Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on November 15, 2012
Utah has the highest teen suicide rate. But why? Isn't it forbidden by the bible? Well, no; Samson's suicide is generally held up as a laudable event. The bible even clearly states that god granted him superhuman strength during his final moments. Therefore, god approves of suicide (at least if you take out several thousand of his enemies simultaneously). By extension, the bible gives Christians no reasons to oppose suicide bombing.

The tragedy behind Utah's youth suicide rate is quite simple once you learn that the majority of the state is Mormon. It is also profoundly and undeniably tragic. Under Mormon teachings, being gay is second only to murder under their collection of "sins." The threat of hell is certainly no match for the oppression, "reparative" therapies and condemnation from pulpits and parents alike. And yet the Mormon hierarchies aren't satisfied with tormenting those who were unfortunate enough to live in their state. They funded and supplied countless volunteers to pass Proposition 8 back in 2008. Needless to say, the pool of Mormon sheep blackmailed with excommunication amounted to tens of thousands of flyer-distributors, yellers and election-day "advisors." As anyone well-versed in political science is well aware, dedicated (or in this case, at least partially-coerced) volunteers can run circles around a smaller but more well-funded opposition.

Families sacrificed their childrens' college funds, retirement funds, and whatever else was demanded of them by comfortable, affluent and above all lazy clergy. And for what? For holding back social justice, compassion and understanding for a few years until the Judge Walker of California's district court declared it unconstitutional. Are the families going to receive aid from their conservative leaders who fleeced them of so much money? I highly doubt it. Utah will be profoundly dependent on the government teat (i.e. welfare) for the near future. So much for right-wing conservatism and personal responsibility. This was religious blackmail at its most pernicious.

Or consider this - convicted mass murderers on death row and sex offenders can marry the person of their choice, but gays and lesbians cannot. That likens them to slaves in the Antebellum South, who were not allowed to marry. Like the emancipated African Americans before them, members of the LGBT community gathered in throngs to get married. To equate them to slaves and imply that they are worse than murderers is both profoundly callous and bigoted. Such discriminatory laws have no place in secular societies.

By sticking its unwanted neck into the public sphere, the Mormon community unequivocably and unforgivably violated the first amendment of the US Constitution. There can be no freedom of religion without freedom FROM religion. The Mormons would no doubt throw childish hissy fits if their tax-exempt status was revoked and they were held accountable for their pernicious actions in shoving their baseless religious beliefs on the rest of California. Yet that would only be fair. There should be no governmental representation without taxation. This guiding axiom of democracy must work both ways for healthy societies to function and thrive.

I am ecstatic that NOM is now under investigation for violating the US tax code. Justice for them, and the rest of society, is past its due date, but better late than never. Hiding financial figures and the names of one's donors is a clear sign of guilt (or at the least, a profound fear of embarrassment). As the recent 2012 referenda showed, it is only a matter of time before social justice spreads across the developed world. Religion cannot stop it, and their efforts to try only make things worse for us all (how many foster children could have been helped by the money thrown down the toilet on Proposition 8?).

I would highly recommend Marriage On Trial's re-enactment of the Prop 8 Trial to see just how flimsy and unsupported the case against marriage equality is. Black, Cowan and Greenstreet deserve our respect and admiration for bringing these clandestine truths to light.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
Very well done film exposing the truly harmful work of the Mormon church in funding the discrimination of prop 8. I don't understand how good people can have such a blind spot when it comes to the church promoting hatred. I would think even if your church were telling you to hurt innocent men and women and their families by campaigning with a message of hate, some part of your mind and humanity would realize that the hateful message is just morally wrong.

On the bright side, marriage equality is now the law of the land, so all that money and effort (that could have gone to something positive rather than negative) was at least a failure in the end. Hopefully, the church can learn to stand on the side of good for everyone rather than preaching a continued agenda of hate because there are good people in the church that deserve better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
This documentary strikes directly at the core of the "gay" problem and the Mormon church. It discusses true (un-white-washed) Mormon doctrine and how that doctrine is incompatible with homosexuality, thereby suggesting a cause for anti-gay behavior from the Mormon church. It presents, in a very emotional manner, many witnesses and much evidence about the Mormon church's involvement with Prop 8. Most of it is unfavorable toward the Mormon church. Unfortunately, like so many other questionable aspects of Mormonism (including denying the priesthood to blacks, polygamy, and anti-feminism), the highest levels of the Church (especially their president/prophet) are unwilling to "set the record straight" or even answer questions or have a real dialog about marriage equality. I have personal experience with the topics of this documentary and validate that the culture, attitudes, teachings, and behaviors portrayed in this documentary are quite accurately portrayed.

The documentary is powerfully emotional and well produced. The people interviewed seem to speak from the heart.

The first half of the documentary focuses on Prop 8. The second half speaks more to the treatment of gays by the Mormon church.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
I was raised Mormon, though I am no longer active in the church. Growing up in the SLC valley, almost everyone we knew were members of the church. Although we were "encouraged" to befriend and date only within the church, I never understood the control the church had on me. When I moved away from Utah and met people of all races and religions I realized the control the church had, as well as it's ability to teach intolerance as a church directive as though it were handed down from god. This film shows how he LDS / Mormon church can control thing from behind the scenes. One can argue the the Catholic Church has done some of the same, but the Catholic Church has generally been forthright with thier intentions and directives to thier worldwide members. I was sickened to hear of the church's involvement here, as I am a strong believer of the separation of church and state. Thank goodness that as of today, several states now recognize same sex marriage, but this film is still relevant because it shows the control that can be taken over a few people who control a lot of money. My heart goes out to the young people in this film who found themselves left out in the cold because of a long standing fear. And if you have never been a member of a church/cult like this, you cannot understand the extreme prejudice under which they live. Yet how difficult it would be to survive outside of the church with no supportystem at all. For instance I was recently informed that I have a cousin who lived with his boyfriend for many years, staying with him through the last moments of his life. Now the the boyfriend is gone, ny cousin has " seen the light" and has returned to the church, and is now almost pure enough to go to the temple. The poor man has no one else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
At the time of the proposition, few people really understood the depth of the Mormon involvement and the mentality and forces driving the participation. I stood out in front of the Mormon temple in Los Angeles for weeks leading up to the vote with a "Stop the Mormons!" sign but I was usually alone (up until the last few days). The gay community didn't show up until a day or so after the election for a big protest, as shown in the film. Even afterward, unless you are both gay/lesbian and (or were formerly) Mormon, people still might not really get it without information such as is provided in The Mormon Proposition. I think we will indeed look back at Prop 8 as the beast that awoke the sleeping giant of the gay community and it will be seen as a major turning point in the fight for marriage equality.

Even as a gay, former Mormon, the film reminded me of some of the important aspects of the Mormon's involvement in gay issues that I don't often think about.

I hope that the filmmakers end up wanting to issue a special, updated edition or edition with bonus features about the subsequent fight in the courts, and with the forthcoming Supreme Court decisions on DOMA and Prop 8.... with a joyous and triumphant conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2016
As a Mormon I am sickened by the actions of the church in California and Utah. More people need to know what the church has done to gay youth and just how unchrist-like their secretive methods have been. DISCUSTED
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
A great movie about how a church manipulated public policy. If you're a Californian who lived through the 2008 same-sex marriage ballot initiative battle, Prop 8, it's fascinating. If you're not, it's a very good look inside how religion is attempting to manipulate public policy by scapegoating minorities they dislike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
A must-see for EVERYONE. I was raised Mormon, and was utterly shocked to see a very dear family friend highlighted in this documentary. Not only was I shocked to see and hear the Mathis family, I was completely horrified by the fact that I was lied to in regards to what happened and how. I understand this documentary means more to me, as it is so personal, but I believe most people would be surprised by just how much is swept under the rug in the Mormon culture. A great eye-opener for anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
Love this video! It's a real inside look at what most don't know or don't want to know about the Mormon Church. I was a good Mormon for 27 years and very much a part of the prop 22 calling list. These things are still happening now. More people need to be informed! God bless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2014
I'll admit that initially my only reason for watching this documentary was because my partner is a former (recovering) Mormon. We watched it together and lamented the decline of the Church as it has/continues to delve into the political arena. Thankfully, the courts have and continue working to overturn many of these BS voter approved bans on same sex marriage all across the country...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse