Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 25, 2005
"Please retry"
$35.00 $19.98

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started
Available from these sellers.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Bogey Man
  2. It Keeps Raining
  3. Worry Blues
  4. I Don't Know
  5. I'm Mad
  6. Got To Have It
  7. Beggar Or Bandit
  8. Night Latch
  9. You're A Fool
  10. Monday Woman
  11. I Got To Go
  12. Cruisin'
  13. I'm Tired
  14. Would You Baby?
  15. Late Again
  16. Come On Baby
  17. Lonely Blues
  18. Willie's Blues
  19. Poison Ivy
  20. Say Man

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 25, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Classics R&B
  • ASIN: B000A8MG4A
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,212,205 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Willie Mabon Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By George O'Leary TOP 500 REVIEWER on August 13, 2015
Format: Audio CD
Chronological Classics CDs were a concept of Gilles Pétard of France who set out in 1989 to ambitiously re-release as many of the 78-rpm Jazz/Big Band (Swing) selections as he could, each with detailed and informative inserts. The first volume was Ella Fitzgerald 1935-1937 and, after producing close to 1,000 CDs, the series ceased operations in 2004 after filing for bankruptcy. By that time Pétard had started on some of the earliest 45-rpm/33 1/3-rpm discs encompassing many of the top R&B artists of the time. Some covered in his massive series warranted more than one volume, and it’s possible that R&B vocalist/pianist and harmonica player Willie Mabon could have been one of them had bankruptocy not intervened.

As it is, this volume captures all 3 sides he placed on the forerunner of what is now known as the R&B charts in 1953/54. Born Willie James Mabon on October 24, 1925 and raised in Memphis, he was 17 when he and his family relocated to Chicago where, in 1949, he formed a band called The Blues Rockers (with guitarist Eddie El, bassist Earl Dranes and vocalists James Watts and Al Benson. Together they cut Trouble In My Home b/w Times Are Getting Hard which came out as Aristocrat 407, a label launched in Chicago in 1947 by Charles and Evelyn Aron, Fred and Mildred Brount and Art Spiegel. Then in early 1950, they had When Times Are Getting Better b/w Blues Rockers’ Bop emerge as Aristocrat 413 which, as it turns out, was an “alternate” 413 since that label number was also assigned to Six Three O b/w Jackson Town Gal by The Nighthawks (vocal by Robert McCullum). None charted nationally and none of The Blues Rockers sides are here.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse