Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18SW_gno

5 Hour Energy Drink Shot, Berry, 12 Count
Flavor: Extra Strength Berry|Size: 12 Count|Change
Price:$26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 6, 2016
I've been taking these shots for many years now so I can attest to the fact that when it comes to simply keeping you awake all night and throughout the day. It's literally like taking multiple shots of espresso! You will be wired…!!! So fair warning, you're taking what amounts to a huge cup of coffee, along-side some other ingredients to keep you up, just know what you're getting into. I find 5-hour energy to be very effective when I have a late night of studying or in the morning after I’ve had a late night partying. It really helps me stay awake. However what they're not effective for is working out, and I’ve tried this, and it simply doesn’t compare to a traditional pre-workout.

If you've ever tried to workout while taking huge doses of caffeine or 5-hour energy you'll notice that you'll get very tired and very sore during and after your workout, but you won’t be able to sleep well. If you're planning on taking 5-hour energy to help power you through a work out I suggest trying a pre-workout, like this pre-workout, which is like the ones the Olympic athletes use, instead of this energy shot. There are no harmful fillers or chemical and it's formulated specifically to boost your performance in the gym, instead of just keeping you awake and alert. Some people actually use this pre-workout in lieu of caffeine, but I don't recommend this unless you're working out in the morning. I actually do use this method: I take my pre-workout, then go to the gym, then go to work. The energy I get from the pre-workout lasts throughout midday. I would not recommend taking both at the same time, you will get jittery and feel like crap frankly.

In summation, 5-hour energy works like a charm but has its limitations and the drawbacks. If you want something a little more formulated just take a pre-workout like the one I mentioned, or do a little more research into the concept to get an idea of what might work best for you.
review image
22 comments| 136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2017
Here’s what I take daily with the 5 hour energy and it works pretty incredibly. I take a 5 hour energy, Avocare meal replacement shake, Gold Standard Whey protein shake, a test booster, C4 pre-workout supplement, and now I’ve added Livigra by Biotek Nutrition – Male Enhancement Pills Testosterone Booster – Increases Size, Libido, Energy, Mood, Performance Stamina before sex (usually daily, if I’m lucky enough to get sex) and this combo turns out to keep my energy high, great pump for workouts and no crash after with enough energy at the end of the day for sex. My girlfriend loves the energy levels with the bonus of the extra size in the bedroom.
0Comment| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2016
Honestly, these work well. I use half a bottle at a time, never a full bottle. If your intention is to get energy, then this is obviously a better alternative to drinking an entire cup or more of another energy drink to get the same effect.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2016
My husband loves these! They keep him alert, as needed.

However, keep in mind - if you constantly drink these EVERYDAY, at some point, you potentially could start growing a resistance to them. This actually happened to my husband.

He backed off of them, drinking one every other to 3 days - and they work excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2016
I drink one of these every day after lunch now. Not sure if I'm getting addicted to them or not but they certainly put some pep in my step.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2015
Very effective, but must not be abused! Use it only "now and then", when you really need some extra energy to get through a demanding period. Not for exercise, unless you're competing and desperate for a boost. Not to be taken several times a day, or even daily. No side effects. Excellent product!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2016
What can you say about 5 Hour Energy that hasn't been said before. It is delicious and quick and powerful energy. I cannot take a full bottle, but I do take about a third every morning when I wake up. It's better than coffee. Quick, easy, and guaranteed to pick me up. If I take them on an empty stomach though, I sometimes get a headache, but I'm sensitive to caffeine (and know it) so this is easy for me to avoid. If you know yourself, you'd know how to utilize this best. I have some every day and love it, so I buy it in large amounts. But test yourself first so you know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2017
Well... I like it... it does give you a lot of energy. My problem was that it either kept me up or I couldn't stay asleep. I've kinda sensitive to caffeine.. I will have a cup of coffee every day and I didn't have the problem with my sleep pattern. I don't know why this seemed to effect me in that way. I still use it once in a while but can't do it every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2013
This is a good product. I lke the taste, I never ever use the whole bottle at once, due to I do not need that much! I take as estimate 1/3 of the bottle and as I feel tired or sluggish I will take as needed. I take this before my work outs and during. I take this because I am always feeling tired no matter what. If this helps anyone, I take a sip of this when my snooze button goes off the 1st time.. By the time I am ready to get up, the product has kicked in and its easier for me to get out of bed. I am 40 years old. I have been using this product since it came out. I prefer it over anything else on the market. It has the least amount of sugar and it doesnt have any gurana extract or extra caffiene in it. I like the Xtra strenth 5- hour, but after a week of drinking that, I feel i have issues with my heart.. so I found that using the Xtra 5 hour energy drink every now and then is best for me. It may take me 1 1/2 days to finish 1 bottle. I work at a desk and work out on my lunch time, so this works best for me. I would recommend this product
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2018
I usually get berry flavor but saw this and thought I would try something new. I got so sick from it. I wasn’t sure it was from the 5 hr energy since I drink it all the time. But when it happened the 2nd time I drank one of these, I was convinced. For some reason this flavor made me nauseous, light headed and gave me a headache. I’m dumping the rest of this batch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 49 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here