Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$13.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on July 26, 2011
If you have to ask why this review (and reviews in general to date) have all been five stars, then your missing out on a true manga treasure.

The story: Twenty year old Amir has been sent to marry a boy eight years her junior (Karluk). This she has dutifully done, and these first five chapters dwell largely on how she and her new family are acclimating to this. Chapter four gives us a little insight on, what I'm sure will become, a future trial for the new couple (and their new family) to try and overcome. All in all, the first five chapters might be a bit slow in pace for `throttle jockeys' but the story progresses and is told well.

The artwork: I've long been a fan of series like Oh (Ah) My Goddess for the sole reason that the artwork is so spectacular (other than Fujishimasan can't draw the frontal view of an ear to save his life). A Bride's Story puts most of the other manga that I've lavished so much time (and money) on, on notice. And what notice? The bar has officially been raised. Closeup panels are almost bursting with detail, and even though a bit of that detail slips in some of the `pull back panels' the overall experience is undeniably first rate. Even if the story was terrible (which it isn't) the artwork would carry this title a long way.

The book: I have to enthusiastically agree with another reviewer here and say that Yen Press did real justice to this title by releasing the first volume in a quality hard back. The pages are good stock, and well bound. The wrap around dust cover is very attractive, and overall the book is just a pleasure to dive in to. The total package has left me hoping that the entire run is done in the same way.

The cost: Some others might make a complaint here, but I'm not going to. A $16.99 retail cost might seem a bit high, but with much lower quality paperback manga going for at least $9.99 the extra seven has produced a very high quality product. As of this writing, Amazon is selling A Bride's Story Vol. 1 for $11.55 and the paperback of Oh My Goddess! Vol. 38 for $8.79. For a difference of less than what a Starbuck's coffee costs, I'll take it any day of the week.

If you haven't taken the time to read this rare manga treasure, do. As long as you have realistic expectations about the story itself, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
If you're looking for a manga a little out of the ordinary and still refreshing, this is it. The artwork is done in such detail, and is so painstaking, the story leaps right off the page. The characters were interesting and developed. Although the price of the book may be more expensive compared to the price of a typical manga book, it's easily well worth the money with its fascinating characters and exotic, unique setting and plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2017
Volume #1 starts off alongside the new bride, Amir as she enters the Eihon family through an arranged marriage. The readers will soon find that Amir, a young woman from a nomadic tribe, has some troubles as she enters the much more settled-down Eihon family. Regardless of Amir's hunting and proficiency in using bows and arrows, the family readily accepts her as one of their own. Which is a good thing since Amir's older brother, Azel, comes with a declaration for the Eihon family. At the end of the book you'll be shouting, "Go, Grandma! Go, Grandma!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
This is one of the most heartfelt and beautiful manga I have ever read. Ms. Mori has done an excellent job bringing to life the personalities of her characters, so much so that I was easily immersed into the old world of Central Asia and the everyday life of the Eihon family.

Amir and Karluk are such a strange and interesting couple to see side-by-side in their moments together, Amir especially becomes quickly endeared to the reader through her kind and steadfast disposition. Karluk, though only twelve years old, is very mature and knowledgable for his age, though at times you're reminded that he's still just a young boy barely in the puberty stage. Throughout volume one, you become more aware that these two had never met each other until their wedding, and yet they earnestly want to learn more about each other and work towards becoming a good spouse towards each other, something rarely portrayed in modern-day media involving arranged marriages and May-December romances.

The artwork is just overwhelmingly stunning. Really, Ms. Mori outdid herself on the attention to detail and historical accuracy concerning the art. Some pages are so well-drawn I would just stare at them for minutes before turning the page.

Kudo's to Yen Press for releasing this as a hardback, something which should be done with more manga, I believe. The only head-scratching moment I had was over Amir's name. "Amir" is a masculine Arabic name, while "Amira" (what her name is in the Japanese) is feminine. I don't understand why they made this change, as it takes away from the immersion factor for those who know the difference.

All in all, a wonder to read. Deserves a spot of prominence on any reader's bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
I first saw this online and from the start knew that I wanted to have a copy of this book, and the subsequent volumes. The art alone had me at the beginning. I was just amazed at the workmanship for this book. Also the story itself was wonderful. I've heard people get upset over the idea of a 12 year old marrying an older girl. Well you need to understand the time and country that these people are coming from. Having an arranged marriage was certainly not unheard of and being that young in those times is also normal. I loved the story, and the characters, they just came alive under her pen. I can recommend this to everyone, it is a great book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
This book has a very sweet plot, that anyone might not expect, and the characters are very endearing and memorable, but the selling point is how well the author has drawn everything, sometimes in miniscule detail. The wall, the clothes, the scenery, all have intricate patterns and styles, and this book gives a very nice, unbiased look at how people in that region lived at that time. The book itself is a good, sturdy Hardcover, with a beautiful, full-color slipcover over it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2011
As a big fan of "Emma" I was eager to see Karou Mori's new work and this book does not disappoint. If anything, the art is even more beautiful and the characters are well-rounded and realistic as ever.

A superb manga not to be missed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
as others have said, this is beautifully illustrated and begins an interesting story about a part of the world not often seen. I am looking forward to Volume 2!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
This series is exquisitely drawn and the variety in storytelling is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Great Manga, I love Kaoru Mori's drawings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.95

Need customer service? Click here