Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Short Course in Digital Photography
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2010
I first came upon this book at my local library. Having perused the insides, I decided to get my own copy. Clear and concise, tons of visuals and clarification for some of us no-brainers who relate to graphics and diagrams over pages of mind-boggling dry text. This is basically a text book I guess, the reason for the high price. Anything to improve my art, hence, well worth the expense, and I do love my photography. I have a half dozen digital photography books on my shelf, but this will be my go-to book. Overall, an excellent first guide for digital photographers.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2009
Barbara London (et. al.) have produced an easy to digest book of 'how to's' for digital photography. The text is well-written. It's not too wordy and is laid out in bite size chunks that make scanning a breeze. Content covers everything from image capture, to digital workflow (editing), to printing and presenting your shots. The illustrations that accompany the text are relevant and useful. Some of the material obviously got carried over from her film-oriented books and could probably be jettisoned - but not much (her editor may have fallen asleep at the wheel a bit). I'd actually recommend any of the Barbara London and company books - they all use a similar style and - for the most part - cover different aspects of photography. This book was the most on target for digital exclusively - her other books touch on it. Pearson/Prentice Hall have a great catalog of photography books!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2009
I am a teacher of photography and have looked at a number of different photographic text books and this is one of the best I have seen for beginners. One of the strongest aspects of this book is its copious illustrations and photographic examples that reinforce the concepts it is putting forth. While no book is perfect, I challenge any of the critics of the book here to come up with a better text that is as easy to read and as clearly laid out as this book.

I would agree that this book does not have a lot of information about how to use a digital camera - most of the digital information is about editing and printing photographs. I can see that would be a problem for someone wanting to learn just from this book about how to use their specific digital camera, but to be fair digital cameras can be so different from one make or model to the next and with the rate of change of all things digital it is very challenging to set anything down in a published text that will really be true for every digital camera. I do have to supplement the information in this book with information about that, but this book does an excellent job of explaining all the basic technical information about how a camera works which is completely applicable to all cameras, digital or otherwise.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2010
The London-Stone book A Short Course in Digital Photography is an excellent example of a seriously refined book for the beginning photographer. In an age when so many photography books attempt to avoid obvious and critical links to analog photography precedents, the authors safely navigate the student from the crucial examples of the past into contemporary practice. The references to traditional photography, or whatever one may wish to call film, are valuable for students of any age and any background. Also, by introducing Lightroom and Aperture, but not trying the impossible task to cover them completely, the authors encourage further research into more advanced program guides. Indeed, this is an excellent all-around short course book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2010
This is a basic guide for anyone starting out. The camera manuals leave many people out in the dark about their camera and wishing to know more about photography. If you have questions why or what are all thoses dials and buttons for. Then this can be a great book for you. Even if you think you know the contents it never hurts to revisit the basics with new eyes. If you can understand these basic concepts you will find you are not having to delete images or miss shooting the images that will impress your friends and family. A very easy read compared to your camera manuals. Several colleges use this book to help students understand the camera basics and enjoy their cameras more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2009
This was the required book for a beginning photography class I'm taking at my local junior college. It's a good book for a beginning photographer and explains all of the basics of a camera and its parts, how to take photos and how to develop them. It has one chapter somewhat dedicated to digital photography so if you really want to learn more about the digital aspect you will need to check out some other titles. Ok, now students beware...if you were required to get this book for your class and will be taking the online quizzes you will need an Access Code. If you're lucky and your school is generous then they will provide one to you. If you're not so lucky, like me, then be prepared to pay an additional $33+ from Prentice Hall just to get the code so you can access the quizzes...complete ripoff in my opinion. I don't know, maybe I'm just old school, but didn't taking tests in school use to be FREE??? The "greedy" fee from the publisher for the access code is the only reason for the lower rating, besides that the book is good.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
This book covers all the basics of photography and manages to do it in such a way that it's logical and easy to comprehend. The illustrations are helpful and it's basically a must have for anyone wanting to further their knowledge and improve their techniques. It also covers various types of photographic equipment and the use of various lenses and filters as well as meters. It gives a brief overview of photo editing software and the different functions available. It will help you to understand common jargon such as depth of field, contrast, perspective, white balance, saturation and so many more things that will help to open the door to a better control of your photographic tools. You will be pleasantly surprised to find that you can seize just about any photographic opportunity and make your photos shine:-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
This book is o.k. I only bought it because our instructor recommended it for a class I was taking. If you really want to learn a lot about this subject I think you'd be better off watching youtube videos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2010
I used this book for my intro to Digital Photography class and love it. You learn basic techniques using a DSLR, the way that a camera works and finish the book knowing which settings to choose and WHY. The text also gives an mini-lesson on how to mat and frame.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2009
The book is very helpful for the novice photographer. It was an assigned book in a photography class I took for the summer. I thought it would be a ho-hum book but it was better than I thought. The book includes photo examples of exposures and setting which is very helpful. If you are just starting out this book should be just what you need. Even if you have been taking good pictures for sometime by pure luck you will be able to fine tune your skills with the help of this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse