Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 510 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 544 reviews
on January 10, 2013
Bioshock 1 was a fantastic game. It probably has one of the best storylines ever written for a video game and is downright fun to play. Breaking away from traditional FPS's, they gave you magic on top of guns, allowing a bit of diversity. The environment is also great; creepy but beautiful in a classic sort of way and very unique to the FPS world (which is usually filled with space or the middle east). It's one of the most memorable games I've ever played and is still enjoyable today. Of course, without a strong multiplayer, it's lifespan is much much shorter than say, COD, but it's still something worth experiencing first hand.

Bioshock 2 on the other hand is not as great. First off, it's made by a different studio which made the game feel really limited in its ability to branch off from the source material. Not that it's not a fun game, the gameplay is almost identical to the first one (except now you have a big ass drill on top of everything), but that's kind of the problem. It's TOO similar to the first game. You literally travel to the same city, and though the maps are different, the environment is still the same. The story isn't as compelling as the first, and it was a bit more of struggle to complete. It's not a bad game by any means, but it just can't compare to the original as it only slightly expands the narrative.

If you're a completionist though, this pack is for you. Both great games and both can be activated over Steam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
I decided to get into Bioshock due to the successful advertising campaign of Bioshock Infinite. Given the campaign, I decided to start from the beginning and was not disappointed.

Bioshock takes you into an Ayn Randian dystopia ran by Andrew Ryan (And. Ryan is an anagram of Ayn Rand). The setting of the game is dark and filled with creepy and/or scary moments for the first hour or so until you acclimate into the FPS environment. The story is compelling, the interactions with the characters completes a narrative, and the combat system is fluid.

Bioshock 2 continues the story in a post-Bioshock aftermath. The story here is weaker, but it gives you a second look at Rapture that you may desire. The Multiplayer in Bioshock 2 is unplayable, but seemed like it may have been a decent concept a few years ago.

If you want, you can go straight to Infinite without 1/2. However, I highly recommend playing through Bioshock 1 first. 2 is probably the more optional game of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
Rarely do you see a game with a world as rich as this. Bioshock tackles complex political philosophy right from the opening scene, using it as a backdrop to set the stage for the depths of human depravity.

It doesn't use the low-hanging fruit of communism or fascism, either - such a backdrop would have worked, but instead the writers chose the popular but digitally underrepresented philosophy of Objectivism, Ayn Rand's claim to fame. It's often difficult to disagree with the villains of the game as they espouse their sensible, rational views of free markets, even as you gun down twisted shadows of humans corrupted by the sinful excesses of those markets.

Bioshock boldly addresses the constant struggle the free world has between the desire for distributive justice and the stance for individual liberty. I don't think I've ever seen a game as brave as this succeed so well. It says a great deal about the talent of the writers to offer up a controversial philosophy without becoming preachy either way.

I haven't actually tried Bioshock 2 yet. Frankly, it doesn't matter if I do - the price was worth it for just the original. At the time I bought this pack, it was actually the same price to get the 2-pack here on Amazon as it was to get ONE of the games on Steam, so I just went for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
Amazing deal, and amazing series. I would recommend this series to anyone looking for something new.
This was going to be rated lower due to the Bioshock 1 .exe error, but thankfully i was able to resolve that within the first hour of purchasing this
For anyone else that runs windows 7 having issues ~ just go to the bioshock.exe file in the location under Build > Release, right click on it and click on properties, go to the compatibility tab and make sure its on Windows Vista mode, hit apply, then if you're accessing it through steam make sure to go to set launch options and enter "-dxlevel9" which will force it to run it in directx 9, which seems to be an issue. This fixed my problem thankfully, but there are a bunch of forums that have ridiculous suggestions.
Hope this helps anyone who needs it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
You pay $7.49 for two highly rated games that both work flawlessly. All you do is open up Steam on your desktop, go to "Games" and then "Activate a Product on Steam" to copy your product keys.

Beyond that, I really do think the SecuROM and Games For Windows Live integration is a non-issue. They don't impact the performance of the game in any way whatsoever. You can uninstall and re-install these games on your computer as many times as you wish without a problem.

NOTE: When I got into BioShock I noticed that the game had no sound. So, I found out that "Stereo Mix" needed to be enabled under the Sound properties (right-click for "Show Disabled Devices"). Furthermore, "Stereo Mix" wasn't even an available option because my audio drivers were too old. Make sure you update to the latest sound drivers for your computer if you run into this issue because it is a very common problem.

