Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,297 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,473 reviews
on July 22, 2016
I make sure my wife and I have one of these whenever we're on the road. You never know when you'll be stuck at the airport/on a plane and need another phone charge. When not in use, this thing holds a full charge for several months. When we have used it, it will give at least two full iPhone charges before needing to be plugged in. The light is also another useful feature.

One feature that I am concerned about with this product is the inability to "lock" it. What I mean by this is, if you throw this sucker into a bag/purse/pocket - the light switch will inadvertently be turned on. I am constantly noticing the flashlight on and then having to switch it off. The end result is that you will have a dead battery (or severely drained) that won't be there when you need it most. This unit would be ideal stored somewhere will the light button will not be accidentally pushed.

So, developers/engineers - the gauntlet has been thrown down. Your mission, should you choose to accept is: The flashlight is a cool feature; keep it! But give users the ability to securely lock this unit in the off position.
Thanks!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
So I purchased this product. I received it on time, as well as it being at a great price. The first day of having it, it was perfect. I charged it once and used it. However, when I went to charge it a second time, I plugged the cord in,and I went to bed. So when I woke up the next morning, to my surprise it wasn't charged. I started messing around with the cord and noticed it will only charge if the cord is bent down, and not all the way in. I thought it was just a cheap cord and tried it on multiple other cords and the same thing happened. If I have the cord plugged all the way in, and having it straight in the hole, it won't charge. Also I tried to bend the cord upwards, and it won't charge either. I do not know if the part where you plug it into, is defective or what, but I wish I didn't have to do this. I love the flashlight feature, and it holds about 3 charges. I would have easily given the product 5 stars but because I have to charge it this way, 1 star is due. I feel that having to charge it this way is totally unsafe. I noticed the product comes with a 18-month warranty. So if I have to do this everyday with the product, I am greatly debating about getting a replacement. I just wish I didn't have to deal with any hassle of the product not working right.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2014
I've gone through an innumerable amount of portable battery chargers prior to purchasing this one. When I look to purchase a new product on Amazon, I'd like the product to be of the highest quality. When it comes down to technology, I'm a tough critic. Thus, evidently, I feel this product is of the best.

Note: This review is after owning the product for 1 day. I will update it accordingly if I find it necessary.

Prior to purchasing this portable battery, I had ordered the "Anker Astro Mini 3000mAh." I found that this small charger was at first quite efficient in charging my devices. Though, shortly after the charger no longer maintained stability in charging. The charger would disconnect every so often while charging the devices. After complaining to Amazon, I received a (hassle-free) full refund of the product.

Back to this product: I'm fully satisfied with the "Anker® Astro 5600mAh." This portable charger is the best "bang for the buck."
With my devices (an HTC ONE S, T-Mobile myTouch Q, and a Samsung Galaxy S II) I was able to charge the HTC ONE S from 30% to 91%, the T-Mobile myTouch Q from 3% to 72%, and the Samsung Galaxy S II from 35% to 82%.
Note: that these tests were performed immediately after receiving the product. I did not charge the portable charger at all, but rather still used it from the 3 bars it came with.

Pros:
- Included Micro USB cable works as expected
- Rapid charging of devices. Though keep in mind the charging times will vary per the device.
- Battery light indicator display to show how much juice the charger has left
- Simplistic design
- Easy to use

Cons:
- Inadequate flashlight
The flashlight wasn't the reason I purchased this product. Thus, I won't even remove a star for that.

===UPDATE (January 27, 2014)===
After additional usage, here are my added thoughts:

I still stand by this product. It's still superb and efficient for such a small device.

Additional Pros:
- Built in flashlight lasts quite a while
- Somewhat rugged
- Included bag

Additional Cons:
- None

Flashlight: Although the built in flashlight is inadequate (as aforementioned), the light does last quite a while. Thus, it is better than nothing.
Rugged: I have lent my portable charger to my siblings, and they have dropped it several times with the device having no damage. Thus, I think it's safe to say that this portable charger is somewhat rugged. Note, though when I typically use the portable charger I always keep it in the included bag (for added protection).

I hope this helps a consumer make a portable battery purchase. If you found this review to be helpful, please let me know :).
55 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
*********REVIEW UPDATE***********
So here to update my previous review on the Anker Astro 5600mAh battery, after having the original unit fail from minimal to heavy use, it was still covered under the 18-month Anker warranty (16 months in)! Upon reading my original review here on Amazon, I was contacted by Anker's very friendly customer service department (several weeks after the posted review), within minutes of being on the phone with a representative, they had a new Astro battery on its way! I'm very happy with the outcome of the situation, Anker responded quickly, their representatives were very polite and you could actually understand them! I enjoy using/buying Anker products from their solar panels to their Bluetooth speakers and everything in between, I would definitely recommend this battery in particular, it's helped in many situations! (Also I am not being paid to write this review, I just really enjoy writing thorough reviews to help others out). Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
UPDATE on April 12, 2013: I've now used this charger during some long work days to recharge my phone - a Nexus 4 - and I'm pleased with it. One day I used it to charge my phone to full from 50% - twice - and in between that it charged a colleague's iPhone from about zero to 70%. After those three charging events, this charger still had juice left!

--------------------------------------

Original review follows:

I just got my first smartphone without a user-swappable battery. Sometimes I'm away from a charging outlet for several hours during a day, and even the freshest phone batteries tend to wilt under my phone use habits. I carried a fresh battery and often swapped batteries by the end of the day.

I bought this as backup for my new phone, for when I'm out and about. In its little drawstring bag, with the longer included cord and the tips, it weighs in on my kitchen scale at 5.8 ounces. I've used this to charge my phone fully, here at home as a test, and it did so, and still showed it had lots of charge left. Much easier to use than the whole hassle of opening the phone back and swapping out batteries. And you don't have to power the phone down/up to start using it. It also came with a tip I can use with my iPods, a plus when traveling.

I also bought a New Trent, 10W 5V/2A Dual Port high-speed USB AC wall charger which works well to charge this battery pack from a wall outlet, which I prefer to relying on USB charging.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
This charger is great and one of the best accessories I could have bought for my phone. Great design and built. It comes with all the cables and connectors you might ever need. It doesn’t come with an adapter, but I just use one several chargers lying around the house: ipod, camera (unplug the usb cable and plug in the mini usb cable provided with the Ankher charger), or my phone charger. The manufacturer does mention that the device requires power to operate, meaning part of the potential charge is used for that, and you won’t get the full 5,600 mAh advertised, so you cannot recharge a 2,600 mAh Galaxy S4 battery twice. I don’t mind because I just need one full charge when I run out during the day at work (my work environment is not conducive to leaving my phone charging on a table for a couple of hours using the charger that comes with the phone). I leave my Anker charger fully charged for two to four days before needing to use it, and I have had no problems with the Anker device losing its charge. Finally, it is very compact and looks great. I recommend it to anyone carrying a smartphone. I have a tight-fitting dual-layer protective case for my phone, and I really don’t see myself removing my phone from the case and swapping batteries every time I run out of power. The Anker charger does an amazing job of providing power on the go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
I admit I was skeptical when I ordered it but so far it has performed flawlessly. I agree with other users that better instructions would be helpful but once you figure it out, it is pretty simple. It took almost 3 hours to charge it from a wall outlet initially...I would never recommend charging it through a USB - computer connection unless that's all you have available. Once the flashing lights stopped and it turned off it was fully charged and there has been no loss of charge when the unit is not being used daily. I was able to charge my iPad 3 from a 50% charge to full in about 4 hours but that completely depleted the charge on the Anker. It did fully charge two Samsung Galaxy smartphones back to back and still had two bars of power left. I haven't tried to charge my Kindle with it yet but the USB connections are there. I'm delighted with the number of connection options included and everything seems to fit snugly. Yes, the cables and plugs are white but who cares? It will now travel with me and I can leave a couple of chargers at home and that's important to me. Something that Anker might want to consider is the possibility of charging the Anker unit through a car battery in case of a prolonged power outage. Overall it works as it is supposed to, is light-weight and has an attractive design. I think one of the things that impressed me the most was that Anker appears to monitor the Amazon reviews and comments and steps up immediately to offer solutions and / or replacements when needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 28, 2012
I bought this for an upcoming trip overseas so that I could have extra power for my (rooted) Barnes and Noble Nook Color, which I use for movies and music as well as reading and gaming. These use a proprietary charging cable and are notorious for being hard to charge if you don't have access to your typical US 120V outlet. I've been playing around with it for about a week and have tried to distill my comments down to a few paragraphs.

First, you need to charge the heck out of this thing when you get it. Mine appeared to be fully charged when I got it (3 of 4 blue lights were on) but when I plugged the Nook into it, the charge went away almost immediately with no effect on the Nook. Andre Frederick wrote a review that said to charge the Anker for at least 5 - 6 hours before first use and he is absolutely right. I'd go one step further and recommend that you let it bake overnight.

After a few experiments with my Nook Color, I found that this scenario worked best for me:

* I charged the Anker completely.

* Starting with a *completely* discharged Nook Color (it wouldn't even turn on), I connected the Nook to the Anker with the Nook's proprietary cable. You must use the Nook Color's proprietary cable and since the newer Nook Tablet is a variation of the Nook Color, I'm betting you have to use the proprietary cable for the Nook Tablet as well. Then I hit the button on the Anker to start charging.

* It took about 4 minutes for the Nook's cable indicator to turn orange, showing that the Nook is charging. Not sure why it takes that long to get to the charging state but I don't really care.

* About 8 minutes later, the Nook woke up and booted itself (normal behavior). A couple of minutes after that, I turned WiFi and BluTooth off and did a hard shutdown so the Nook wouldn't be using power at the same time I was trying to supply power.

* About 2.5 hours later the Anker went from 4 blue lights to 3. I powered on the Nook and noted that it appeared to be about 40 to 50% charged. I turned the Nook back off.

* About 1.5 hours later the Anker went from 3 blue lights to 2. I powered on the Nook, ran an app and found that it was 56% charged. I can go for hours at that level so I decided to move on.

* I unplugged the Nook and plugged in my iPod Touch, which still had enough battery to start up, but the battery icon showed that thin red "you're out of power" thing so it was nearly dead. An hour and 15 minutes later it was fully charged and the Anker still had some mojo.

* I plugged the Anker into my ancient Moto RAZR which had around 50% battery and let it cook. After about 40 minutes it was topped up completely.

* Having run out of devices to play with, I plugged the Anker back into my Nook Color. I had played about 10 hands of Words With Friends on the Nook while the Anker was busy with the iPod and the Moto. After about a half an hour, the final blue light on the Anker started flashing vigorously so I disconnected the Nook. The Nook battery showed at 51%. I think that's pretty decent, especially given the bargain price of this item.

The bottom line for me:

Charging less-hungry devices seems to be a breeze for the Anker. I suspect iPad users will be as pleased with the results as I was with my iPod Touch (I will try it on an iPad and post an update).

Charging a Nook Color (or presumably Nook Tablet) will tax the Anker, but it will keep the Nook usable for far longer than the internal battery. And the Anker will actually charge the thing. There are many "solutions" out there that won't charge a Nook Color/Tablet at all.

For me, this is a handy device and a reasonably priced travel accessory.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
Ordered this product (5600mAh external battery pack and charger) on Nov. 27, 2011 and was received within the window stated. All was in good order, packaging and all. The only problem I ran into was I received two of the same type of connectors. I needed one for my Droid Razr phone recharging jack. This same connector fits the recharging jack on the Ankor product as well. So, I was not able to use any of the included attachments, only the cable that came with my phone.

This "could" have done but since I paid for this product I thought I should have all that goes along with it. I contacted the seller (they include an insert that emphatically asks you to contact them for any problems and to give them a chance to make your order right). After speaking with Vivian she said she would get the part out I needed and seeing that they are in California and I Ohio, she asked for 3 days turnaround. Well, it just arrived in 2 days and is the right part.

This kind of customer service needs to be praised and pointed out. In fact, I am still waiting for a screen protector for my phone from another vendor that has not arrived, when all of the above has already taken place. Anker...NICE job!
Vivian, you were a sweetheart!

P.S. If you have any Apple products you will NOT get an attachment for your device in this kit. I asked about that and was told that Apple does not license them to be a reseller. Apple is a little dictatorship with its product line, so this does not surprise me. However, if you use your own cabling and can make use of the USB OUTPUT on the battery pack, you should still be ok. Just make sure you get the right jack for the INPUT jack to charge this product.

Dec. 9, 2011 Update: I received the tip as stated but it turns out this tip does not seem to fit tightly therefore it intermittently charges but keeps losing its connection. If I use my cable that came with my phone it works fine. So, I have contacted the seller (via email this time) and am awaiting their response. I also have received an email from the seller asking me to send a copy of my review and, as a gift, are offering a choice of free thank-you gifts.

Nov. 19, 2012 Update: My unit started to shut itself off while charging my phone after anywhere from 5 seconds to minutes later. I tried draining then fully recharing the battery, rapidly cycling the power button (hey, I was tring whatever I could which is really not much with this item) but in the end it continued to be unreliable. I also made sure my phone was not fully charged which would cause the battery pack to shut off.

I thought I was stuck with a defective unit until we contacted the seller. Turns out it had an 18 month warranty which the seller promptly honored. I received a new kit (with a slightly different parts makeup). They even emailed a printable prepaid return-postage slip I could use to return the malfunctioning kit. So, we'll see how the new unit holds up but kudos to the seller for great customer service.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I down graded my review to 4 stars as the included micro usb cable doesn't work at all. But I use a spare one I have from another charger with this power bank and all is perfect. I have a droid razor maxxx and also kindle fire hd. It will charge my smart phone at least 2 full times or the kindle once, both from almost dead. It does take a bit to recharge this back up, but I plug it in when I get home and before I leave for school the next day it's done. IT is so handy as my school doesn't have many available wall outlets to use. It was a pain when my kindle (have e textbooks) and phone would get low on battery and I had to sit on the floor in a hallway waiting to charge. Now I just plug this power bank in and pop it in my bag or sit it on the table and it charges up fast. I would say a hour tops for a full charge, although I never timed it. Being at college from 9 am till 5 pm this was a great $26 spent for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse