Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on September 3, 2015
Read it in 1969 and enjoyed it again in 2015, in planning for a 2016 visit to Easter Island.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2016
This book has much information for the avid Easter Island fan, including pictures! However, it is an older book, but still interesting!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Great story with history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Wow! What an insightful read. I grew up watching 'In Search Of', I should have been reading this! Glad I finally did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
Had read it before. Amazing account of a journey into one of the tunnels and the description of how statues were stood upright without toppling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
A wonderful research done by a great scholar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2016
Excellent story , book was in very good condition .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
Very nice, thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I found the Easter Island story to be very compelling and I couldn't stop reading the book. The book was easy to read and I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 25, 2009
I am fascinated with cultures and how they have changed over the years. This is a fascinating account of how "white people" were first exposed to the ancient rituals and culture of Easter Island. The methods used by the author to get information from the people and the amount of artifacts he removed is amazing...very different from methods used to study cultures today. But without them, much would have been lost. So who's to say Thor Heyerdal's methods were not good ones?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse