Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $11.01 (69%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle by [Joanne Huist Smith]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,855 ratings
Best Price in 30 Days
Best Price in 30 Days means that the current price is lower than, or equal to, the lowest price this item sold for on Amazon.com in the past 30 days.

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you buy the Kindle edition of this book. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.

Stories told one episode at a time. Start reading for free.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Joanne Huist Smith is a native of Dayton, OH. She earned a bachelor's degree in English at Wright State University and worked as a reporter for the Dayton Daily News. She is the mother of three and grandmother of two. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Woman's Day Book Club Pick


"The book's simple prose and profound message will fill even the Grinch-iest hearts with Christmas spirit while affirming the age-old adage, it really is the thought that counts." --
USA Today

"A funny, knockout-moving new memoir...Read it, share it, pay it forward." --
The Good Life

"[A] touching true story." --
Women's Day

"A feel-good story guaranteed to move you." --
Good Housekeeping

"Inspiring readers throughout the country and around the world this holiday season." --
The Dayton Daily News

“THE 13TH GIFT is the kind of Christmas book whose message is much bigger than the holiday. This memoir is written
from the heart and for the heart.” --Jason Wright, New York Times bestselling author of Christmas Jars

“I loved
The 13th Gift—a truly heartfelt and intelligent book.  Joanne Smith deftly reconciles the difficult terrain that ranges between the Christmas we all want and the tragedies of life that sooner or later beset us all.  Highly recommend it to all, but particularly to those that are dealing with recent losses and don’t’ know how or if they will ever find their way back.” –Greg Kincaid, author of the bestselling Christmas with Tucker and A Christmas Home

"The beautiful story told in 
The 13th Gift reinforces how the most precious gifts at Christmas are when people give unconditional love and support and it proves how compassion and a kind heart can change lives.  Acts of kindness can create a legacy that lives on from generation to generation." --Laura Schroff, New York Times bestselling author, An Invisible Thread

“If there ever was a roller-coasterish page-turner of a Christmas book, this would be it. As a veteran devourer of Christmas stories short and long, fictional and true, I mistakenly assumed I'd encountered every conceivable plot variant in the genre. Turns out I was dead-wrong. Joanne Hurst Smith's wondrous story hit me from so many directions, playing on the strings of so many emotions, that it left me limp at the end Quite simply, it is a
masterpiece.” --Joe L. Wheeler, Ph.D., author of the bestselling Christmas in My Heart® series

"The 13th Gift has a touch of magic in it. It's a lovely story that proves we can recover from any loss, strengthened by the blessings of others. It's a classic for the Christmas season--and all seasons."--Glenn Plaskin, author of Katie Up And Down The Hall: The True Story Of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors Into A Family

"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes
The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas memoir about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love." --Book Reporter.com --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B00K4C3QUA
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Harmony (October 28, 2014)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ October 28, 2014
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1919 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 226 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 1,855 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
1,855 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 24, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 16, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 22, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 1, 2023
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 19, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 7, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 4, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 31, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

LC
5.0 out of 5 stars The gift goes on giving
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 23, 2015
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
marianne
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, i spiring thank you to the author
Reviewed in Australia 🇦🇺 on December 31, 2014
Moonwolf
5.0 out of 5 stars Book
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on January 19, 2023
Jo O'Neill
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed reading this book
Reviewed in Australia 🇦🇺 on January 15, 2015
Sharon Summerfield
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read.
Reviewed in Australia 🇦🇺 on November 7, 2016
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?