BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

A Journey: My Political Life
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 2, 2015
I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was a really interesting blend of sharing experiences and perspectives along with the opportunity for an American to get a peek into the working of British politics. Like all books of this sort, it sometimes drags as he gets into the details of various bits of politics that weren't keen to me but probably were to British audiences who knew the players better.

I thought Blair put forward a coherent, compelling case for his "Third Way" politics laced with both triumphs and sadness as he saw the old "Left or Right" forces re-assert themselves in the waning days of his administration. I thought he carried this off without ever seeming self-congratulatory or bitter and indeed seemed very humble and appreciative throughout.

I would recommend it to any political junky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
I have always been impressed by Tony Blair's ability to combine a deep spirituality with an intelligent and practical passion for humanity. I am now in awe of the enormous structural change to social and political systems that he achieved while he was Prime Minister. Until I read this book, I had no idea of his integral part in the peace process in Ireland. What a difference stopping the bombing has made for the Irish people and for the rest of the world! This same man stood by the US and led Britain into war in Iraq, for which many people have never forgiven him. It was particularly illuminating to share Tony's thought processes about the decision to go to war, so articulately expressed, and to understand the challenges, burdens and responsibilities of being a leader with a high level of personal integrity. I now also admire his capacity to motivate projects to completion, even when others are not aligned with his vision, and his ability to write about it so eloquently.

I recommend this book for its revelation of the leadership dilemma. i also recommend it for its strategies to overcome them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
Parts of this book are terrific, and parts are extremely boring. At least a third of this book should have been omitted or moved into an Appendix. If this had been done, it would have been a vastly improved book.

Because the good parts are so good, I still recommend reading it. But expect to skip several sections.

The best parts: the section on the Northern Ireland peace talks; his descriptions of how New Labour broke new ground; his descriptions of "lessons learned"; and his descriptions of the political struggles with Gordon Brown.

One thing that surprised me was just how smart Tony Blair is. When he was in public office, the media always depicted him as a airhead. When reading this book I realized the exact opposite is the case. He is a very smart, astute person.

The worst parts of this book: the constant mentioning of new names (Blair seems to feel the need to describe every person he ever worked with in his life); and the sections on Iraq. Blair has some important things to say about Iraq, but they could (and should) have been said in just a few pages. He would have been just as convincing. Instead Blair goes on and on and on defending his position. His writing here is very tedious. Most of the Iraq section should have been moved into an Appendix.

It is obvious Blair wrote this book himself. This is both an asset and disadvantage: an asset because his voice and personality come through very clearly. It's a disadvantage, because he got carried away, and obviously didn't have an editor strong enough to enforce some discipline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
Dear Reader

Despite its appearance this book is not boring; it's a long journey of a politician.

This book is a controversial autobiography, especially, during the chapters dedicated to the war in Iraq.

According to his pen the UK intervention was "baptised" by the fact that, Saddam Hussein detained the weapons of mass destruction.

It is also true that the motivations of the intervention were disavowed by the report compiled by David Kelly, a British scientist and expert on biological warfare.

In his defence he tell us that his decision was derived by the fact that the UK's intervention was reasonable and legal according to the reports on his hands.

I'd like to speculate on the fact that the hidden message of these chapters are those of a human being with his strenght and weakness, especially when he admit clearly his problems with the bottle, and when he admits that he is a political "manipulator" in my opinion this is a rare autobiography if we consider him as a politician.

Cheers

Italo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
This book was in great shape and came pretty quickly in the mail. I ordered this book for an AP Comparative Governement project and this book worked great! It is a pretty large book, it has over 700 pages in it and it's pretty heavy. But with that in mind, the book was a great price and was in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2012
For lovers of biographys you won't be disappointed, Tony Blair takes us through a period of Britsh and world history allowing us to see into events going on from his perspective. Tony is generous in his praise of key figures who helped change or make a difference along side him during his time in office but also honest and diplomatic about others.
There are areas such as the war in Iraq that will create a difference of opinion and I think the detail of events are seen from a very personal point of view and not totally factual. All round this is "Can't put it down" type of book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
Tony Blair's "A Journey: My Political Life" is a must read for all who wants to really understand what Tony Blair is made of. He weaves his story with great understanding of the issues he encounters on his political journey and he often does this with great wit. He realates to us the complex events that engulfs him, like the British/Ireland dispute which finally ends in peace, The death of Princess Ann and his role in advising the Queen to relate to the country's feelings on her sudden death. His backing of the U.S. during the Iraq War, just to name a few.World history buffs will like this informative book. A fair account froma fair minded author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2010
In this cuttingly candid tale of his political lifetime, former British premier Tony Blair devours and explains the events that have shaped contemporary Britain. Honest, frank, humourous and thoughful, this material is a must-have for strategic minds working in politics, business or public service. Covering his personal and political approach to everything from management challenges to ideological revolutions, Blair proves in his legacy tome why he has come to personify modern progressive politics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2010
I have always respected and admired Tony Blair and while he has written other things, THIS is the book I wanted to read. I was not disappointed. His amazing candor and belief in wordly friendships,is something to behold.

This book has only cemented my opinion of Tony Blair, the man. An awesome journey provided by a great man who let us accompany him by explaining what he did and why.

I wish him only continued success in his life - how could it be anything else?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
Yes and more. The book has given me a new insight into UK politics. Very positive 10 years from TB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse