Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$33.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 152 reviews
on August 23, 2002
I was recently reminded that I used to listen to The Magnetic Fields by a friend, and popped over to Amazon to pick up "69 Love Songs," from which I had previously heard just a few tracks. Stephin Merritt is in high form here, with his collection of love songs originally written with a revue-style show in mind. Although quality sometimes suffers in the name of quantity, there are many strong tracks on this compilation, full of trademark musical experimentation, haunting bass crooning and beautiful female vocals as well. Merritt writes about love and loss with both clarity and humor, ranging from the sweet and longing "Come Back From San Francisco" to the Bridget Jones-ish "Reno Dakota" lamenting the playboy who never calls back. Fans of the Fields will be thrilled to have so much material, recorded and written, in this box set; those new to the band will no doubt find plenty from which to make their own compilation tape or CD for more frequent consumption.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
Quite honestly one of the most interesting albums I've ever listened to. 69 Love Songs is just that 69 songs dealing with the pitfalls and beauty of modern romance. Listening to the whole thing in one sitting is pretty demanding, but worth a shot. The first disk alone makes this worth the buy as it is loaded with gem after gem of indie pop that will leave you impressed well after that disk has finished spinning. Check it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
The audacity of an artist that thinks they can release a 3 disc set of originals and make it work. Well , work it does. This release is legendary and deservedly so. I made a 'best of' cd of this set and came up with over 30. Songs. In rock/pop history, very few bands have released double albums, let alone a triple set. Even more amazing-in the vinyl era, generally 40 minutes would fit on a disc, so Stephen Merritt pretty much released a 4 album set all at once. Although over ten yrs old, this set still gets heavy playing- which is saying something considering I have over 5000 CDs.
Don't walk, run to get this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
I've downloaded this, ripped it, copied, bouht a 3rd copy at a show autographed, have ordered it for friends. Stephen. Buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 1999
It takes some time to listen to this in its entirety and digest it properly. On first listenings I've found it a relief that Stephin Merritt used other vocalists; his vocals are too monotonous to carry 69 songs. There also seems to be less experimental arrangements than with other Magnetic Fields albums. Most of the tracks are acoustic or solo instrumental-backed with occasional keyboard flourishes, and there's a very strong country vibe to the album. Overall, a very impressive feat, but not always compulsive listening.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2003
Whatever your perspective on love, whatever your current romantic status, you'll find it mirrored in this amazing collection of songs. Whatever your preference for genre-- honky-tonk country, French cabaret, Broadway, punk rock, blues-- you'll hear it here. And Stephen Merritt writes the sort of dazzlingly witty lyrics and catchy tunes that aren't supposed to exist anymore-- the cheery "The Ugliest Guy On The Lower East Side" is my personal favorite.
These are unquestionable, must-own albums.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
Great as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2007
If you like the Magnetic Fields, (or if you appreciate quality music at all), then you would love this box set. The Magnetic Fields sing about love and happiness/unhappiness, but they do so in a quirky and entertaining. Most of the songs are very short (two to three minutes) and non- repetitive, however there is one longer song (I think it's about eight minutes) in the set. I love 69 Love Songs and I strongly encourage others to listen to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
Witty, cynical. A choice of tracks which reflect the quirkiness and nature of relationships are in this day and age. Bitter sweet, sometimes tender, and great to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
Hail Canada !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$32.89
$17.99
$9.47

Need customer service? Click here