Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 128 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 222 reviews
on July 19, 2016
What a frustrating read from someone who believes there is more to a Company and its Products than just its brand.

First off... Ignore the entire last half of the book on anything web based (what they call "the Net"). To be fair..the book was written in 2002, a stone-age ago in terms of the Internet, but the narcissistic assumptions made are so far off.... Such as...
-Yahoo is the global leader in search and always will be (Google yet?)
-Amazon is the leader in online book sales, but will fail if they expand outside of books...
-eTrade will fail because of its name alone
-AOL/CompuServe will continue to dominate
-......and the list goes on.

Even for the first half of the book (and a part at the very end), read the suggestions/lessons, but not the examples that say such things as...
-GM/Chev have lost market share, because of their confusing product naming (Ever heard of quality coming into a customer's decision to purchase?!)
-Levi's failed because of branding (not because every other company made their jeans overseas at 10% the cost)
-Apple needs to stick to computers. No one wants to surf the web from their phone, or listen to music from their phone.
-Product always diverge, no one wants convergence (opposite of what a smart phone, table, PC, TV, Xbox is today?)...

In business schools we used to call books like this "airport business books" that sell to people rushing through airports with their flashy covers and catchy titles.

Again, read the first 22 laws, but ignore the examples. The authors wrote their law and then looked to the market to prove their point. Not research based where you have controls, variables and prove results based on research evidence.
Ignore the 11 laws of Internet Branding.
Go in knowing that everything to the authors is black-and-white and only their opinion matters.

I could go on ... but it would violate my law of moving onto better things.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
I have a business background but no marketing/publicity experience. This book was a great, great (that is great two times) at teaching the fundamentals of branding and even when marketing and publicity come into the equation. A must for anyone wanting to create a service or product in this new marketplace. Especially online.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2017
I wish I has read the reviews before buying this. It's so outdated that it is useless.
It's written before social media like Facebook, Pinterest or instagram came to be actually it just deals with AOL so its even before MySpace oh my!
The points on branding with color or terrible and wrong.
Please don't buy this book and save yourself the frustration.
It quotes brands as successful and uses them as examples that have actually gone under.
Ugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
One of the best straight forward, to the point, apply immediately and get a better result books you can buy on a marketing subject.

I had worked in the business world for fifteen years before I started my own one man operation twenty eight years ago. I have read many marketing books, I read economic, marketing, and small business articles all the time, and I focus on those same subjects on news and talk shows ('Your Business" w/ J. J. Ramberg Sunday mornings on MSNBC, etc.).

This book is one of the best collections of immediately applicable high quality marketing information you are ever going to find. There may be many books just as good as this one, but none better.

P.S. You should also buy 'The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing' and 'Positioning' by the same authors. They will be the best set of marketing books you will own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
This has been an awesome book!!! As I've been working on rebranding my business, turning it from a mom hobby into a real company, this book has given invaluable insights!! Definitely a must have for anyone in the business industry! Or anyone that likes to understand the how and why behind things. It's near to now be able to recognize certain factors that go into business and see how they all relate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
I've been an advertising copywriter for 25 years. This is one of three books I recommend to anyone wanting to become a more effective copywriter or marketer. The principles in this book are so simple, a lot of companies won't try them (or abandon them for some new idea). I've been around long enough to watch them proved true over and over again--for big brands and small businesses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
I've been around for a long time and was humbled by the information in this book. I realized how uninformed I really was. You're never too young or too old if you are in business to learn how and why branding works. I felt like I took a full semester of college in Branding and the read was hard to put down and it left me wanting more... An exceptional and well written book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
It has some useful information that makes sense but on some, author makes terrible mistakes.
For example, he says in "Law of Vanity" - he says that most brands that extends their product line will fail citing examples such as Amazon (books) and Apple (personal computers) but look at where they are now?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
This book is a must-have for anyone who has their own product or company. Very readable with tons of insight. Love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
It is hard to place 100% faith in the laws when some of the references have fallen out of context. Yahoo is no longer the dominant search engine. It's Google and search engine still plays a role. Also amazon not only expanded into everything (not just books), but also has been insanely successful. Aside from that the book is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse