Records
  • ASIN: B00000IIPS
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #289,980 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 16 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

A customer
May 26, 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
August 6, 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 19, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 13, 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews