Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Blu-ray Audio|Change
Price:$35.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on October 27, 2012
This was my second disc dipping my toe into audiophile territory. I consider myself pretty much a regular guy that can appreciate and enjoy good music no matter the genre. I do find myself seeking out good jazz and classical music lately just to have something a bit peaceful and spacious to listen to. Got these discs to sample what 2L had to offer. Everything I was reading said, these guys know what they are doing. If you are looking for recordings that will really shine on a home theatre system, start here. OK, little pricey, but if it sounds that good, what the heck, money well spent.

In summary, I have been blown away by these recordings! It is almost a cliche to say "you think the artist are performing right in your living room", but my lord, close your eyes, and man it really does. It is surreal. I really love track 8, Ola Gjeilo 'North Country II', that song is so smooth, it feels as if I am standing right there over the piano.

Needless to say, this is a sampler set, I am now going back to the crack dealer, 2L, and picking up a few of the specific discs this 'reference recordings' set was made from.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
I bought this title hoping to get a title showing up the possibilities of blu ray and its new HD audio codecs and boy, was i in for a treat.
This is absolute audiophile reference material consisting of real multi channel recordings, although the producer does not use the "classical" disposition of the musicians for his recordings.
In the accompanying booklet there is a whole - very interesting - section about the setup of the musicians, the philosophy behind this and how it was reached with the input of recording engineer, musicians and conductor.

Everybody on the outlook for show-off effects will be disappointed though, this disc is about realistic and authentic reproduction of the music and not about virtual reality upmixes like many audio blu rays with the magic keywords "7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio" in all titles, to ensure to be found by everybody searching HD music .

This really is a must have for every audiophile and those looking for a showcase of high-def classical music, this record will make your system come alive. The better your playback system, the higher the rewards you get from this title.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2010
I am not a huge classical music fan, and most of the material on this disc wouldn't typically appeal to me, but the stunning sound when played back on Blu-ray through a high quality stereo would make anyone take notice. The included Hybrid SACD is very useful for listening on a CD player or SACD player, but the sound from the Blu-ray is really something else and leads to hope that I can get material that I really want to hear in the future.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
This is what a blu-ray audio disc should sound like. Perfect presentation and notes for the most discerning ear. The only downside is once you hear what music can sound like you will be upset that most sources won't come close.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
I got cold chills down my spine several different times while listening to this compilation. The musical selections are varied and each is awesome in its own way but some are absolutely transcendent. Being able to directly compare the sound of 5.1 vs. 2 channel, SACD vs. Blu-Ray, and LPCM vs. DTS HD MA is very nice, they could have easily just put all of the tracks in blu-ray LPCM and been done with it but being able to switch back and forth a/b style and finally hear an apples to apples comparison for yourself is very useful. If you are considering this disc I wholeheartedly encourage you to get it, otherwise you are missing out on wonderful music and a chance to make your system truly sing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
As usual, 2L products are of high quality, and the sound is always in the nest of all productions around the World. This was is maybe a little bit different, as a mixt of genre, but interesting to determine if your system is up todate, in which case you will appreciate the quality at this best. Morten, the boss is a purist, and as such, do not like compromises. I have a number of other titels from the catalog, with amways the same quality, that I can extract easily on my big system, but each have a number of particularities that make the listening interesting. Production is based on a Pyramix station from Merging, reputated for best recorders and processing system. Even if you appreciate the music but like less the style, you should consider first the quality, at least egal to refence test disc, so the title is not just smoke. To extract the best, listen it in a silent pièce, so you will detect the small details more easily. Recommanded for all types of audiophile.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
One of the biggest challenges is to find source material that is recorded with the highest quality to test high end sound systems. This is one of those great finds that every high end audio system owner needs to test and demo their system with. Each and every selection is recorded with the highest level one can find. It is truly rare to find such a high quality recorded source material. I would have given the rating a 5, but found that some of the selections just didn't seem to belong on this grouping of selections. If they would have been displaced with more appropriate selections it would have received the 5 rating for sure. Both 5.1 to test your home theater and stereo material gives all the detail and nuances that will make the best systems shine and lesser systems fade.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
This is definitely one of the better samplers. Outstanding recording quality, and good selection of music too. Was a little turned off by the price, but it was well worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2010
It is another fine recordings from the Norwegian 2L, suitable for testing purpose, because of fine music selection.
Only who listens the music "closed" to these discs can experience that not only advertisement the "audiophile reference recordings" on the cover art. What we get is really a five-star production!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
If you have a good multi-channel sound setup and are an audiophile and enjoy great music this album is recorded in the highest fidelity possible and the sound is astounding!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse