Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$8.82
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 340 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 560 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 30, 2015
“A Night to Remember” is Walter Lord’s classic account of the sinking of the “RMS Titanic,” which, as is well known, happened on April 15, 1912, and is, to this day, the worst maritime disaster in history.

Published in 1955, “A Night to Remember” is, in every way, a masterful chronicle of the demise of the “Titanic.” In the space of only 208 pages, Lord documents nearly every aspect of the fateful maiden voyage of the “Titanic,” – the ship that was supposed to be unsinkable. Lord describes its departure from Southampton, England on April 10, 1912; the fateful moment five days later when it struck an iceberg and opened a 300 foot-long gash in its hull to the sea; the two-plus hour-long period when the ship rapidly filled with water and the crew and passengers desperately attempted to get as many of themselves as possible into lifeboats; the sinking of the “unsinkable” ship, and the rescue of the survivors on the morning after “Titanic” slipped beneath the surface of the north Atlantic Ocean.

Lord based his book primarily on interviews with 63 of the survivors (of the 2,208 persons on board when the “Titanic” left port, only 705 – passengers and crew members – survived), as well as the documented findings of both British and American government inquiries into the disaster. Lord clearly states that all the actions and conversations of the passengers and crew that he describes are from the recollections of the people he interviewed.

Lord touches on some of the controversies surrounding the “Titanic’s” sinking, such as: why were there only enough lifeboats for roughly half the number of people on board? Why did a higher percentage of first class passengers survive the wreck, and so comparatively few second class and steerage passengers survive? Why did the “SS Californian,” which was only 10 miles away from the accident site, fail to respond to the “Titanic’s” distress calls, while the “SS Carpathia,” which was 58 miles away, immediately respond, even though it was impossible for her to make it in time? Did any member of the crew actually shoot passengers or commit suicide?

Because of this, and because Lord’s prose is so rich in facts, “A Night to Remember” has a superb documentary feel to it. Lord’s prose is concise, and his narrative highly readable. I found myself totally engrossed in this book from the moment I first picked it up.]

I’ve read several books about the sinking of the “Titanic,” and all are very good. Walter Lord’s “A Night to Remember” is still the best of ‘em all, even though it’s sixty years old and much new information (such as the fact the “Titanic” broke in two when it sank) has become available over the years. This is the essential book to read for anyone interested in what happened to the “Titanic” on April 15, 1912. Most highly recommended.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
You know the famous names associated with her, you know or heard of the myths and legends about her and her passengers, you even know her fate, now hear the haunting voices from the Titanic with a true classic. Whether the reader has a causal interest sparked by silver screen dramatizations, a morbid curiosity of history or is a long time armchair enthusiast of the story, facts and myths all surrounding the Titanic- A Night to Remember is an unforgettable classic that appeals to every type of reader. A Night to Remember is told in a riveting fashion that first captures the atmosphere of that cold April night and continues to build a detailed account of the ship and her passenger's fates between April 10 to 19 1912. Written in 1955, Walter Lord has left a stunning piece of meticulous fiction that melds magnetic storytelling with harrowing accounts from the survivors of history's most famous and recognized maritime disaster. Well known and little known facts are abound in this work and the reader is sure to learn something new with each flip of the page. Beautifully executed with haunting accounts and thought-provoking this novel even ends with the final pages paying a somber tribute with the listed names of the survivors and those who perished. An appropriate ending to a story of the Titanic's final days and her ultimate voyage into history. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
Been looking for this edition which is illustrated for quite a while. Had a previous copy for years which eventually fell completely apart. This edition came from Awesome books, which is in the UK. It's a Penguin edition printed in 1977 or 8. The book is in excellent condition. The Illustrated edition contains the full text of the hardcover/paperback books but has pictures, in particular Sphere magazine illustrations from their edition of the tragedy printed in 1912. I have both a hardcover and paperback edition of Walter Lord's book, including the sequel "The Night Lives On" published after the Titanic was found by Dr Ballard. As the 100th anniversary approaches, expect to see much exploitation of this tragedy but only Walter Lord's book is the de facto historical issue of the event. That's because there were more surviors alive who could give a account of the tragedy from their various viewpoints, which gives the reader a well rounded idea of how it really was. Even Eva Hart could give only her aspect of the event, while Col Gracies book, which for years was the premier account also only can tell the event as seen through his eyes.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This review is of A NIGHT TO REMEMBER, Walter Lord's 1955 account of the sinking of the Titanic (also inspiration for the 1958 movie), and still the "go-to" gold standard of Titanic histories. The time span is chronological between the time the ship hit the iceberg at 11:40 p.m. Sunday evening, April 14, 1912, and the survivors' rescue by the Carpathia at dawn Monday morning, several frigid hours after the Titanic had sunk. For his research, Lord conducted extensive interviews among Titanic survivors, usually quoting them directly; the impact of this book is such that their reminiscences still form the backbone of even the most modern accounts. Although the term had not yet been coined, the prose style is essentially that of a "non-fiction novel," in which Lord's understated narrative lets the survivors speak for themselves, which is more than drama enough. Although some minor errors have been revealed with the passage of time, A NIGHT TO REMEMBER is still the place to start for those interested in the Titanic saga.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
I have always been fascinated by the Titanic tragedy. I think this is the ultimate Titanic book. Lord interviewed survivors to put together the events factually and chronologically. Of course, at the end, he gives some differences on accounts as people's memories (or just to make their part of the story better) may not agree. I just kept shaking my head as I was reading this book over everything that happened. Everything that could go wrong....went wrong. I read this on my Kindle app on my ipad which was good because there were so many people referenced, and I could go back to the X-ray feature to refresh my memory on who they were. I'm pretty sure I got this as a Kindle daily deal and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in a true account of what happened that awful night.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
This book was published over 60 years ago but remains as the best account of the sinking of the Titanic. The story begins on the night of the sinking which takes you as the reader directly into the meat of the story. The author is efficient and direct in his writing, which makes this book a quick read. A truly timeless book and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
This is a GREAT read and even after all these years is still considered the Titanic Bible! Walter Lord's writing draws you right into the Edwardian Era, and since he wrote much of this book in the 1950's, he was able to interview many Titanic survivors. Lord writes in such a way that he can tell many individual stories yet tie them all together as tragedy and the iceberg strike. Seriously, you won't want to put it down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
The sinking of the Titanic and subsequent rescue of survivors in semi-condensed version, as seen from the viewpoints of the survivors. Unlike similar "historical" accounts, not much in the way of conjecture is added. Discrepancies in some stories are acknowledged, making the overall description believable and factual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
I found this book by accident and it finally gave me a picture of what my grandmother would have endured if she had rushed and sailed on the Titanic. A very good recounting of that horrific event
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
What a great book. This isn't the first time I've read this book but I still love it. It's just a great telling of how the events of the sinking occurred.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse