Oil month Automotive HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry

  • 20
  • Customer Reviews



on May 8, 2016
Great movie, will make any real man cry (at least a little).

Overall, it's great what Schindler did but a little upsetting watching him waste time and money with the evil Nazis in control of the torture. In the end one should have no remorse for anything he did because he did so much more good!

I love this story and it makes me want to do more for our human family (we all are one family, brothers & sisters) but for most of of us we will never have to go through anything so terrible. Anything this motivating and heroic is just amazing!

I will watch this movie many times but others tell me they would never own it and couldn't stomach it more than once or twice. This should be a high school requirement for everyone everywhere.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2013
I prefer reading history, but this is how you do a movie. Because it can show things you can barely imagine reading... then you see it. And it's horrific.

I've seen the DVD version, and was floored by the quality of the Blu-Ray. Black and white/contrast is phenomenally good, details and sharpness are top-notch, film grain is excellent, and sound quality is clear, crisp, and distinct - especially with hushed and background tones... the restoration is truly spectacular.

The Blu-Ray, as a 20th anniversary edition, the time and care put into it does make it a must-have.

And, obviously, the drama, cinematography, moral of the story, the pain and extortion, the murder of innocent people -- NEVER FORGET.

This movie is an absolute masterpiece, in terms of storytelling, acting, writing... the only sad part is that it's based on real life events... And life shouldn't have to be so horrific... why do people treat each other so badly...
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2017
First of all, this biopic is so good it sparked an interest in learning about all aspects of WWII. Schindler (Liam Neeson) is realistically portrayed and it deepens the plot and drama to watch him save many Jewish lives while maintaining his safety among Nazi peers. Neeson does a great job executing the complexities of Man vs. Man and Man vs. Himself, this is worthy of 5 stars.

However, it is a LONG movie. I don't recommend it if you aren't ready to pay attention, immerse yourself in the characters and serious storyline, read some English subtitles, see graphic and tear-jerking images then pass this one for now.

Easier and very enjoyable if you're in the mood to get serious and appreciate this horrific time in history, and involve yourself in the heroic yet self-serving leading role.
Drags on in some places depending on your mood puts it at a 4.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2014
5 stars for I LOVE it! seems to be the wrong response. The only thing I love was the movie brought to light an awareness of the atrocities of Hitler's madness

He was an imperfect man. . .a hero and yet not. . .save so many Jews and yet he unequivocally expresses his disdain for himself, that he did not do more.

Let none of us chose to do nothing because we can't do everything or that we will do it imperfectly.

My dad was not a saint and yet a hero in my eyes because he fought against injustice. He was the voice for those who had no voice or whose voices were ignored. He was not afraid of standing up to the "powers that be" and say " NO!.this is wrong and I am not going to back down"
I am not even sure, to this day, if my siblings or mom knew about this But one day I gathered the mail, and on a postcard was a death threat. I even now, am shaking and remembering the fear I felt for him. . .for us.
He once expressed that our phones might be tapped. I originally thought he was joking, until I saw that postcard.
I' feel I have followed my father's example ( as well as my mothers)
My oldest brother said at their 50th Wedding Anniversary. . "Our dad is a FIGHTER and our Mom is a LOVER"
No truer words have ever been spoken.
I thank Stephen Spielberg for making this movie.
All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.
Edmund Burke
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 2, 2014
This film is hands down the best one I've ever seen on the Holocaust, and there have been a couple of others that were very good. Liam Neeson's performance is stellar. As the Nazi industrialist who gradually realizes what the Nazis are doing to the Jews and has compassion for the Jews, Neeson gives a nuanced performance that is believable and skillfully done. The soundtrack is artfully matched to the film's action and provides cues at every turn as to what the mood and context in each scene are. Ralph Fiennes as the psychopathic Amon is chilling. Some of the devices that Spielberg uses in the film are pure genius, such as the saying and typing of each name on the list. This burns the memory of the names into the brains of the viewers and indirectly pays tribute to the real people the names belong to, some of whom appear at the end of the movie to pay homage to the real Oskar Schindler. The little girl in the red coat is a silent but haunting character that embodies the senseless tragedy of the Holocaust. This movie is both inspiring and difficult to watch. It is so exquisitely crafted, moment by moment, that you cannot take your eyes off it in most scenes, yet the horror and depravity of Nazi brutality brands your heart with a searing recognition of the unreasoning inhumanity that is both maddening and tragic at the same time. Whatever you think of Spielberg or the actors in the film, you will very likely never forget the experience of viewing it, and that was undoubtedly Spielberg's intent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2016
I have not seen this movie since its original release. It made an unforgettable impression on me then, but this time the impact was even more intense. It is such an extraordinary movie, in subject matter, acting, and cinematography. I had forgotten how effective the black-and-white production made this film. I'm getting ready to make a trip to Poland and Auschwitz and am glad I watched this film again in preparation for the experience . It is such a graphic and compelling reminder of what a horrific and shameful time this was in modern history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 29, 2016
This story is so sad that I thought I shouldn't see the movie. The movie depicts actions by thousands of people who don't seem human, even though they came from a very high level of culture. Their victims were shown realistically, yet there is something redeeming about their attitudes even as they were on the way to slaughter. The musical score is ravishingly beautiful and the performance leaves nothing to be desired. I bought the
CD of just the soundtrack and it is among the best I have ever heard. I also bought and learned the three solos for violin and piano. I can't praise this movie enough! Somehow it captures the idea that humanity may be threatened but it cannot be destroyed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2016
This movie is incredible! I first watched it when I was in high school and it brought the true horror of WWII to life. Reading about the atrocities committed by the Nazis was nothing compared to actually seeing them played out. I watched this as soon as it arrived and I was moved to tears by the interviews with the Schindler's Jews. The way they speak of Schindler is heartbreaking. For a period of time, he stood between his Jews and certain death, risking his own life to save everyone he could. Liam Neeson gave an epic performance, and this movie is worth every award it was given! Bravo!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2016
Powerful movie. Started slow and was a little difficult to understand the dialogue, but the last 2 hours were strong and you appreciate more and more what Schindler did during a very difficult time. I did not read the book and cannot speak to the portrayal relative to the book; however, I have read a number of books on the war and in particular the concentration camp Auschwitz. In my view the movie is very true to the experiences of the times. Along with the Pianist I would highly recommend this movie for the historical representation. Note some scenes can be difficult to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2013
All these descriptions fit Oskar Schindler, who saved 1100 Polish Jews from the Auschwitz ovens during the second World War.

Before we get into a critique of the 20th Anniversary DVD of the 1993 movie, let's deal a bit in fact and fiction.

Fiction: In his overly-sentimental, romantic way, director Steven Spielberg fudges some facts of the way the list developed and deals in some fantasies about the man Schindler himself.

Fact: If you want a realistic account of the man Oskar Schindler and his wife Emile Schindler (whose role in all of this got short shrift from Spielberg in the movie) you should read the book: "Oskar Schindler: The Untold Account....................." by David Crowe. Crowe deals with the real Schindler and the real source of the list, plus Mrs. Schindler's outstanding role in affairs, both during and after the war.

And now to a critique of the 20th Anniversary DVD movie.

In the movie, Spielberg creates a legend of the saviour, Oskar Schindler, because he deserves it. (Schindler is portrayed by Liam Neeson.) The movie is shot in black and white without the brilliance of colour so that our sense of the stark, heart-rending facts are not diverted by our sense of colour. Only one scene shows any colour whatsoever, at the time the Krakow ghetto was being violently cleared out. A beautiful little girl is trotting along the side of the people being cruelly evacuated. Her coat is coloured red. This is a symbol of the blood shed on all of the innocents. The girl herself, although appearing as an innocent child just trotting along unknowingly, proves not to be that unknowing. She goes into a vacated apartment building, ascending to the top apartment, and hides under a bed. The innocence of the girl, then the knowledge of her destination, makes this a chilling scene.

Oskar Schindler was born in Brinnlitz,, Czechoslovakia (now Czech Republic) just south of the Polish border. When the war broke out (September 1, 1939) and the Germans overran Poland, he made his way to Krakow, Poland, and opened a business which produced pots and pans and cutlery, his market being the German forces. In order to achieve his market,he goes through a lot of bribery with black market goods for the German higher-ups, a lot of procurement of willing women for them, a lot of orgies, a lot of bottles of excellent wines, and the procurement of other rare goods only available through the black market.

After the Germans send residents of the Krakow ghetto to be gassed systematically in the death camp, Auschwitz, those still fit to work are sent to a concentration camp set up at Plawitz. The overseer is the sadistic Armon Goeth, who has a villa built on a hill above the camp and just for fun, sits up there on his balcony, randomly shooting unsuspecting Jewish interns walking around the camp. Following the war, Goeth was hung for war crimes. But while he was commandant, his greatest enjoyment - other than attending Oskar's orgiastic drunken parties - was random shooting of Jew, and/or beating up his Jewish maid.

When the Germans were losing, with the Russians advancing from the East and the Allies advancing from the West, the concentration camp was closed down and all workers sent to Auschwitz. These were meant to include the Schindler Jews, who lived in the camp and worked at the Schindler factory during the day.

Schindler and his erstwhile Jewish accountant, Isaac Stern, make up a list of all the workers in his factory, and include Goeth's maid. With a lot of bribing, Schindler gets his Jewish work force sent to him. However, through a cruel twist of fate, the women, in a separate train from the men, are sent to Auschwitz. Just as the Marines save the community at the last moment, Schindler, through more bribing (this time with diamonds) gets the women out of there and sent back to his factory. But because of the retreat of the Germans, Schindler's business is to be liquidated.

So he returns to his home town of Brinnlitz, Czechoslovakia, and opens a plant there, producing munitions for the Germans. He is aware that the war is nearly over and tells Isaac Stern that if the plant ever produces ammunition, he will be sadly disappointed. At this point, Mrs. Schindler reappears in his life (she had left because he wouldn't give up his womanizing), a clinic is opened for the ill, and she does outstanding work in it (which is only alluded to in the movie).

You'll want to see what happens to Schindler and the workers once the war ends and the Jews reward him in their everlasting gratitude.

Oskar Schindler is saviour and hero to the 1100 survivors and, in 1993, their 6,000 descendants. This DVD includes interviews with some of those survivors, which is a feature which should not be missed.

The very end of the movie switches to full colour. Scene: Israel; Oskar Schindler's grave; a parade to put a stone on his grave (an honour) by some of the 1100 whose lives were alluded to in the movie. Emile Schindler is there. The widow of Isaac Stern is there, accompanied by Ben Kingsley, who brilliantly portrays Isaac Stern in the movie. At the end of this scene, a tall, bearded shadow of a man places two roses on Schindler's grave. It is Steven Spielberg.

If this scene does not bring tears to your eyes nothing ever will.

I gave this movie five stars since the movie in itself is brilliant, one of the greats of all time. Through the story of the Krakow ghetto and the Schindler Jews (as they called themselves) Steven Spielberg presents a brilliant microcosm of the macrocosm of Jewish suffering at the hands of the Germans during the second World War. The elimination of six million Jews was the result of technology gone stark raving mad, the evil vision of one madmen which infected a whole nation.

And Schindler, a deeply flawed human being, was still and always will be, a saviour.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse