Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 5th Quarter, The Blu-ray
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$6.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 11, 2011
I have been a Wake Forest fan for years and remember when this tragic yet inspiring story happened. The movie captures everything so well that you can't help but feel for the Abbate family. It's such a touching story of how someone so young can affect so many people and the obstacles that the family had to overcome. I remember when the crowd would put up 5 fingers at the start of every 4th quarter and how it felt to be a united community around the family. And how the football team came together and were able to overcome the preseason disappointment of being picked to finish last in the conference. This movie is very inspiring and I highly recommend it to anyone. GO DEACS!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
February 13, 2006, was a normal winter's day in a small suburb of Atlanta. Luke Abbate, a 15 year old High School Lacrosse star, accepts a ride home from a teammate. On the way the new driver decides to show off his driving skills by flying down the street at 90 MPH, when he loses control of the car. The car flies about 70 feet, injuring all the passengers and killing young Luke. It's a nightmare story that all families fear, when their kids start driving, the only difference about Luke's story is that it really happened. The 5th Quarter is a film dedicated to Luke's memory and tells the story of his family in the wake of such tragedy. As the film plays out, it starts to lean away from tragedy and toward triumph, the triumph of the 2006 Wake Forrest Championship Football team. There captain was John Abbate, Luke's brother. The team was supposed to finish dead last, but wound up having a miracle season. It is a story that was so well done, that it couldn't have been anything but a true story. I don't think any writer could have thought of a story like this. Ryan Merriman stars, once again in a sports drama, and of all his performances that I've seen, this had to be the strongest. Not only does he show tremendous athletic ability, but he takes the audience of a roller-coaster ride of emotion. Merriman was so good, that he even had a cold hearted cynic like myself, tearing up. Aidan Quinn and Andie McDowell play the matriarchs of the Abbate family, giving outstanding performances. They made the audience see and feel just what it was like for the Abbate family. Most films are meant to entertain, but the 5th Quarter does more than entertain, it tells a very important story and actually makes you feel something for the tragedies and hardships of other people. I was expecting to see a sports movies, instead I saw something that really made me think. Only the best the big screen has to offer can make you both think and feel for the characters.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
I must admit, the movie wasn't anything like I was expecting. It was more and so meaningful to watch how families deal with such a tragic loss in their lives. I have often made the comment that when tradegy hits one family and their lives, I do not how people who do not have Christ in their lives can deal with all that goes on. Your life will truly be blessed by watching this movie.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2011
I am going to see this movie again. I cried a lot through this movie but it was so inspiring. This movie to me is what you should get out of a movie. It has meaning, family relationship,strength, and love.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2014
To anyone who has ever experienced heartbreaking loss, The 5th Quarter will deeply move and inspire your heart. I cried hard throughout most of this movie and was inspired and strengthened by its message of love, family, friendship and community in the midst of tragedy. Highly recommend this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
This is a true story of tragedy, grief, faith and inspiration. It is a story of a college football player and his family and how they pull together to overcome an overwhelming tragedy. If you are fortunate enough to see this be sure to watch through the credits where you will see photos of the real people of whom this story was written. Then go to the extras for about a six minute series of interviews that also include the family members. This is a truly great story that will leave you with a warm feeling when it is over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Great movie ! My 8th grade students love watching it every year and it teaches them so much about teenage tragedies and family love ! It is a tear jerker ! Great teaching resource about organ donation and the family foundation. Another great story retold to capture the power of family love .
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
I admire the attempt to tell what should be a very inspiring story but the acting was awful, the script was poorly written and the story came off as sulky and whiny instead of inspirational and powerful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2015
One of the most unforgetable movies you will ever watch. This movie will encourage you as it shows how one families tragedy brings hope to another family. Its the truest form of selflessness that one can give to another. I recomend this movie to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
This movie was a tear jerking movie with a great storyline and the best part is one of the football players in the movie was from my hometown. It was a joy to see him in the movie and being talked about so much playing with Clemson. He passed away and that was even the more heartfelt part of the movie for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here