Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 38 reviews
Essentially a collection of 500 portraits, this book comprises a lot of photographs of men, divided into the following sections of poses:

Head and shoulders
Waist up
¾ length seated
¾ length standing
Full length seated
Full length standing
(Apparently real men don't recline) :)

Each photograph gives credit to the photographer, but no other information.
There's also a short section on posing basics and a long section about the contributing photographers.

Many of the poses were duplicated and uninspired, and the pictures are a random mix up of boys, older men, sportsmen, musicians etc. depending on the pose. One shot for example, is just a man squatting in the middle of the road, another is a man squatting next to a truck, and a third is a man squatting next to his golf clubs. I guess men squat a lot.

Also, work and formal wear are mixed in with sports and casual wear, so if you're looking for inspiration to pose a bridegroom, you have to flip through the whole thing. Most of the photos show quite small on the Kindle, and although each one can be zoomed for better viewing, it's really a pain on the original Kindle.

It would also have been helpful if some footnotes were used for each portrait, emphasizing a few significant elements of its composition and lighting. (eg - 3/4 view, medium light box, backlit, note the position of the hands and the torso angle)

The posing basics section was informative, and some of the portraits are useful as visual prompts for unwilling or pose-challenged male subjects, but on the whole it's a tad limited for practical use on a shoot.

Amanda Richards, January 17, 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
I started with 500 poses for groups and couples and have since added every 500 poses title from Perkins including a pre-order of 500 Poses for Infants and Toddlers. These are exactly what the title says...a visual source book. And, as I've said in reviews of other books in this "series" I guess you could call it, while I don't imagine I'll duplicate any pose exactly, I can see myself easily combining some of the different poses present for more pleasing compositions. I am a very visual learner so this is the perfect medium for me to learn posing as it's just image after image after image after image of men posed/posing in various scenarios. The same goes for all the other options in the 500 poses family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2012
This book is horrible. There may be 500 photos in this book, but there is no where near 500 unique photos. You'll find the same basic "poses" repeated over and over again. In fact, most of the photos are just plain bad. If you want to learn to suck at posing your male clients/models/subjects (whatever you want to call them), then this is the book perfect for you. I would be embarrassed to have 90% of these photos in my portfolio. If you're looking for inspiration in posing men and boys, save your money and surf the web for it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
A lot of glossy images for sure, but as others have noted a lot of them are repeats of the same pose with different models. Perhaps they shuld have called this book 100 poses with different models. Also, for me at least as photographer learning the ropes still, I would expect to see some basic information accompany the images so I know a bit about the way such images are made... information such as camera model, aperture, shutter speed, iso... as it is, the book might just have well been 50 pencil sketches.

Dont get me wrong, some very nice images in there but still disapointing we know nothing about their construction other than the photographers name! If you really dont have any ideas about posing perhaps get this for a start, but there are plenty of better books out there... or just browse some magazines and see!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2011
I have an extensive photography library for my personal resource and because I also teach photography. The title of the book drew my interest as poses for men are limited compared to women's poses. I was hoping that this would be a useful resource book. Unfortunately, it doesn't really teach you anything. Its just a collection of 500 images. It only devotes two pages to discuss some tips but doesn't explain what works and what doesn't. It does have a few quotes from various photographers but it doesn't really offer much. Furthermore, it has so many of the same poses. Like there are 3 half body shots of the model holding a bat over their shoulders behind their heads in the same manner. There are also 3 different shots of young people holding a guitar in exactly the same way. Then there are a dozen similar shots of men standing with hands in their pockets. That's just a few samples of repetitive poses. So, you don't get 500 unique poses. Not only that, some of the poses are more of novelty shots or wacky shots that most people would never use. I was hoping that 1. there would be 500 unique poses. 2. that all the sample poses would be useful and not wasted shots such as shots of someone holding juggling batons to cover his face in a weird way.
You're actually better off just searching the internet and you'll find a lot more useful images and not have to waste your hard earned money.
Sorry, but the worst photography book purchase I've made.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
Hate it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2011
I make a little money on the side taking pictures and the hardest part of most photo shoots is that people don't know what they want! This book is organized by head shots, upper body, 3/4 poses and finally full body shots (and props). It is super easy to just let people flip though the book to help them narrow down their focus and get ideas. Then I use the books photo to adjust my lighting. What could be more simple? I also purchased the 500 Poses of Women and get a ton of use out of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I have the whole series of these books. They are great for using with a client in a photo shoot to show examples of suggested poses. Lots of pictures to thumb through. I am a semi-professional photographer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
It states it's 500 poses, and it is just that. I wish there would be some guides to help pose but I guess if this is what your looking for then it's ok.
I was just hoping it would have a little more direction. It does have some good ideas, but some are outdated pictures. Would be nice if it was upgraded to current trends.
All in all the book is ok and will be helpful I am sure.

Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
Good book with very nice example poses and good quality images
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse