Customer Reviews: The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Halloween Candy Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(2 star). Show all reviews
on November 24, 2004
I bought this book after reading a review that suggested that the author may have been inspired in his discovery of his 8th habit when faced with a crisis in his Mormon faith, due to the publication of the book "Losing a Lost Tribe" that was written by a Mormon Bishop who describes how DNA evidence disproves the Book of Mormon. Covey says nothing about such a personal crisis in this book, but instead attributes his discovery of this newly discovered habit to research evidence about human behavior.

"The 8th Habit" describes how to find your own voice and then how to inspire others to do the same. Reading this book was inspirational and did excite me to further find my own voice, so I do feel I got a good return on my investment. It gives many examples of individuals who succeed by effectively individuating and who engage others to do the same. It also gives examples of those who fail to do so and how that failure will ultimately block their greatest potential for success.

The author gives the reader an additional powerful tool to enrich his life with this new book, but I did not feel that "The 8th Habit" was as strong as "7 Habits of Highly Effective People." I found myself loosing interest and skipping to the later chapters that seemed to get more to the point. Some of the conclusions seem overly simplistic. Nevertheless, on the whole, the concept is worthwhile. Unfortunately, this book lacks the punch and conciseness of the former volume. It left me with the impression that it was like a movie sequel written to capitalize on the authors past success.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2005
Rehash of the 7 Habits which was a great book. Covey's application offers impractical solutions to today's complexities, and perhaps in a "Rockwellian," cookie cutter society of yesteryear would be much more EFFECTIVE.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2005
Covey's one-man publishing industry stresses the application of common sense to your pathetic, meaningless life, most importantly in the service of the company/corporation/entity/thing you work for.

The 'substance' of this book can be condensed in a magazine article, or a good web article, but that would negate the reason to publish yet another book chock full 'o stories about personal success, vision, leadership, success, enhancement, empowerment, blah, blah, blah, vision, moral integrity, data integrity, success, effectiveness, and other important things.

Covey is a thinking man, hence the tweaked model with the 'discovery' of the 8th habit. No doubt a 9th, and 10th habit do exist. Perhaps penning another rehash of previously published material? A true success story.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2005
Stephen Covey's seminal work - the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People - was a true legacy. It changed the lives of millions - including mine - for the better (permanently) and I will be forever grateful. His earlier follow-ups - First Things First and Principle-Centred Leadership - added value. This book has been long awaited and, for anyone who's familiar with Stephen's work there's nothing new. Perhaps it serves as a summary/review - the sceptic in me believes that it has been commissioned by his organisation to promote its lesser-known products and workshops.

I once asked Stephen "How does one who teaches this material year in and year out keep it fresh?" His answer was helpful - "The more one listens to one's conscience, the more demands it makes." Stephen, if you're listening, it's time to retire from writing if you don't have anything new to say. The 7 Habits is enough. Focus on your good works in the world or perhaps making your organisation a better example of effectiveness, principle-centredness, the 7 Habits, etc. That would be a legacy which would rival your first book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2005
Given the high-expectations most people have for Covey, this book disappoints.

Long-winded: Covey takes way too long to explain what he is trying to say. I found myself saying 'OK!, lets get to the point already'. This book should be a quater of its size.

Scattered: The material and thoughts in the book are scattered.

Unoriginal: Alot of material from other authors were used. Alot of time spent reviewing his ideas from the 7 Habits. Alot of pages wasted mapping his ideas to other authors.

Lack of application: No substantial application for readers to apply.

Overall disappointing. Book has good intentions but message delivered poorly and uneffectively.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
This book carries forth the concept from Covey's 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. While there are many good concepts contained within the book, I find it to be a bit cumbersome, overwhelming and a tad repetitive in getting the message across.

The book is divided into two primary sections. The first is finding your voice. This section is significantly smaller then "Inspiring Other's to Find Their Voice". Nothing really new is contained within the book - principles, values, adding value, modeling the way - all of which is a repeat.

The most significant aspect of the book is the section "Twenty Most Commonly Asked Questions." Real questions with, real time answers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2011
The original book, "7 Habits" was brilliant and a life changer. This book was nearly a distraction and I didn't enjoy it very much. rather spend your time rereading the original a couple times! Loved that book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
I will be honest. I haven't opened this book yet. The problem is that I didn't realize I was ordering a "mini version" of an actual book. I was concerned that this might happen (because it's happened before), but the online sample seemed to reflect the contents of a whole and actual grown-up sized book--unabridged. Arrived in the mail as a 3" mantle piece of snippets and whatnots. I feel bamboozled. Not the first false description of a Stephen Covey book. Doe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2005
This book does have a lot of good stuff, way too much good stuff, way way too many concepts and principles to coalesce into a main idea. I sometimes enjoy the self help genre because they are usually inspiring and fun. Not so here.

Unfortunately, I think Covey has made this too systematic. It lacks the emotional content, inspiration factor. Give me a Tony Robbins CD over this any day!

Covey's 7 Habits was a much more focused and enjoyable.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2008
The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness: Miniature Edition

Covey generally writes well, and his 7 Habits of Highly Effective People (which is a much better and more useful read) remains one of the better personal development books on the market today.

In short, this 8th Habit book...any strong synonym for "bad" will do. Only read it if you can buy it for less than $3, and will not spend more than 20 minutes on it.

With the 8th Habit he capitalized on the success of his previous books to generate more cash. He does try to make this book as useful to a reader as possible, albeit with little success. The book is more tedious than his previous ones. Covey reiterates the same points (I almost feel like he copy and pastes paragraphs) and fills space with many inspirational stories and quotes which, and one can disagree, should be really limited to specific examples and supporting points in order to be effective.

In this text, yet again, he goes over different types of intelligence. If you never did particularly well academically, you can think that you are "intelligent in other ways." He spends a good chunk of the book persuading you that great leaders develop their physical, emotional and spiritual intelligence into higher sense of right and wrong (among other things). Creative genius perhaps? Just one look at the creative accounting by senior executives at Lehman and AIG suggests they really found a creative outlet for their physical and emotional intelligence :) Sorry, Covey explained away all modern-day corrupt leadership with Hitler and "mad ego" example.

The voice and the speed of trust was a good section, and probably a useful one for most people. Is it worth reading the entire book though..? I think there are far better texts(including his own 7 Habits), that are less theoretical/philosophical, and are packed with real-life concrete ideas that can be put into action today. Brian Tracy tends to be good with that and his books/programs on Maximum Achievement and How to Master Your Time are worth a look as a substitute to the 8th Habit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse