Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 128 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 237 reviews
on April 17, 2013
Saw this movie at Sundance and have lent this disc out a few times. It's a shame it didn't get a wider release because friends who are not indie film enthusiasts have reported that they enjoy it too.

Julie Delpy's character Marion is a French artist living in NYC with her boyfriend and their two kids from other relationships. Her family comes to visit and all hell breaks loose. It resonates because bringing your family into your life as an adult can be jarring- the things that used to amuse can grate, relationships are tested, you often find yourself questioning your own choices- but you learn a lot about yourself in the process.

The soundtrack is lovely, filled with original music that sticks in your head long after the movie is over. And Chris Rock is amazing as the boyfriend- he does a bit of improv that is tender and sweet and just fantastic. Well worth a watch!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
... this is a MUST SEE comedy love story ... it'll make you want to go light up a joint in front of a NYC police station ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie--it was actually funny and enjoyable. Two people, two races, two cultures (American, French) yet the film still managed to be about relationships without diving into stereotypes or negativity, while using their differences to propel the movie along. It was great to see Chris Rock in a semi-serious role and not make his voice funny sounding or shout out things like, "What's crackalakin?" or "Afro circus!"

The two days in NY represents the length of time Marion's (Julie Delpy) family is in town from France and how they turn live-in lovers (Marion and Mingus's) lives upside down. And in turning stereotypes on their heads, it's Marion's sister and her boyfriend who look for drugs, and the boyfriend who brings a drug dealer to the house. The sister is sex crazed and likes to walk around the house nude, the father is happy-go-lucky, but a lot of things get lost in translation between he and Mingus (Chris Rock). And that is just the beginning of all that goes wrong when family comes into town!

The last ten to twenty minutes of the movie, with it's "soul searching," almost undid this movie. It made the movie into something totally different from where it started, and felt so forced and over the top, and quite frankly a new movie in its own right (I won't go into it for fear of giving the plot away).

But for the ending, I probably would have given this movie four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
A comedy about when the inlaws come to visit. Chris Rock and Julie Deply make a great comedic pair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2016
As funny a movie as I have ever seen. Such a joy watching Julie Delpy in this role after seeing her in the Ayn Rand movie as a kind of stilted cult follower and very conservative woman/wife. Changed my whole concept of her - will be very interested in checking her out in other movies. Did not know she was born in France. Reminds me of the kind of wife/woman I would love to have!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2012
Manhattan couple Marion (Julie Delpy) and Mingus (Chris Rock) must survive the invasion of Marion's family from France. The saying goes fish and house guest go bad in a few days. However, these guests may prove too much for Marion and Mingus' relationship. Marion tries to keep her sister, and father in check. This movie is driven by dialog! That something most movies can't claim. Mingus provides an outsiders view of Marion's family and makes no excuses for her families' outrageous behavior. This is a great movie!

Watch the movie and decide if you could survive two days with Marion's family. Better yet could someone survive two days with your family?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
Mediocre at best. One thing I've learned about ratings here on AP, is that if it's not at least a 3+ star movie, it's not worth watching. So many paid reviewers and - I'm assuming - friends of the studios - post 5 star reviews for just about every movie, that it skews the entire rating system. So in effect, you end up with this 3 AP stars = 1 star in real life, 3.5 = 2, 4 = 2.5, 4.5 = 3 real stars, and beyond that it's pot luck - because 5 stars here has no meaning whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
Like Delpy's other movies, surprising and surprisingly good. There are moments where I wanted to stop watching but if you persevere, it is worth it. Original in content, presentation, characterization, music and theme it all comes together in the end and is touching, engaging and makes you think.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
Cute enough, but not something I'd pay to see. Julie Delpy is certainly beautiful and talented. There were some LOL funny moments in an otherwise chaotic story. I'm not a fan of Chris Rock, but I liked him in this role. Unfortunately, he broke character when talking to his hero in his office. Overall, it helps to be a Francophile, as there are plenty of subtitles, and I could barely understand a word of the spoken French.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
Most comedies just make me chuckle and may have one laugh out loud moment. This movie had several and it was unexpected. I had been in a down mood before the movie and wasn't expecting to actually laugh. But I did and fully belly laughs at that.

The movie is about a blended family and a visit from the foreign in-laws. There are subtitles for part of the movie but I didn't mind them. All in all, I found the movie funny and time went by fast.

Note that I am not an expert film buff. I simply know what I like. A film student might see the same film and have a very different take on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Need customer service? Click here