Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$22.81


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on November 25, 2012
Doug Shafer writes an interesting story of he and his father and their wine business. I have been a fan of Shafer Wineries for years and my one visit to their place in Napa sticks in my mind as I read this book. Modest to a fault, both father and son have done an amazing job to create a world class wine business out of a father's dream. Read it and learn a great deal about the pain and the pleasure of this special business. It is a very readable story that should appeal to wine lovers and those aspiring to be.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Napa valley wine history written by one of the people who lived (and still lives) it. Easy read, great name dropping through out the book. Very entertaining read, not overly scientific.
Picking up a bottle of 1.5 for tonight. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
Great read about growing grapes and making wine. A fun gift to your friends who own wine. I paired it with a Shafer Merlot, one of their more affordable wines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
Good read about The Shafer Vineyard Family. I actually learned a tremendous amount about The Napa region, and the wine making business. I would highly recommend reading if you are planning a trip out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
I am a certified sommelier and have been selling Shafer wines for 20 years. Knowing stories and being able to tell stories is the best way to capture an audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2016
Great combination of a history of Napa built around the history of Shafer Vineyards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
Doug Shafer tells a wonderful tale of watching the growth of Napa Valley and the people who make it great. His orientation is the story of his family's vineyard and winery but it reflects the progress of the Valley and the industry. A truly enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
Great read, wonderful story, had to head up to Shafer and pick up some of that delicious 1.5 cabernet sauvignon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
If you love wine and want to learn more about Napa Valley, buy this book. It is also an incredible success story about what father, son an Elias did to build one of the greatest wineries in the world. When I finished the book, I went to my cellar and opened a bottle of the One Point Five Stags Leap District Cabernet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
this book is an incredible window into the world of a farming family that has superseded most other wineries in Napa Valley in so many ways. There couldn't be a better family to have written such a book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here