NOTE: Both games are pretty CPU intensive. I'm running an AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core CPU at stock settings) and CPU usage is consistently above 50%. So if you have a dual-core CPU maxed at 100% or similarly high CPU usage then don't blame it on a serious problem. It's just how the game runs.

Other than the two aforementioned things, they are highly interesting games. They're the type of games that just suck you in because the story, combat and pacing are handled so well. Buy, download and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
I was hooked on this series within 2 minutes of playing the first game on my PC so I devoured these two. Quite a few similarities between the two except you get to investigate areas and interact with characters you couldn't in the first one. The game-play is great, it's fast paced at times while giving you down time to explore the amazing environment in the ruins of this underwater all but abandoned city. Rapture just gets into your system and you find yourself wanting to stay in that world for longer than the game will allow. I won't even talk about how wonderful Bioshock Infinite is as it's probably one of the best games I've played.

If you haven't played the Bioshock games then I highly recommend them, I doubt you'll be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
The games are flat out amazing, classics. Must plays for any gamer in the world. With the release of Bioshock Infinite in February (hopefully), these games are even more exciting to go through because you know that you will be revisiting this gameplay in the future with overall improvements. The keys that you get with this bundle easy link with steam and everything else is taken care of. My only complaint is that Bioshock 2 uses Games For Windows Live but after the first install which can take up-to 30-40 minutes, it plays flawlessly.
Note: For anyone trying to run Bioshock 2 with an Intel Graphics Card, make sure you click "yes" when it asks you if you want to "run the game anyway" otherwise you will get stuck at a box saying Bioshock 2 for hours on end not knowing why the game wont start, the game will run beautifully and you will probably not have to worry about performance but the game just seems to have a little issue with the make of the card.
Highly recommend it to anyone who wants to play 2 amazing games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I got this bundle for $4.99 back in November. It's gone on sale at that price again since then so definitely wait to buy until it goes on sale again. That said I doubt you'll find a better deal anywhere.

The Bioshock franchise is all about atmosphere, that's what really makes them stand out to me. This is the type of game that once you play it you want to play something else that will pull you into the world like the one you just left. You don't think I want to play another shooter you think I want to play something else that's art deco and set under the sea.

These are steam activated keys and couldn't have been easier to deal with. There was no waiting to receive the key or problems with activation. I got my key instantly and activated it seconds later. I was playing the game a few minutes later.

The cheapest this combo has been on Steam has been like $9.99 so it's definitely better to check back every couple days for the amazon price. You won't be sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
Absolutely AMAZING price for these two! Activated on Steam in SECONDS and ready to know! It would be INSANE and BLASPHEMOUS not to get these at this price ($7.49?! Are you kidding me?!)! I've been looking to play through part 1 again, and never played part 2, but at 20.00 each on Steam I was gonna wait a while. Now I don't have to. Thanks Amazon! I'm once again BLOWN AWAY by your prices.

Bioshock itself is the most incredible single-player FPS I've ever come in contact with, hands down. The story is so rich, thrilling, and involving, that you won't want to put it down! It's so well written, the art style itself is fairly impeccable IMO, and everything about it for its timeline screams original and simply awesome. I do not recommend playing it in the dark, alone, however, as it tends to get a little frightening to say the least. Think horror-film silence broken style of adrenaline arousal. There's lots of that.

100% I say this was the best purchase dollar-for-value I've made gaming-wise in a LONG time. Not to mention the fact that Bioshock 2 has online multiplayer available... Again, wow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
Bioshock is one of those games that you won't soon forget. It's easily one of the pivotal games of the current generation. It's not without its issues, however. The infinite, no-consequences respawning can nerf the difficulty curve. As a spiritual successor to the System Shock franchise, it's got a decent amount of "horror" elements, but these deflate somewhat as you progress into the second act of the game. By the end, you're so all-powerful that not much even registers as scary.

Bioshock 2 is also included, and it's good, but nowhere near as great. You might as well play it if you enjoyed the first, but don't go in expecting as engaging or essential a game. For the price, it's hard to find just the one game, so you're essentially getting it free.

Both of these activate on Steam, so this is the perfect pack to gift to a friend who has never played, or just so you can toss out your discs if you bought the retail version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Need customer service? Click here