BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 19, 2011
At the time of this review there are only two other reviews of this album and they both are very negative of this collection. Also, the price on this collection is only $0.99, which is the price I bought it for. $0.99 for 99 songs?!?! Seriously, that is an amazing value.

To be honest I had no idea there was Thanksgiving music and really this might just be an excuse by the music label to throw together a lot of light fare classical tunes from their catalog to generate a product to capitalize on holiday shoppers. Well, thank goodness for capitalism as this is a great compilation.

The performances are solid as are the recordings. I'm not really sure why the other reviewers where so harsh. If you want the really good performances of classical music, those recordings will always sell at a premium. For the purpose this collection serves - which is to provide appropriate background music to a family Thanksgiving feast - I can't imagine the need to look elsewhere. That being said, it's not Thanksgiving as I write this and yet I'm enjoying listening to this collection now. My iTunes tells me I have 6.5 days worth of just Classical music in my collection, a collection that started 25 years ago. Yet surprising, there is a lot of material featured here I don't previously have or have listened to before.

The typical compliant that "best of" or budget compilations have also exists here - full works are not provided, just certain movements. However, 99% of your dinner guests will never notice this.

This collection makes a great classical music sampler in general, despite the "Thanksgiving" billing. Since it is lighter fare, it makes great reading music or the perfect entry point for those new to classical music. Or it's just a great way to afford-ably round out an already healthy collection.

The composers featured are the typical top composers as well as lesser known ones. A quick rundown of the composers are:

- Schubert
- Mozart
- Beethoven
- Tchaikovsky
- Vavaldi
- Pachelbel
- Handel
- Bach
- Boccherini
- Dvorak
- Svendsen
- Mendelssohn
- Verdi
- Giordani
- Brahms
- Chopin
- Debussy
- Liszt
- Bizet
- Delibes
- Rubinstein
- Haydn
- Telemann
- Massenet
- Berlioz
- Grieg
- Rimsky-Korsakov
- Weber
- Quantz
- Downland
- Buffardin
- Gomez
- Offenbach

If this collection is still being offered at $0.99, don't hesitate to buy it, regardless of the time of year.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2011
Are there Thanksgiving classics? "The Messiah" or "The Nutcracker" are associated with Christmas but I can't think of any classics intended for Thanksgiving. But does it matter? Not really. An album or a collection like this should be judged according to whether it meets its intended goals.

One listen to these tracks and it's clear that the assembled recordings were packaged to provide pleasant background music at gatherings like the family get-togethers that happen over the Thanksgiving holiday. The setlist is largely comprised of light string numbers or reflective pieces performed on piano. Even those unfamiliar with classical music will recognize some of these melodies, composer Carl Stalling incorporated many of them in his soundtracks for the Warner Brothers cartoons.

Admittedly this profusion of pleasantry is not something to which I would actively listen. Not that I don't like classical music or pleasant music. Rather, when aggregated in a set like this, it is designed for a particular purpose, and it serves that purpose very well.

Imagine this scenario: it's Thanksgiving Day. Family and friends are starting to pour into the place. Jethro turns on the big screen because beer without football just wouldn't be Thanksgiving. Other males of the species join him in rituals of howling or bellowing. Children chase each other throughout the house, under the table and over grown ups' feet. The dog barks. A flurry of women are buzzing about the dining room, issuing the annual updates that shirttail relations provide on occasions like this. One or two people are stationed in the kitchen, monitoring poultry and whipping up side dishes. In that kind of noisy environment, anything designed for active listening would merely add to the chaos. But this setlist is palatable, and it helps maintain an element of sanity to the events of the day. As guests take their places at the table, things settle down, and the annual ritual of mass gorging proceeds, the frenzy slowly dissipates. Still playing softly in the background is this collection, programmed to be long enough to outlast most of your guests. Best of the season to you and yours!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
This is nice instrumental background music for any occasion which calls for unobtrusive music. None of the music actually relates to the American Thanksgiving celebration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2016
This is absolutely my favorite collection of classical music. I purchased it 5 years ago, and I still play it once or twice each week, though I have purchased several other collections from Amazon since then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2011
99 songs for 99 Cents - and each one is relaxing and sweet! Love this download - Great for background music - Not just Thanksgiving but everyday - Warning !!! Must love Classical mix - I like this album for reading, studying and playing low all night - Someone put together a great collection : ) Amazon is awesome - and this is a MUST HAVE!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
I started downloading on thanksgiving day, on a dial-up connection I'am still downloading the selection, as of today I have 35 files left to dL, I played some of the selections for my mom during dinner last night, even though it isn't "thanksgiving" anymore; this selection makes for good dinner music anytime of the year :D
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
Excellent music selections. Perfect for a dinner party because it is arranged by course. The price was beyond affordable for the amount of music received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
I was surprised and happy with this album. Couldn't imagine that Thanksgiving music would be these choices but I am very happy with the entire 99 selections. List to it often while working on the computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
Beautiful selections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
Very good album with songs that are some of the best in a classical music
It worth to buy .the price is just nothing compare to what I got.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse